What does fly by wire mean? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
  Home Forums AO Club Member Gallery Classifieds Trade Directory  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 159, Brera & 946 Spider

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (Post Link)  
Old 24-03-11
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 129

Member car:

Alfa 159 2.4 jtdm

What does fly by wire mean?

Hi,

As above.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (Post Link)  
Old 24-03-11
159_kid's Avatar
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Club Member Number: 1398
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 1,561

Member car:

159 SW

signals are sent using electrical signals as opposed to good old mechanical connections. i think the throttle pedal is fly by wire as opposed to having a cable connected to the accelerator with the other end connected to the engine....

Can you tell my mechanical skills are ZERO
Reply With Quote
  #3 (Post Link)  
Old 24-03-11
Status: Necker Island is rubbish
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sleaford Lincolnshire
Posts: 2,002

Member car:

Guilietta 170bhp diesel

not sure if you are extracting the michael but...
It basically means replacing mechanical cables and links with electrical devices. The most common thing on a car would be replacing the throttle cable to a carburetter or injection pump from the pedal with a potentiometer that sends electrical data to the injection device. It comes from the aerospace industry and was a term first used to describe aircraft like the F16. This has simplified many things as it means you just need wires between things instead of having cables or hydraulics running the length of the machine, beit a car or a plane!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (Post Link)  
Old 24-03-11
munky
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
pretty much sums it up.

fly by wire means the pedal is controlled by electronics instead of cables/fluids.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (Post Link)  
Old 24-03-11
2spark
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
This

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DfF-CHzT408
Reply With Quote
  #6 (Post Link)  
Old 24-03-11
Nev
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
....apart from there's no flying involved as that's only in planes.
(It's an aeronautical engineering phrase.)


Probably drive-by-wire would be more accurate.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (Post Link)  
Old 24-03-11
munky
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by 2spark View Post
I had a control line plane as a kid... spent ages making it and crashed it on the first flight
Reply With Quote
  #8 (Post Link)  
Old 24-03-11
Quadrofoglio's Avatar
Status: Wondering why people buy so many Audis
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 1,222

Member car:

159 2.0JTDmLusso,FocusST

This is a good demonstration of fly by wire when it goes wrong


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-cv2ud1339E
Reply With Quote
  #9 (Post Link)  
Old 24-03-11
2spark
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by munky View Post
I had a control line plane as a kid... spent ages making it and crashed it on the first flight
No way! I only ever had these
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Polystyrene-Glider_1st.jpg (41.6 KB, 4 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (Post Link)  
Old 25-03-11
Commanderfish's Avatar
Status: V8, baby. V8
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW London
Posts: 5,559
Images: 84

Member car:

159SWTI, V8M3, Daytona675

Am I right in thinking that a potential issue with Fly by wire is that an electromagnet pulse (e.g. from a nuclear explosion) could knock out the electronics so we lose throttle control? ECU would go bonkers anyway so I guess it makes no difference.

Then again, pulling over and rebooting the car might fix it. Or perhaps the ECU map would be wiped and the car would be useless.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (Post Link)  
Old 25-03-11
2spark
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by Commanderfish View Post
Am I right in thinking that a potential issue with Fly by wire is that an electromagnet pulse (e.g. from a nuclear explosion) could knock out the electronics so we lose throttle control? ECU would go bonkers anyway so I guess it makes no difference.

Then again, pulling over and rebooting the car might fix it. Or perhaps the ECU map would be wiped and the car would be useless.
Then again in the event of a nuclear explosion pretty much everything would be useless
Reply With Quote
  #12 (Post Link)  
Old 25-03-11
symon's Avatar
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Oxfordshire
Posts: 29,678
Images: 13

Member car:

Golf 2.3 V5

A fly by wire throttle has to be one of the worst inventions on a car IMO.

At least when a cable snaps you can usually fix things yourself.

A throttle potentiometer is often a right PITA to change, as well as being expensive.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (Post Link)  
Old 25-03-11
gammakeith's Avatar
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 680

Member car:

156 JTD 2.4 20V

Originally Posted by symon View Post
A fly by wire throttle has to be one of the worst inventions on a car IMO.

At least when a cable snaps you can usually fix things yourself.

A throttle potentiometer is often a right PITA to change, as well as being expensive.
My last car (Rover diesel) had a cable that went to the throttle potentiometer that was located in the engine bay. Thus, two things to go wrong. Never did see the logic to that one.....

Keith
Reply With Quote
  #14 (Post Link)  
Old 25-03-11
GhostyDog's Avatar
Status: Split Personality
Regional Representative
For Yorkshire - AOY
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 24,113
Images: 6

Member car:

Jaguar XF 3.0 V6

Originally Posted by Commanderfish View Post
Am I right in thinking that a potential issue with Fly by wire is that an electromagnet pulse (e.g. from a nuclear explosion) could knock out the electronics so we lose throttle control? ECU would go bonkers anyway so I guess it makes no difference.

Then again, pulling over and rebooting the car might fix it. Or perhaps the ECU map would be wiped and the car would be useless.
Make - EMP shield for car computer
Reply With Quote
  #15 (Post Link)  
Old 25-03-11
Status: Necker Island is rubbish
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sleaford Lincolnshire
Posts: 2,002

Member car:

Guilietta 170bhp diesel

Commanderfish, you know something we don't? Anyone else on here worried about nuclear explosions???
Reply With Quote
  #16 (Post Link)  
Old 25-03-11
munky
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
constantly. especially after a vindaloo.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (Post Link)  
Old 31-03-11
Seasider's Avatar
Status: waiting to buy a weekend car
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 3,130
Images: 3

Member car:

Various VAG

Drive-by-Wire basically means your pedals aren't physically connected to the bits they control

Why do this ... well in a crash the bits that used to connect the pedals were quite big and solid and would give nasty 'stack-ups' with something called an engine

so the easy solution is to remove the 'stack-up'

the last 'problem' to remove is Steer-by-wire ... being worked on and will happen at some point ... but will mean cars will have to have multiple computers like an aircraft

I want to know where CF goes to be worried about EMP pulses !

as you yourself pointed out Nuclear Explosions are a good producer of them and I think the last thing you'd worry about is if you'd lost control of the throttle on your car or not ... your car would stop anyway as what would be running the engine in terms of fuel injection, ignition etc ?


XBox Gamertag : CSR Seasider
Reply With Quote
  #18 (Post Link)  
Old 01-04-11
Status: Necker Island is rubbish
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sleaford Lincolnshire
Posts: 2,002

Member car:

Guilietta 170bhp diesel

Not being funny, just sounds like you might know why, but what difference would steering make? We have engine, body, brake, airbag computers/ecu's do you mean steering would be a lot more computers or just one more?

I think steer by wire would be a disaster, I can't drive a computer game car now, and yet I am a driving god!!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (Post Link)  
Old 30-03-12
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 197

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 159 JTMm Lusso

A couple of years Top Gear did a review of a GM Concept Car. Hydrogen Fuel Cell and Complete Drive by wire. Captain Slow did the drive and stated you need to get used to the steering but the Playstation Generation would get it immediately!

Also had the advantage of being able to be either Left Hand Drive or Right Hand Drive at the touch of a button. As no physical connections to the steering etc only wires only moved the steering Wheel over and the wires were built for this.

Freeky to watch but obviously usefull both for manufacturer (No different LHD RHD models) and bying public (Drive onto ferry in RHD and off the other Side in LHD)
Reply With Quote
  #20 (Post Link)  
Old 30-03-12
Commanderfish's Avatar
Status: V8, baby. V8
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SW London
Posts: 5,559
Images: 84

Member car:

159SWTI, V8M3, Daytona675

[QUOTE=Seasider;4053754]
I want to know where CF goes to be worried about EMP pulses !

QUOTE]


If I wanted to destabilise "the infidels", cripple or even invade a country by force without making it uninhabitable or triggering a nuclear war, One of the first things I would consider is disabling technology with an EMP.

Sure, tanks and fighter jets might be shielded, but telecommunications, stock exchanges, vehicle ECUs would all vanish instantly, leaving utter chaos. No food in the shops, no internet, probably no working radio or television?

Probably wouldn't have to do anything else, the whole country would revert to cannibalism within days (if this fuel panic is anything to go by).

On the other hand, I suspect that generating an EMP big enough to hit a whole city without actually nuking it could be rather tricky?

Ok let's go back to worrying about dirty bombs and nuclear war


Brat Pack no.8

Last edited by Commanderfish; 30-03-12 at 13:52.
Reply With Quote
Recently 'Read'
No History to show

Useful Links
Lost Password?
AO Merchandise
FAQs
Register

External Links
Alfa Romeo 147 1.6L...
Alfa Romeo Spider...
alfa romeo gtv...
Alfa Romeo 147, 5...
2013 Alfa Romeo...

Alfa Romeo

Recent Image

Project Halo Uk -...

View JabawokJayUK's images

Search

Forums

Classifieds
   

Gallery

Social Groups
   

Members
   


Did you know..?
Did you know..?
Clicking the small triangle on the right hand side of every post will take you to the top of the page.
Very handy as you can instantly reach the site navigation bar!


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:12.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87