Red-back Spider - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 3 Old 02-07-09 Thread Starter
AO Member
County: Warwickshire
Wave Red-back Spider

Just acquired a new red Spider 3.2 Q4 (first Alfa [about time too], so I'm a real newbie) from Motorpoint, ; upside = big discount, downside = not a lot of post-sales info (I was lucky to get a handbook ! ), so I'm making some assumptions (rather than pathetically contact the local dealer).

I'm guessing that I should keep it under about 3000 revs for the first 500 or so miles, & not try to do the things that make you grin form ear to ear; and I'm also assuming that the miserable fuel consumption will improve when it's loosened up a bit ( I'll put up with c 16mpg around town, but would expect better on mixed motoring, maybe around 24 mpg?).

Finally (and I suppose I'll have to get the dealer involved with this), the hood clips the plastic passenger roll-bar trim as it's closing - is this a common problem?

Sponsored Links
AO Member
County: Kent
Welcome to Alfa ownership. Can't help with your questions but you'll see lots of moans on here about fuel consumption (usually on the diesels) but I think we all agree that the ear to ear grin more than compensates!
AO Silver Member
County: Cheshire

Member car:

Various VAG

Welcome to AO Doctor ...

ok here goes ... Alfa engines are still worth running in ... I did about 1k of running on mine ... not too low revs or high revs to stress the engine. In a year my 2.2JTS I only put 1 litre of oil in as that was all it needed.

Fuel consumption and performance will improve around the 10k mark ... well it does on the 4 pots

as to the consumption ... it'll never be great as it's an Alfa ... I'm averaging 28-29mpg in my 2.2 petrol but that is with A-road/motorway commute ... but I can get it to read 15/16mpg if you boot it ... 24 sounds about right for the v6