Manual Gearbox shifting characteristics. - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 8 Old 08-09-10 Thread Starter
County: Zug
Manual Gearbox shifting characteristics.

Hello All,

I have recently purchased a 2008 159 Jtdm 2.4 Q4 diesel and as I have no previous experience driving an Alfa some particulars of the transmission and engine are giving me some concern. I would like your opinion if this sounds particularly within normal range, or if I should bring it into a garage.

When the car is stationary and turned off the transmission will shift very freely without any resistance to move through all 6 gears and R. When I then start the car and sit idle it also shifts very freely. Once I start to drive I start to feel some resistance entering all gears and also hear some mechanical linkage noises from the front of the car (shifting while stationary, but no noise while at speed) which are different and a bit louder than the normal shifting noises one would hear. When shifting while driving I cannot shift very fast as I have to wait until the gears let me shift and sometimes when downshifting there can be a lot of resistance. There is no grinding or a feeling of metal contact and coming out of a gear is not an issue, it is only getting into a gear. Also the clutch does not slip at all.

Also when driving and at a low idle (~1500rpm) when I lift off the gas pedal I can feel a very profound jerk as the engine speed seems to match the wheel speed. I also feel this jerk when I am shifting. Other than these issues the car drives very well and only has 33km on it.