Selespeed problem..... NEW PROBLEM.... - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 02-10-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
pmptrading's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 114
Images: 7

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 156

Selespeed problem..... NEW PROBLEM....

I had a really weird Selespeed problem today.

Firstly - a bit about my car - year 2000 156 Selespeed. 86,000km. Selespeed Pump replaced about 8 months ago.

I think I started the car before the Selespeed WHIRING had stopped - usually I wait for this to finish before turning over the engine.....

anyone..... exiting my car park at work.... stopped in line and the car just went into neutral..... turned off/restarted - same problem.


Waited 5 minutes...... then started and all OK !

I went for a drive and all was ok......

NOW - I am worried..... what does this mean?

Is my Selespeed dying? Is the actuator on the way out? PLEASE GOD NO..... PLEASE GOD!

This is really a bad time for me to need to pay $3500-5000 for a new actuator...... Only the dealer can fix this is BRISBANE.... my independant Alfa tech does not have the selespeed computer (about $10,000-)

Any advice......
pmptrading is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: missing Inverurie
AO Gold Member
Pascs's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Qatar
County: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 8,063
Images: 16

Member car:

Zender 156 V6

Re: Selespeed problem..... NEW PROBLEM....

The pump starts when you open the door mainly to allow the car to change to neutral as you start the engine - I think if there is not enough pressure then the engine wont start until enough pressure has built up.

Also the pump will run whenever the pressure drops so there should have been enough pressure to change gears once you were driving.

The Selespeed can be temperamental as you already know - I hope it was just having a bad day - mine occasionally does odd things for no obvious reason.
Pascs is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 5 Old 03-10-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
pmptrading's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 114
Images: 7

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 156

Very low selespeed oil level.....

I check the Selespeed level and it was at the low end of MIN....
Went to my Alfa tech and he added a bit more in the car.....

Anyhow.... that is fine.... MY FEAR IS NOW .... WHERE IS THE LEAK????

The alfa guy commented that the overflow tubing was twisted.... therefore could not breave.....

I am now scared that it could be leaking and adding more selespeed oil is only a short term solution..... AND GEE THAT SELESPEED OIL IS $$$$$ (must be made by virgins in the mountain tops of Italy).
pmptrading is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
Elliot's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20

Member car:

156 sele

Re: Selespeed problem..... NEW PROBLEM....

it does use a bit of SS oil over time, i wouldnt panic for the time being.
keep a regular check on it and report back
Elliot is offline  
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
zulu ferret's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,255
Images: 2
Re: Selespeed problem..... NEW PROBLEM....

What they all said: Is it absolutely, positively, a 100% battery supply you have? Had a wonderful trip to Dorset in our Sele' Baby, she contended with the chaotic Heathrow traffic, both ways, admirably.:
zulu ferret is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

problem , selespeed

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome