Brera alarm beep - Page 3 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: a good shot of nitrous will sort that!
AO Silver Member
 
jbsmith1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astro View Post
I dont think the Fiat ECU Scan will adjust that though, I could be completely wrong here, but I would think that you need the more indepth software that Alfa use to get in deeper. JBSmith, whats your take on that?
sorry Astro I'm no expert on the diagnostics equipment.
jbsmith1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Astro
Status: - Update
Guest
 
JB - ABOVE...
Of course, but you are more in the know than most because you have the faculty of patience and the temperament to fiddle around with the car...this elevates you into the stratospheric realm of "Pro-DIYer". Don't be bashfull, take a bow...you've earnt it!
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _

True true...however -

...personally I would'nt care if it was an Alfa or a Porsche...I like to try to be more subtle.

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulmacs View Post
Flip what a bunch of moaners

I like the beeping and no one who lives in my area cares that my car beeps for one second when i open or close it.

Why does everyone only care now? Alfas have been doing this for years!

Last edited by Astro; 08-09-10 at 01:58.
 
Astro
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Wow...thats news to me. Thanks


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry 159 View Post
Its now possible to set the beep on and off with FiatEcuScan version 2.4
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Just done it - 2 mins with FiatECUScan 2.4. Had no luck with Belgium but changing code to Holland has removed the beeps - bliss!

It's about GBP 40 to register a copy of FiatECUScan but well worth it for diagnostics, service interval resets, oil sensor resets etc. Someone's obviously put a tonne of work into that product so think he deserves the registration fee!

p.s. My oil is 92% okay
guinness is offline  
Status: a good shot of nitrous will sort that!
AO Silver Member
 
jbsmith1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astro View Post
JB - ABOVE...
Of course, but you are more in the know than most because you have the faculty of patience and the temperament to fiddle around with the car...this elevates you into the stratospheric realm of "Pro-DIYer". Don't be bashfull, take a bow...you've earnt it!
Well thankyou

Quote:
Originally Posted by guinness View Post
Just done it - 2 mins with FiatECUScan 2.4. Had no luck with Belgium but changing code to Holland has removed the beeps - bliss!

It's about GBP 40 to register a copy of FiatECUScan but well worth it for diagnostics, service interval resets, oil sensor resets etc. Someone's obviously put a tonne of work into that product so think he deserves the registration fee!

p.s. My oil is 92% okay
Awesome! thanks for posting your findings.
jbsmith1 is offline  
Astro
Status: - Update
Guest
 
You should send a sample of your normal choice of oil to Blackstone Laboratories, previous to the new fill to see what your 'wear rates' are using the oil of your choice as well what would be the better oil interval changes using said oil...

Ive done this with most of my more H/End cars and well worth it, the test sample is relatively inexpensive although not redundantly cheap.
 
Status: Slightly rippled with a flat underside :-)
AO Silver Member
 
MikeyRules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Images: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbsmith1 View Post
MikeyRules on here had his Spider done, I watched it alarm/diss arm in silence, so it is definately possible with the right unique codes and know how.
Yes you are quite correct James

We did the Brera, Spider and now my 159ti as the beeps pee me off at 4am while trying to sneak off the drive for work... It was John that used to do it at Mangos, and it takes about 30 seconds! Matty will still do them if you ask nicely...

It's the Dutch setting via Examiner that does the trick, so not difficult at all

Obviously as well as the lights flashing you can hear the central locking throw as audible confirmation that it has locked...
MikeyRules is offline  
Status: Adrenalin Junkie
AO Member
 
Fierce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
My MG ZR used to make a grinding noise on locking / unlocking of the car... That was embarrassing. The Brera beep is a godsend compared to that!
Fierce is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Not sure if it's my imagination but having changed to the Dutch setting, I think my alarm is a little quieter than it was. Not a bad thing really - still more than loud enough but it was ear-piercing before.
guinness is offline  
Astro
Status: - Update
Guest
 
I only get that slight grinding [more electrical as well as the gears all cogging together] when the mirrors are folding...GGGRRRZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzZZZZZZ__D ONK!
 
cas
Status: A Vax and two 'Henry's
AO Silver Member
 
cas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canterbury
County: Kent
JB: Wanna go halves on an interface and a license to FiatECUScan?
cas is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Quote:
Originally Posted by guinness View Post
Not sure if it's my imagination but having changed to the Dutch setting, I think my alarm is a little quieter than it was. Not a bad thing really - still more than loud enough but it was ear-piercing before.
I went from Dutch to UK setting, and I have the impression that the siren is louder now. Hmm have to test to make sure
Jerry 159 is offline  
Status: Slightly rippled with a flat underside :-)
AO Silver Member
 
MikeyRules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Images: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry 159 View Post
I went from Dutch to UK setting, and I have the impression that the siren is louder now. Hmm have to test to make sure
Jerry on the Dutch setting it should be totally silent with just a flash of the lights and the thud of the central locking engaging!

If you still have beeps, your on the wrong country code.
MikeyRules is offline  
Status: a good shot of nitrous will sort that!
AO Silver Member
 
jbsmith1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Quote:
Originally Posted by cas View Post
JB: Wanna go halves on an interface and a license to FiatECUScan?
Ok deal
I've got an Elm327 cable and an AlfaDiag one if someone can confirm if either will worky or not?
jbsmith1 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Netherlands
County: Zuid Holland
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeyRules View Post
Jerry on the Dutch setting it should be totally silent with just a flash of the lights and the thud of the central locking engaging!

If you still have beeps, your on the wrong country code.
Yes I know but I meant not the arm/disarm beep but de siren when the alarm goes off
Jerry 159 is offline  
cas
Status: A Vax and two 'Henry's
AO Silver Member
 
cas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canterbury
County: Kent
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbsmith1 View Post
Ok deal
I've got an Elm327 cable and an AlfaDiag one if someone can confirm if either will worky or not?

What version Elm327?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FiatECUScan webpage
You need to have a k-line (VagCom), ELM 327 v1.3 (or later) or OBDKey v1.40 interface cable in order to use this program.
cas is offline  
Status: a good shot of nitrous will sort that!
AO Silver Member
 
jbsmith1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Quote:
Originally Posted by cas View Post

What version Elm327?
arh just checking, it says:-

Part number 9016
Controller ELM327
Firmware Revision 1.5a
Baud rate 38400
RoHs compliant

guess its ok then?
jbsmith1 is offline  
cas
Status: A Vax and two 'Henry's
AO Silver Member
 
cas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canterbury
County: Kent
I would assume so By the way, I don't have a Windows laptop
cas is offline  
Status: a good shot of nitrous will sort that!
AO Silver Member
 
jbsmith1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Quote:
Originally Posted by cas View Post
I would assume so By the way, I don't have a Windows laptop
ok no problem we can use mine, but I can't find my "code number card"...
jbsmith1 is offline  
AwB
Status: -
AO Member
 
AwB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Hi. A bit of thread-resurrecting here.

Those who have DIY changed the alarm country code in the UK (to disable beeps):

- Do you definitely need your alarm code?
- Where did you get your code card from - dealer or through ARUK?

Planning to do it myself using FES.

Thanks!
AwB is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Also found the beep too loud but fixed it!!

Hi all I also found the beep too loud!! I it can be disabled via the ECU. You need FiatECUScan - Fiat, Alfa, Lancia ECU Reader / Scanner software and a Diagnostics cable.
You also need to know cars security code that should be on a card in the manual. Once you are connected to the ECU you set the alarm to the Dutch setting. "no more beep
If any of you live near the Mid Bedford area can help out for a beer
paolorodia is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Staffordshire
Beep? what beep?
harry smith is offline  
Status: -
Club Member
 
159_kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
great post! i'll be disabling my microwave timer v.soon
159_kid is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
IPAddis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Are there any other strange effects from changing the body code to Dutch?
IPAddis is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
I have the FREE 3.2 version of the software. Can I use this to change the language, or does it have to be a licensed copy?
rabills is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 159, Brera & 946 Spider

Tags
alarm , beep , brera

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome