V6 life expectancy - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 4 Old 17-04-03 Thread Starter
AO Member
V6 life expectancy

I'm currently looking at buying a rather tidy late 96 V6 155... My only concern is the 100,000+ it's sporting.... It's got a sound history and has very recently had belts, water pump, discs+pads.... front shockers just over a year ago and generally seems good... I tend to rack up around 15,000 miles a year....if I buy a 100k+ V6 am I setting myself up for some serious expense??..I've owned various fiats and lancias so I am familar with the joys of italian motoring !!..but I'm new to the 155, should I be wary of 100,000 milers.... and if so, where do I find one with any less ?? !!

Screw Flanders
Sponsored Links
Ian Spring
It is impossible to answer your question with any certainty because the life of a car depends not only on how it has been maintained but also on how it has been treated by all the people who have driven it. For instance if it has been revved hard immediately after starting and done lots of short journeys where it doesn't warm up properly and spent a large proportion of its time in heavy traffic (where a large engine does not run efficiently) then the engine may be at the end of its life.

If, however, it has spent most of its time on the motorway, been treated properly and had good quality oil in it then it could be perfectly sound - an Alfa V6 is capable of 150,000 miles or more.