159 2.4JTDm SatNav upgrade - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 6Likes
  • 1 Post By alfahemi
  • 1 Post By winno
  • 1 Post By Inferno
  • 1 Post By wred_e
  • 1 Post By Inferno
  • 1 Post By giblets46
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 11 Old 11-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
156 Germany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
County: Rheinland-Pfalz
Posts: 22
Images: 6
159 2.4JTDm SatNav upgrade

Hi Guys,

I have a 2007, 159 2.4 JDTM with what I assume is the standard equipment, as in the pic below

Can this be changed for a more modern / later model with bluetooth?

Concerning the more modern systems, what's the situation regarding maps. On mine, one disc per country @ +/- 250 euro each which really isn't great given I live on a border and 30 mins from two others!

Thanks in advance for any advice
Neil
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 122000535284.jpg (220.7 KB, 14 views)
156 Germany is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: trying to get high on the # key
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
alfahemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 266

Member car:

brera 2.4 - NERO

Personally, I'd bin it and either use google maps or a tom tom. Get a nice head unit in there.
156 Germany likes this.
alfahemi is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
County: -
Posts: 12
Get a new head unit with Apple Carplay and Android auto so you can mirro the screen of your smart phone on the head unit's screen.
Then you can use the nav in your phone.

Lots of brands do them now.
I'm about to buy the Pioneer 8850 myself.
156 Germany likes this.
winno is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by 156 Germany View Post
Hi Guys,

I have a 2007, 159 2.4 JDTM with what I assume is the standard equipment, as in the pic below

Can this be changed for a more modern / later model with bluetooth?

Concerning the more modern systems, what's the situation regarding maps. On mine, one disc per country @ +/- 250 euro each which really isn't great given I live on a border and 30 mins from two others!

Thanks in advance for any advice
Neil
One more vote for an aftermarket unit. The installation is quite straightforward with the right Connects2 kit and the quality is better than the OEM head unit.

I personally went with a Pioneer AVIC with built in navigation, but a unit that supports screen mirroring would be enough.

As far as navigation is concerned, for both aftermarket and OEM units maps can be found easily if you browse around a little.
156 Germany likes this.
Inferno is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 11 Old 15-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
156 Germany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
County: Rheinland-Pfalz
Posts: 22
Images: 6
Thanks for the replies guys.

A new head unit sounds like the way to go. However, using google maps from the phone is, in the most part ok, but I live near many country borders.

Whilst about 70-80% of the time, it'll all be fine, I don't want to get into massive data roaming charges on the phone as soon as I travel over a border. I only need to nip down the road to the shops and the phone will switch to the network of another country.

Without spending hours googling all this, which of course I could do, does nayone have experience of replacing the head unit with one that has satnav integrated in it? Bluetooth too, to access phone contacts and other things.

OR, perhaps a unit I can send a route to from my phone oe email and access directly on the head unit. Does this even exist?

Appreciate any advice.
Thanks
156 Germany is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
wred_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Finland
County: Ahvenanmaan Laani
Posts: 20
Or just use offline maps, for example Here maps (android, iOS & WP) has the ability to download maps for whole countries at a time and costs nothing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 156 Germany View Post
Thanks for the replies guys.

A new head unit sounds like the way to go. However, using google maps from the phone is, in the most part ok, but I live near many country borders.

Whilst about 70-80% of the time, it'll all be fine, I don't want to get into massive data roaming charges on the phone as soon as I travel over a border. I only need to nip down the road to the shops and the phone will switch to the network of another country.

Without spending hours googling all this, which of course I could do, does nayone have experience of replacing the head unit with one that has satnav integrated in it? Bluetooth too, to access phone contacts and other things.

OR, perhaps a unit I can send a route to from my phone oe email and access directly on the head unit. Does this even exist?

Appreciate any advice.
Thanks
156 Germany likes this.
wred_e is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 11 Old 15-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
156 Germany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
County: Rheinland-Pfalz
Posts: 22
Images: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by wred_e View Post
Or just use offline maps, for example Here maps (android, iOS & WP) has the ability to download maps for whole countries at a time and costs nothing.
Thanks a lot!
156 Germany is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by 156 Germany View Post
Thanks for the replies guys.

A new head unit sounds like the way to go. However, using google maps from the phone is, in the most part ok, but I live near many country borders.

Whilst about 70-80% of the time, it'll all be fine, I don't want to get into massive data roaming charges on the phone as soon as I travel over a border. I only need to nip down the road to the shops and the phone will switch to the network of another country.

Without spending hours googling all this, which of course I could do, does nayone have experience of replacing the head unit with one that has satnav integrated in it? Bluetooth too, to access phone contacts and other things.

OR, perhaps a unit I can send a route to from my phone oe email and access directly on the head unit. Does this even exist?

Appreciate any advice.
Thanks
Any good aftermarket unit with satnav will usually have Bluetooth as well. The only downside is that units like these are pretty expensive, and may not be worth it, depending on how much you use satnav. If you use it rarely, a better way to go would be with a normal unit that can mirror your phone on which you install a navigation app. On my phone I use Sygic and Here maps, both are good, Here is free.

The installation is pretty straightforward, you need to get the Connects2 conversion kit which comes with a 2din cage and adapter for the steering controls.
156 Germany likes this.
Inferno is offline  
Status: 159 Cruiser and Guilietta pocket rocket
AO Silver Member
 
giblets46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Warwickshire
Posts: 4,237
Garage
Try this guide, personally I have a pioneer f30bt, which works great, if you are happy with a used unit they ( say Nav units in generally ) are good value. Pioneer units are either f30/49/50 for full screen, or f930/940 etc with smaller screen and dial, higher number is newer. But you can get an update easy enough (pm me for info)

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/ice-a...6084?_k=onl0se
156 Germany likes this.
giblets46 is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 11 Old 17-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
156 Germany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
County: Rheinland-Pfalz
Posts: 22
Images: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inferno View Post
Any good aftermarket unit with satnav will usually have Bluetooth as well. The only downside is that units like these are pretty expensive, and may not be worth it, depending on how much you use satnav. If you use it rarely, a better way to go would be with a normal unit that can mirror your phone on which you install a navigation app. On my phone I use Sygic and Here maps, both are good, Here is free.

The installation is pretty straightforward, you need to get the Connects2 conversion kit which comes with a 2din cage and adapter for the steering controls.
Thaks a lot. Will look into it
156 Germany is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 11 Old 17-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
156 Germany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
County: Rheinland-Pfalz
Posts: 22
Images: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by giblets46 View Post
Try this guide, personally I have a pioneer f30bt, which works great, if you are happy with a used unit they ( say Nav units in generally ) are good value. Pioneer units are either f30/49/50 for full screen, or f930/940 etc with smaller screen and dial, higher number is newer. But you can get an update easy enough (pm me for info)

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/ice-a...6084?_k=onl0se
Thanks a lot. I'll check it out.
156 Germany is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 159, Brera & 946 Spider

Tags
159 , 24jtdm , satnav , upgrade

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome