159 sucking air inlet noise? photo! - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Eamonn159
  • 1 Post By Eamonn159

(Post Link) post #1 of 11 Old 24-07-16 Thread Starter
AO Member

County: Ireland
159 sucking air inlet noise? photo!

Hi, i have a 2007 159 1.9jts. My first question here and i'm no engineer, so sorry if it's a dumb one...

So, i have a loud, constant sucking air noise when i pop the bonnet. Took me a while to find the source. I found out where to stick my finger to stop it (see photo). Blocking it changes the idle but not by much.

Looking at it, i'm starting to think this is a normal inlet, but i'm surprised it's that loud.

Is this normal?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20160724_152159_HDR.jpg (112.8 KB, 46 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

(Post Link) post #2 of 11 Old 29-07-16 Thread Starter
AO Member

Bump! Anyone know anything about this noise? I showed it to my usual guy, but he had no idea. He's a skania mechanic really, so not the best guy for small petrol engines!
AO Silver Member

County: Norfolk
If you take the cap that your finger is touching off I expect that you will find that the diaphragm underneath is split. You can replace it.
(Post Link) post #4 of 11 Old 31-07-16 Thread Starter
AO Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rewe View Post
If you take the cap that your finger is touching off I expect that you will find that the diaphragm underneath is split. You can replace it.
Thanks Rewe, i'll see if i can get that off when it stops raining. Looks like a bit of jimmying with a flathead will do it.
(Post Link) post #5 of 11 Old 03-08-16 Thread Starter
AO Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rewe View Post
Damn that's on tight. Doesn't look like a screwdriver's going to help me here. A split diaphragm would mean more air coming in i guess? Is that much of a problem?
(Post Link) post #6 of 11 Old 11-08-16 Thread Starter
AO Member