156 ecu - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 13-11-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3

Member car:

156 ts

156 ecu

Hi all, can anyone help. was wondering if the engine magement ecu is changed will the car run or will it need to be programed at the dealers? Also will the ecu from a 1999 156 1.8ts fit the engine in a 2002 156 1.8ts estate? sorry to be a bother lol
enduro-man is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: age is only a number ;-)
AO Gold Member
rgwm's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,076
Re: 156 ecu

You can't just change the ECU - you need to have the associated code box, and matching key, or at least the chip swapped from the matching key to yours.

The 99 ECU into a 2002 might work....not 100% sure...

All this sort of depends on why you are changing the ECU...
rgwm is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 5 Old 14-11-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3

Member car:

156 ts

Re: 156 ecu

i have the chance to buy a 2002 1.8ts estate for easy money. the pins on the ecu were damaged. there is no electrical fault. i have a 2000 156 1.8ts saloon and was going to swap the ecu"s over. someone said that there was a change of engine late 2000 so i didnt know if the ecu's could be swapped. thanks for your help
enduro-man is offline  
Status: Tin worm attack ... ARGHH!
AO Gold Member
gazza82's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 8,290
Images: 12
Re: 156 ecu

Have look here http://www.alfadiag.net/FAQ.aspx: scroll down about halfway down the page.

You will need to find out what the engine numbers are on the two cars but the chances are the 2002 model uses a different ECU and therefore not a direct or easy swap.
gazza82 is offline  
Status: Gold Member
AO Gold Member
rarebear's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 7,021
Re: 156 ecu

you need at least a relearn of the ECU and you need the parameters , not an easy task I dare say...
Many car mechanics who fiddled with ECU's and the like are now in safe storage in special rooms with soft walls and floors...
rarebear is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

156 , ecu

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome