Another electrical blip....maybe - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 11 Old 10-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: Driving in an Alfa wonderland
AO Member
 
SpiderSaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: South proper Southampton
County: Hampshire
Posts: 769
Garage
Another electrical blip....maybe

The Spider has developed another little fault, three times now Ive had it but it resets.

First two, for no apparent reason its gone into limp mode with he usual warnings of VDC, ASR and Hill holder not available and 'get engine checked'
The first time was a day before its service two months ago, Laurence at Autolusso deleted the warnings and its was fine but a week ago it happened again, I tried the usual battery reboot several times but no good so I phoned Autolusso, Laurence said to try an overnight battery disconnect but instead I plugged in a MaxiScan OBD 2 reader, it came up with Throttle/pedal position sensor switch B circuit.
I reset the fault codes and it was back to normal, no apparent problem until yesterday when I hit a big pot hole quite hard and it knocked everything out again, same as above, limp mode, ASR,VDC etc
I plugged the reader I and cleared the warnings and everything is fine again.

Anyone have any ideas, could be that somethings loose, could be an actual problem with the sensor but it seems strange that it clears the problem simply by clearing the warning.

Driving in an Alfa wonderland
SpiderSaint is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: turning heads everywhere
AO Silver Member
 
lussoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Preston
County: Lancashire
Posts: 4,036
What are the actual fault code(s) you're getting Adrian?
Limp mode is very unusual, never had that.
lussoman is offline  
Status: 16Italiancylinders(V 6,N4,L2,V2,V2)+1Span ish
AO Silver Member
 
swq4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Riding of Yorkshire
Posts: 1,525
Images: 28
Garage
I think the clue is "when I hit a big pot hole quite hard".
Sounds like poor connections and/or chafed wiring.
My rear lambda sensors used to do that when I first got the car
- turned out the connectors were not fully home with the clip engaged and connector tight in its mount.
swq4 is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 11 Old 11-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: Driving in an Alfa wonderland
AO Member
 
SpiderSaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: South proper Southampton
County: Hampshire
Posts: 769
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by lussoman View Post
What are the actual fault code(s) you're getting Adrian?
Limp mode is very unusual, never had that.
Limp mode might not be the correct term but its the one I use, each time I get an electrical fault (and Ive had many) I get the usual warnings plus the car goes into a safe mode, reduced power basically, I suppose to reduce the risk of causing more damage.
I dont have code numbers but the code coming up is

Throttle/pedal position sensor switch B circuit.

I have just had it happen again on way to work so lunch time Ill plug the reader in again and see if it comes up with numbers, I think its only a cheap reader that was given to me.
SpiderSaint is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 11 Old 11-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: Driving in an Alfa wonderland
AO Member
 
SpiderSaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: South proper Southampton
County: Hampshire
Posts: 769
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by swq4 View Post
I think the clue is "when I hit a big pot hole quite hard".
Sounds like poor connections and/or chafed wiring.
My rear lambda sensors used to do that when I first got the car
- turned out the connectors were not fully home with the clip engaged and connector tight in its mount.
Yes but thats the first time I thought it could be a poor connection, I think first time was from start up and another when driving along quite normally.

Ill have to look on the internet and try to find what it is Im looking for.
SpiderSaint is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 11 Old 11-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: Driving in an Alfa wonderland
AO Member
 
SpiderSaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: South proper Southampton
County: Hampshire
Posts: 769
Garage
The fault code is P0220, just need to look that up to see if theres anything extra to add
SpiderSaint is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
epsonix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Poland
County: Bielsko-Biala
Posts: 188
Images: 10
Garage
maybe first try to move/shake a bit loom of pedal potentiometer and log pedal position with your obd cable/software. if that is stable, try connectors on both sides (elearn will be helpful, download one even for 159 if you wont find spider) . if not that, maybe as error suggests there is problem with potentiometer - check in eper if it is the same part numer as for 159 (and if any other fiat cars use it, so you wont narrow yourself) and probably for 10 quid you can find used one on scrapyard
epsonix is online now  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
County: -
Posts: 171
It's probably your rotational speed sensor
Clay19 is offline  
Status: 16Italiancylinders(V 6,N4,L2,V2,V2)+1Span ish
AO Silver Member
 
swq4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Riding of Yorkshire
Posts: 1,525
Images: 28
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpiderSaint View Post
The fault code is P0220, just need to look that up to see if theres anything extra to add
Going via the results for a google search on "Alfa Error P0220", it seems it appears on lot of Alfa/Fiat fly by wire pedals - usually a poor connection in the sub-loom
swq4 is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 11 Old 12-10-16 Thread Starter
Status: Driving in an Alfa wonderland
AO Member
 
SpiderSaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: South proper Southampton
County: Hampshire
Posts: 769
Garage
thanks chaps, one other code I was missing is P1221 manufacturer
SpiderSaint is offline  
Status: 16Italiancylinders(V 6,N4,L2,V2,V2)+1Span ish
AO Silver Member
 
swq4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Riding of Yorkshire
Posts: 1,525
Images: 28
Garage
I think P1221 is Air Flow Meter Or Circuit
swq4 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 159, Brera & 946 Spider

Tags
blipmaybe , electrical

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome