Changing lambda - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 4 Old 18-03-05 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
byronb's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tamworth
Posts: 89

Member car:

2005 156 JTD 16v

Hmmm Changing lambda

Just ordered a new lambda off the interweb, now the question is, how do I fit it?

Do i need to jack up the car? Had a quick look underneath and couldn't see the sensor.

Also what are the best jacking/axle stand points, I don't want to bend anything.
byronb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: I wanna go back to Milano!
AO Member
888dee's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North of Northern England
Posts: 835
Re: Changing lambda

Hi m8,

lambda ican be straight forward but also a pain....

in the engine bay, on the centre of the bulkhead there should be a black plastic cover about 100mm wide, under there you'll find a couple of connectors, one with 4 wires, this is the lambda, disconnect this...

working under the car, on the exhaust just before the cat you'll see the probe itself sticking out of the exhaust, if you pull the wire down to free it, it's a good idea to pull a bit of string down with it, it'll make getting the connector for the new probe up MUCH easier... anyway, best when the exhaust is cold, get some wd40 or similar in about and unscrew it.... could be tricky, depending on how helpful or not it is feeling...

as for jacking the car, I usually put the "cup" of my jack on the bolt head on the back bolt of the subframe, you can then use axle stands on the subframe the wishbones are attached....

but for this job could use drive on ramps or similar....

have fun!

888dee is offline  
Status: fabulous
AO Silver Member
Rosbird1's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 1,702
Re: Changing lambda

my boyf changed mine for me yesterday (friday) from underneath. took him about 10 minutes and he said to tell you '22mm spanner'
Rosbird1 is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 4 Old 21-03-05 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
byronb's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tamworth
Posts: 89

Member car:

2005 156 JTD 16v

Re: Changing lambda

Cheers guy's, got the job done over the weekend, used ramps in the end.
It was a fairly straightforward job and cured the common hesitation/injection light fault that a few people have suffered from on here.

And I think deserve another mention as I ordered mine at about 15:00 Friday afternoon and it was on my doormat the next morning.
byronb is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 155

changing , lambda

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome