156 Fuel Pump - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Gertie
  • 1 Post By Gertie
 
Thread Tools
(Post Link) post #1 of 16 Old 29-06-16 Thread Starter
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,242
156 Fuel Pump

Hi all

While waiting for paint to dry etc i thought i would get on with modifying the fuel pump.

What i need to know is on the top on the unit (white part) is the circular metal part a non return valve or the pressure regulator .

I need to disable the pressure regulator so need to know where it is

Thanks Very much in advance
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20160629_144836.jpg (49.4 KB, 8 views)

Last edited by mirlock; 29-06-16 at 16:33.
mirlock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
(Post Link) post #2 of 16 Old 29-06-16 Thread Starter
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,242
How disappointing i decided since it was doubtful i was going to get an answer as i guess its not something normal people do with standard pumps. i thought i will destroy to under stand it .

all that black plastic and piping just for a crappy fuel filter and in the middle was a small corroded pump.
so thats made my mind up i will buy a new aftermarket pump and adapt it to the standard housing to keep original fuel level sensor .

now off to find a pump that kicks out about 5 bar
mirlock is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 16 Old 29-06-16 Thread Starter
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,242
Any one know of this make or have used 1 before , As im going to buy 1 if no one has had bad issues with them.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2622173983...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Thx
mirlock is offline  
 
Status: age is only a number ;-)
AO Gold Member
 
rgwm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Burnley-ish
County: Lancashire
Posts: 9,290
Never heard of them, sorry......
rgwm is offline  
Status: Race cars in progress
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Gertie's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 2201
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 5,457
Images: 6
Garage
I would give it a try I have seen it before, but never used it

I need a second pump on my GTV race car for a surge tank - my square aftermarket tank slosh badly around corners
mirlock likes this.
Gertie is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 16 Old 01-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gertie View Post
I would give it a try I have seen it before, but never used it

I need a second pump on my GTV race car for a surge tank - my square aftermarket tank slosh badly around corners
With the word of gertie i will buy 1

Not seen you about much lately Gertie hope your well
mirlock is offline  
Status: Race cars in progress
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Gertie's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 2201
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 5,457
Images: 6
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by mirlock View Post
Not seen you about much lately Gertie hope your well
This is a thread jack, sorry. But then you are the OP

I am well thanks,

I was a bit busy with helping my father-in-law move from Cape Town to Centurion - 1500km (nearly 1000 miles) I towed the bulky and near 1 TON trailer with my 156 3.0 SW (also packed to the rafters). Consumption was 13.5l/100km (21mpg) with the cruise set at 115km/h and taking all the hills into account to get from see level to 1470m above sea level I am pleased. The drive down I managed 8.5l/100km (33mpg) at 125km/h cruise.

Getting back to the question of fuel pumps - I have to go out of tank pump and options are less available - the best value pump I could find locally:
Racekit.co.za - Fuel Pumps
replacement part for the Bosch fuel pump with the part number: 0580254910 This pump delivers 135 Litres per hour at 3 Bar and can be used up to a maximum pressure of 7 Bar. These pumps are available at the price of R699.00
Gertie is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 16 Old 02-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gertie View Post
This is a thread jack, sorry. But then you are the OP



Getting back to the question of fuel pumps - I have to go out of tank pump and options are less available - the best value pump I could find locally:
Racekit.co.za - Fuel Pumps
replacement part for the Bosch fuel pump with the part number: 0580254910 This pump delivers 135 Litres per hour at 3 Bar and can be used up to a maximum pressure of 7 Bar. These pumps are available at the price of R699.00

Im glad you had fun moving your father inlaw

But anyway the question i need the answer to is how do you get the pump to 5-7 bar using the a new pump in the stock pump housing ? Do you block or restrict off the fuel return that runs through the fuel regulator thats fitted in the top white part of the housing.

Note pic's Either restrict the pump regulator or block regulator and have no fuel return

Thanks in advance
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pump with return.jpg (23.7 KB, 7 views)

Last edited by mirlock; 15-09-16 at 12:16.
mirlock is offline  
Status: Race cars in progress
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Gertie's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 2201
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 5,457
Images: 6
Garage
You should always have a return. The pump cannot pump against a dead block (when ignition on, but engine not running ). The FPR is on the return, your 1st picture is correct.

Injectors generally don't like 5 bar or more, unless you specially get 5 bar injectors. Keep it 4.5 bar ish to be safe.
Gertie is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 16 Old 02-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gertie View Post
You should always have a return. The pump cannot pump against a dead block (when ignition on, but engine not running ). The FPR is on the return, your 1st picture is correct.

Injectors generally don't like 5 bar or more, unless you specially get 5 bar injectors. Keep it 4.5 bar ish to be safe.
What pressure is the stock regulator & will i get the 4.5 - 5 bar if i use the stock setup and just change the pump ?

My injectors are 320@3.8bar and about 420@5bar
mirlock is offline  
Status: Race cars in progress
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Gertie's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 2201
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 5,457
Images: 6
Garage
Standard setup is 3.5 bar at pump - at peak flow it tends to drop to +/- 3.3bar at the fuel rail - the pipe is quite long, so there are some pressure losses at peak flow.

The stock FPR chooses the 3.5 bar, so you have to change the FPR to get 4.5 bar, regardless of the pump.
mirlock likes this.

Last edited by Gertie; 03-07-16 at 07:12.
Gertie is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 16 Old 03-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,242
Thank you very much gertie . i have now paid for my pump i will let you know how good it is
mirlock is offline  
(Post Link) post #13 of 16 Old 08-07-16 Thread Starter
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,242
Done fuel pump since the new performance pump arrived , Seems a nice solid pump and well made , I will test it soon and see what results i get .

Ignore my mess (organised chaos)

Last edited by mirlock; 15-09-16 at 12:16.
mirlock is offline  
Status: OEM++
AO Silver Member
 
Egon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 2,021
Images: 2

Member car:

147ts plus bits

How you getting on with it? i've been looking at pumps myself just recently with regards to finding out how the pressure is regulated. Not dealt with a one ended system before! I'm a bit befuddled by it.
Egon is offline  
Status: Race cars in progress
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Gertie's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 2201
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Posts: 5,457
Images: 6
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by mirlock View Post
Done fuel pump since the new performance pump arrived , Seems a nice solid pump and well made , I will test it soon and see what results i get .
Groovy, looks good.

Do you have a pressure gauge to link in / monitor?
Gertie is offline  
(Post Link) post #16 of 16 Old 06-08-16 Thread Starter
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gertie View Post
Groovy, looks good.

Do you have a pressure gauge to link in / monitor?

yep i have a fuel regulator & Gauge to fit on the rail and im having it controlled by the turbo pressure .not fitted it yet as finishing the other parts of the car first before i do the final refit of the engine . ( respraying engine bay etc )
mirlock is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
156 , fuel , pump

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome