Brera 3.2 prodrive timing chain help! - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By nogrip
  • 1 Post By bricol

(Post Link) post #1 of 16 Old 11-10-16 Thread Starter

County: Hampshire
Brera 3.2 prodrive timing chain help!

Hi all I have a 60000miler 3.2 prodrive unfortunately I have developed the dreaded PO16 fault code ! Timing chain stretched issue. My question to you all is which parts do I need item by item and where's the best/ cheapest place to purchase ? I will undertake the work myself as I am an engineer so that's not an issue ? I have read that on here that you can buy the parts cheaper from GM?
Looking forward to hearing from you all regards Andy
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

AO Member

County: -
Don't worry too much - engine out is pretty strightforward - parts are 500 if you add clutch and all fluids etc but 250 without good to do jobs. I've got plenty of photos of the job if needed
(Post Link) post #3 of 16 Old 11-10-16 Thread Starter

Hi No grip that's reassuring I need your help can you help me order parts and info on the job in hand please Thanks Andy
AO Member

These are most of the parts you'll need:

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...it-wanted.html (chain kit wanted!)

I did mine by taking the engine/gearbox out of the front of the car with an engine hoist. I've heard it's possible to drop the engine and subframe down to remove but that looked more difficult. No special tools are needed and air con can stay gassed. Hardest part was getting crank pulley off but a big 3 legged puller and plenty of patience got me there in the end.
(Post Link) post #5 of 16 Old 12-10-16 Thread Starter

Which car do I look up on GM website ?
AO Member

Quote:
Which car do I look up on GM website ?
Probably more reliable using the part number
Fanalonehf 4 likes this.
(Post Link) post #7 of 16 Old 12-10-16 Thread Starter

What put you off doing them insitu ?
AO Silver Member

County: Gauteng