Horn not working - location of circuit board - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 4 Old 26-09-15 Thread Starter
Status: Addicted!
AO Member
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
County: Wexford
Posts: 11
Horn not working - location of circuit board

Hi All.

I've seen loads of threads on here with advice on fixing the car horn on an Alfa. Specifically I have a 2001 Alfa 156 1.8L. The horn doesn't work (duh!) so I went through the recommendations here.
Checked the fuse - OK but changed anyway...no go.
Replaced the relay...no go.
Ran a wire from the live to the horn...horn works.
SO I decided to have a go at the U-shaped circuit board. I got the air-bag off..eventually. No issues there. I removed the 4 bolts and springs holding on the top contact. But no U-Shaped circuit board. No black plastic either. All there is, is the aluminium of the steering wheel and the connections go through this aluminium section to underneath.
So I put it all back together again as I didn't have a 24mm socket to take the wheel off.
SO am I right in thinking that the circuit board is under the steering wheel and the wheel needs to come off (like in the image attached)?? Or is there a circuit board in this model? I have the NCT (MOT) nect week and it failed last time for no functioning horn.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg steering wheel.jpg (88.1 KB, 10 views)

Last edited by Irishwonkafan; 26-09-15 at 11:53. Reason: Add image
Irishwonkafan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: loving the alfa
AO Member
rc_addicted's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 883

Member car:

147 jtd 16v mjet

I have a similar issue but on a 147 but my horn work intermittently would this be steering wheel end or horn end?
rc_addicted is offline  
Status: Blue, Cosmos Blue
AO Silver Member
Chris155's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 2,154
The bit with the red wire and white connector attached makes the circuit for the horn, there is no circuit board.

Clocksplring could be your problem though.
Chris155 is offline  
Status: i like cake?
AO Member
seasonsv6's Avatar
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Durham
Posts: 99

Member car:

156 v6

had same issue while ago and replaced the squib and wahey it worked. guessed it was wiring related. might be worth a shout
seasonsv6 is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

board , circuit , horn , location , working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome