Electrical problems - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 28-09-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 2
Electrical problems

Hello everyone,

I have just purchased my first Alfa two days ago. It is a 156 2.0 JTS Lusso and unfortunately I have now got my first problem.
It started fine this morning, but before I set off the wipers were not working. When I tried the indicators they were knacked as well, then the climate system, the door mirrors, the back windows(front ok), and a few buttons I'm not sure about. everything else is fine! I don't have a manual so can't check if it is something dead simple before I take it back to the dealer and look a fool.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
christo12 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: -
AO Silver Member
marko's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 2,736
Images: 4
Re: Electrical problems

how new is the car? if it is under warranty then just take it to the dealer, sounds like a fuse has popped tho. it is possible that all these things are powered from the same fuse, perhaps one of the 156 owners can check this out in the manual??
marko is offline  
Status: Stopped
AO Member
Il Dottore's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 345
Re: Electrical problems

On the 156 there are some general protection fuses (60, 70 and 80 Amp) under the bonnet that protect the power cables. They are mounted between the ABS servo and the top of the near side suspension strut. If a whole load of devices have stopped working it could be that one of these has gone. Still take it to the dealer, because if a fuse has blown something must have caused it.
Il Dottore is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 1,613

Member car:

159 Ti

Re: Electrical problems

the fuse box, above this there are three banks of extra fuses covered with a black plastic mesh protection, these are NOT documented in a users handbook.
Rip off the mesh protecter for each bank and dispose (you may as well as you will often need access up there).
Go to the top bank far right fuse, possible a 7.5amp, remove, you will probably find this is blown, if its not that, check the others, I am sure its the one on the far right, 2nd or 3rd bank up.

This fuse if it blows will kill:
Electric Windows
Cig. Lighter
That I know of, maybe more.

Cab you post to say the fix?

Don't take it to alfa 'till you have tried this, they'll only charge you a ton for changing a 7p fuse!
jasons is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 6 Old 01-10-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sheffield
Posts: 2
Re: Electrical problems

Thanks to every one who replied.
Builders cut through my broadband cable on Friday so have been unable to access this site. They say things come in threes, so can't wait for the next one!
Excellent advice about the top set of fuses. Never even noticed it to be honest. Have changed the top right one, and everything has come back on. Maybe things are looking up.
Thanks again.
christo12 is offline  
Status: -
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Buckinghamshire
Posts: 7

Member car:


Hi Christo12

Just changed the resistor for the fan heater in my 156 1.8 T Spark, delighted when I had all 4 speed settings. Decided to check a few things to ensure I had not caused any other problems, lights work, hazzards work, brake lights work and then I realised a problem , no indicators, no heater fan, no wipers or wash wipers, no elec windows, no sun roof, no mirror adjustment, no air re-circulation and no cigar lighter.

Just like you checked all fuses, could only be one thing to lose all the above at once. Slammed door and called it a day.

Went on forum and managed to find your thraed, checked the top set of fuses which I did not know about and guess what, you got it 7.5 amp fuse, 2nd row from top, extreme left, why do all these things run from 1 x 7.5 amp fuse.

Thanks for posting your thread and thanks to jasons who posted the answer to this problem. Without this I would have spent hours and probably Lots of s.

Thanks to all

Andy K
andyk2 is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

electrical , problems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome