A point in the right direction?! - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 8 Old 18-04-11 Thread Starter
AO Member
County: Surrey

Member car:

Help A point in the right direction?!

Hi all,
Firstly im new to this forum and to the world of the Alfa, like most of you i am besotted by that unknown qunatity intalled into every Alfa, so we have somthing in common and should get along just fine!
iv been browsing around here for the last few days and decided that you all seem a friendly enough bunch, so im hoping that your kind words of wisdom might be sent my way.

Im in the process of trying to purchase my self a 159 2.4 jdtm. budget is about 10k so im hoping for a decent model. appart from the usual tyre kicking and trying to sound technical, is there anything i should be keeping an eye out for in particular. in general i know my way around cars ( hnd motorsport engineering ) but im sad to say i have no experience of alfas other than a few laps at goodwood in the the 3.2 jts where the love began.

thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
AO Member
County: Somerset

Member car:

Brera SV 2.4JTDM

I don't have a 159 but I do have the 2.4 5pot in a Brera and thoroughly enjoy it. Welcome to the Alfisti.
AO Silver Member
County: New South Wales
I have the 2.4 JTDm in the 159, never looked back Welcome to AO

Salute, Giordano.
AO Member
County: East Sussex

Member car:

Alfa 159 3.2 Q4

Hi Chris

I recently bought my 159 and these are the things I'd advise you look out for on a test drive:

Check the power steering. Turn the wheel to full lock and listen for loud groans and creaks as you turn (some noise is normal on most cars at full lock). Power steering and the steering rack are weak points on the 159.

When at full lock drive backward and forward at slow speed and listen for ticking or twanging noises from the wheels. Cv joints/bushes/springs/gators may need replacing.