Brera 2din multimedia adapter - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By samisnake2
  • 1 Post By kandlbarrett
 
Thread Tools
jey.d.
Status: - Update
Guest
 
County: -
Posts: n/a
Brera 2din multimedia adapter

Hi guys, recently i bought a "noname" 2 din multimedia player to replace the original nav system on my 2.4 brera. However, as you can see from the photos attached there is a compatibility issue. I would highly appreciate if you recommend me an adapter that i could buy so i can finally connect it. Links would help greatly. Thank you in advance. http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/2016...790d7343bd.jpghttp://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/2016...872f8366d9.jpg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
County: -
Posts: 16

Member car:

Brera 2.2 Misano

Quote:
Originally Posted by jey.d. View Post
Hi guys, recently i bought a "noname" 2 din multimedia player to replace the original nav system on my 2.4 brera. However, as you can see from the photos attached there is a compatibility issue. I would highly appreciate if you recommend me an adapter that i could buy so i can finally connect it. Links would help greatly. Thank you in advance. http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/2016...790d7343bd.jpghttp://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/2016...872f8366d9.jpg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/UNIVERSAL-...4AAOxydlFTAg8E

then buy the connects2 fitting kit for the 159/brera
jey.d. likes this.
samisnake2 is offline  
Status: 159 2.4 20007 plate 19,500 DPF/EGR by Adie (AHM)
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 2,282
Images: 16
Very unusual for the unit to be supplied without the multi power in/out and speaker adaptor. You will still need the adaptor to make that compatible with Alfas non standard pin configuration. If your unit is new check whether the avert said that the din lead was included.
kandlbarrett is offline  
 
Status: 159 2.4 20007 plate 19,500 DPF/EGR by Adie (AHM)
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 2,282
Images: 16
You may also find that the head unit is none standard size and you will have to modify the standard adaptor surround that most suppliers sell. You will probably need this kit and to modify the surround:-

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Connects2-C.../dp/B00GY4CR3E

Or this that includes the adaptor lead that should ensure the steering wheel controls will still work.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Alfa-Romeo...-/350559358638

You will also need one of these. The radio reception will work without it but it will be much better with it fitted:-

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/12v-Amplif...339&rmvSB=true

If you have not fitted an after market head unit to an Alfa before you are on a fairly steep learning curve.

Read this as a starting point and do a search on the forum for some of the other guides and photos.

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...tructions.html (Head Unit / stereo Upgrade Instructions)
kandlbarrett is offline  
jey.d.
Status: - Update
Guest
 
County: -
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by kandlbarrett View Post
You may also find that the head unit is none standard size and you will have to modify the standard adaptor surround that most suppliers sell. You will probably need this kit and to modify the surround:-

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Connects2-C.../dp/B00GY4CR3E

Or this that includes the adaptor lead that should ensure the steering wheel controls will still work.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Alfa-Romeo...-/350559358638

You will also need one of these. The radio reception will work without it but it will be much better with it fitted:-

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/12v-Amplif...339&rmvSB=true

If you have not fitted an after market head unit to an Alfa before you are on a fairly steep learning curve.

Read this as a starting point and do a search on the forum for some of the other guides and photos.

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...tructions.html (Head Unit / stereo Upgrade Instructions)


First of all ,thank you for taking the time to answer so thoroughly. I just have one question, since this unit came only with a naked cable, can't i create myself the female ending or whatever it is called and then connect it to the quadlock cable of the car?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Status: 159 2.4 20007 plate 19,500 DPF/EGR by Adie (AHM)
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 2,282
Images: 16
Yes, but it probably won't work as well as you would like and you will still probably end up needing the adaptor.

The way the switch live works is a bit weird and relies on canbus input to trigger it. You can adapt the wiring to give the unit permanent live but I found that flattened the battery on my wife's 159 and that is the same as the Brera.

You will definitely (100%) need the adaptor if you want steering controls as these are canbus not just giving a voltage trigger as earlier cars like the 156 etc. does.
kandlbarrett is offline  
jey.d.
Status: - Update
Guest
 
County: -
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by kandlbarrett View Post
Yes, but it probably won't work as well as you would like and you will still probably end up needing the adaptor.



The way the switch live works is a bit weird and relies on canbus input to trigger it. You can adapt the wiring to give the unit permanent live but I found that flattened the battery on my wife's 159 and that is the same as the Brera.



You will definitely (100%) need the adaptor if you want steering controls as these are canbus not just giving a voltage trigger as earlier cars like the 156 etc. does.


I see, then i will defenitely buy it. Thanks a lot for your input.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Status: 159 2.4 20007 plate 19,500 DPF/EGR by Adie (AHM)
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 2,282
Images: 16
Also good luck squeezing all the wiring and adaptors behind the unit. They will fit but it isn't easy. I found that there is a small pocket of space down the LH side right at the back and most of the cables will just squeeze down there. It really isn't easy but can be done.
jey.d. likes this.
kandlbarrett is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 159, Brera & 946 Spider

Tags
2din , adapter , brera , multimedia

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome