Advice for a potential 159 buyer - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 8 Old 03-05-10 Thread Starter
County: Suffolk

Member car:

Mazda Mx5

Advice for a potential 159 buyer

I'm currently driving a Mazda Mx5 which is a massive amount of fun to drive. However its nearly eight years old, though running perfectly, and I'm now thirty six and have started to think its about time I had something with a little more gravitas...though also with the pleasure levels I get from driving my little '5.'

I've got my heart set on a 159 JTDM 2.4...preferably in black. However I could really do with finding out about all those niggles that affect various models, years and so on. Essentially some sound advice from those that truly know i.e. Alfa owners

I'd love to hear some advice, warnings, suggestions on other models...anything that may help me to get the right car for me.

I'm a freelance photographer and will regularly drive between 20-35k per year, I'm married but we've got no children so it'll only be my wife, my photo gear and clients that will get to be passengers so no real worries about space, besides I can squeeze everything into my mx5 at the moment

My mechanical knowledge is pretty shocking, hence going for the Maz previously, however the business is going pretty well so I can risk the odd visit to the garage if need be. Though obviously I'm hoping some sound advice at this stage may reduce those visits!

I live in Suffolk and am aware of dealerships in Bury St Edmunds and Chelmsford, so any experiences of those dealerships, their customer service, mechanical service etc would be greatly appreciated as well as any other similar advice.

I recognise that these kind of posts must come up fairly often so am happy to follow any links to previous posts that may have run over this ground.

Thanks to all in advance and I look forward to joining in future discussions

Sponsored Links
Graham P