DPF, EGR & Swirl valves - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 6Likes
  • 1 Post By Verbout
  • 2 Post By Cream
  • 1 Post By Wezley
  • 1 Post By Philjay50
  • 1 Post By kernowkarmann

(Post Link) post #1 of 14 Old 21-09-16 Thread Starter
AO Member

County: Cornwall
DPF, EGR & Swirl valves

I am new to diesels, got a 1.9 2008 159. Lovely car but blimey the engine is nothing on a 1.8TS!!

Anyway, grumble about diesels aside....

I keep reading about DPF, EGR and swirl valves and the importance of cleaning/removing/blanking etc them.

My questions as a newbie are: What are they? Surely they are meant to be there for a reason? How do I know if I have had mine changed?

Thanks!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

AO Gold Member

County: West Yorkshire
Garage
I could be flippant and say, did you ask the seller if they were done? failing that, is there some invoices with the car showing any work that has been done?

If you need to know about these issues look at the sticky in the 159 lounge
(Post Link) post #3 of 14 Old 21-09-16 Thread Starter
AO Member

Flippancy is fine ?,

I didn't ask the dealer, to be honest I didn't know about it until I bought it and started reading through here.

The thing that surprises me is that some people seem to be saying that if you don't alter them then the world will end and the car fall apart, yet no one I know with a diesel car has ever mentioned there things to me. It's not like the 1.9 is a particularly big, sporty engine surely, just a good solid fiat worker?

As I said, I don't know about it so will definitely look in the stickies. Just wondering if it's like a lot of issues where the opinion seems to be divided as to whether necessary?
AO Member

County: Cheshire