What does fly by wire mean? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 20 Old 24-03-11 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 129
What does fly by wire mean?

Hi,

As above.

Cheers.
benskia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
Club Member
 
159_kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,802

Member car:

159 SW Ti

signals are sent using electrical signals as opposed to good old mechanical connections. i think the throttle pedal is fly by wire as opposed to having a cable connected to the accelerator with the other end connected to the engine....

Can you tell my mechanical skills are ZERO
159_kid is offline  
rhett71
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
not sure if you are extracting the michael but...
It basically means replacing mechanical cables and links with electrical devices. The most common thing on a car would be replacing the throttle cable to a carburetter or injection pump from the pedal with a potentiometer that sends electrical data to the injection device. It comes from the aerospace industry and was a term first used to describe aircraft like the F16. This has simplified many things as it means you just need wires between things instead of having cables or hydraulics running the length of the machine, beit a car or a plane!
 
munky
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
pretty much sums it up.

fly by wire means the pedal is controlled by electronics instead of cables/fluids.
 
2spark
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
 
Nev
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
....apart from there's no flying involved as that's only in planes.
(It's an aeronautical engineering phrase.)


Probably drive-by-wire would be more accurate.

 
munky
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2spark View Post
I had a control line plane as a kid... spent ages making it and crashed it on the first flight
 
Status: Wondering why people buy so many Audis
AO Silver Member
 
Quadrofoglio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,225
This is a good demonstration of fly by wire when it goes wrong


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-cv2ud1339E
Quadrofoglio is offline  
2spark
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by munky View Post
I had a control line plane as a kid... spent ages making it and crashed it on the first flight
No way! I only ever had these
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Polystyrene-Glider_1st.jpg (41.6 KB, 4 views)
 
Status: V8, baby. V8
AO Silver Member
 
Commanderfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW London
Posts: 5,559
Images: 84
Am I right in thinking that a potential issue with Fly by wire is that an electromagnet pulse (e.g. from a nuclear explosion) could knock out the electronics so we lose throttle control? ECU would go bonkers anyway so I guess it makes no difference.

Then again, pulling over and rebooting the car might fix it. Or perhaps the ECU map would be wiped and the car would be useless.
Commanderfish is offline  
2spark
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Commanderfish View Post
Am I right in thinking that a potential issue with Fly by wire is that an electromagnet pulse (e.g. from a nuclear explosion) could knock out the electronics so we lose throttle control? ECU would go bonkers anyway so I guess it makes no difference.

Then again, pulling over and rebooting the car might fix it. Or perhaps the ECU map would be wiped and the car would be useless.
Then again in the event of a nuclear explosion pretty much everything would be useless
 
Status: On Alfa number 15
AO Platinum Member
 
symon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 31,105
Images: 13
A fly by wire throttle has to be one of the worst inventions on a car IMO.

At least when a cable snaps you can usually fix things yourself.

A throttle potentiometer is often a right PITA to change, as well as being expensive.
symon is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
gammakeith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 785

Member car:

156 JTD 2.4 20V

Quote:
Originally Posted by symon View Post
A fly by wire throttle has to be one of the worst inventions on a car IMO.

At least when a cable snaps you can usually fix things yourself.

A throttle potentiometer is often a right PITA to change, as well as being expensive.
My last car (Rover diesel) had a cable that went to the throttle potentiometer that was located in the engine bay. Thus, two things to go wrong. Never did see the logic to that one.....

Keith
gammakeith is offline  
Status: Yabbadabbadoo!
Club Member
 
GhostyDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 25,182
Images: 6
Garage

Member car:

Jaguar XF 3.0 V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commanderfish View Post
Am I right in thinking that a potential issue with Fly by wire is that an electromagnet pulse (e.g. from a nuclear explosion) could knock out the electronics so we lose throttle control? ECU would go bonkers anyway so I guess it makes no difference.

Then again, pulling over and rebooting the car might fix it. Or perhaps the ECU map would be wiped and the car would be useless.
Make - EMP shield for car computer
GhostyDog is offline  
rhett71
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Commanderfish, you know something we don't? Anyone else on here worried about nuclear explosions???
 
munky
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
constantly. especially after a vindaloo.
 
Status: waiting to buy a weekend car
AO Silver Member
 
Seasider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 3,130
Images: 3

Member car:

Various VAG

Drive-by-Wire basically means your pedals aren't physically connected to the bits they control

Why do this ... well in a crash the bits that used to connect the pedals were quite big and solid and would give nasty 'stack-ups' with something called an engine

so the easy solution is to remove the 'stack-up'

the last 'problem' to remove is Steer-by-wire ... being worked on and will happen at some point ... but will mean cars will have to have multiple computers like an aircraft

I want to know where CF goes to be worried about EMP pulses !

as you yourself pointed out Nuclear Explosions are a good producer of them and I think the last thing you'd worry about is if you'd lost control of the throttle on your car or not ... your car would stop anyway as what would be running the engine in terms of fuel injection, ignition etc ?

XBox Gamertag : CSR Seasider
Seasider is offline  
rhett71
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Not being funny, just sounds like you might know why, but what difference would steering make? We have engine, body, brake, airbag computers/ecu's do you mean steering would be a lot more computers or just one more?

I think steer by wire would be a disaster, I can't drive a computer game car now, and yet I am a driving god!!
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 197
A couple of years Top Gear did a review of a GM Concept Car. Hydrogen Fuel Cell and Complete Drive by wire. Captain Slow did the drive and stated you need to get used to the steering but the Playstation Generation would get it immediately!

Also had the advantage of being able to be either Left Hand Drive or Right Hand Drive at the touch of a button. As no physical connections to the steering etc only wires only moved the steering Wheel over and the wires were built for this.

Freeky to watch but obviously usefull both for manufacturer (No different LHD RHD models) and bying public (Drive onto ferry in RHD and off the other Side in LHD)
Daniel350 is offline  
Status: V8, baby. V8
AO Silver Member
 
Commanderfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW London
Posts: 5,559
Images: 84
[QUOTE=Seasider;4053754]
I want to know where CF goes to be worried about EMP pulses !

QUOTE]


If I wanted to destabilise "the infidels", cripple or even invade a country by force without making it uninhabitable or triggering a nuclear war, One of the first things I would consider is disabling technology with an EMP.

Sure, tanks and fighter jets might be shielded, but telecommunications, stock exchanges, vehicle ECUs would all vanish instantly, leaving utter chaos. No food in the shops, no internet, probably no working radio or television?

Probably wouldn't have to do anything else, the whole country would revert to cannibalism within days (if this fuel panic is anything to go by).

On the other hand, I suspect that generating an EMP big enough to hit a whole city without actually nuking it could be rather tricky?

Ok let's go back to worrying about dirty bombs and nuclear war

Brat Pack no.8

Last edited by Commanderfish; 30-03-12 at 13:52.
Commanderfish is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 159, Brera & 946 Spider

Tags
fly , wire

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome