159 1.9jtdm low fuel economy - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 7 Old 25-02-11 Thread Starter
County: -
159 1.9jtdm low fuel economy

Dear Alfa owners,

I am new at these kind of things, and one of the main reasons I joined this community, to be honest, is to find out other peoples experience with Alfa Romeo 159 1.9jtdm.

Now, I just bought an Alfa 159 1.9jtdm. Got it second hand, but it is like new, 15.000 km (9.300mi), year 2008, mostly kept in the garage by the first owner... Anyway, there is one thing that is bothering me! I thought these engines are somewhat fuel economical, consuming around 7.5 - 8.0 litres per 100km (even 9 if driven hard)

Well, board computer in my Alfa 159 shows that it consumes 9.5 - 10 litres of diesel per 100km, and I'm driving it like a woman(no disrespect !
I must admit that it is winter here at the moment, snows a lot and the streets are covered in snow, and the temperature is around 0 to -4 Celsius.

I mean the car is quite heavy(1700 kg ), and has 150bhp, but still I think its a lot.

Can anybody here advise me on this issue? Any experience?
Maybe I'm driving it wrong. Maybe I should change gears between 2,000 and 3,000 rev's...

Maybe all the above just sounds stupid, but I thought I might get the advise from other Alfa Romeo owners.

And please excuse my English writing, its not my first language

Regards to all !
Sponsored Links
AO Silver Member
County: Somerset

Member car:

147 1.6 Lusso

If you reset the on-board computer you will find the mpg reflects how you drive and not the person before!
Just hold down the button facing you on the end of the stalk when in current consumption mode.
Having said that if you do a "search" at the top of this board, there is loads of debate about mpg. I average 40-45 mpg in mixed driving, more on Motorways.
AO Member
County: Dublin