Another Selespeed probby! 2000.156.TS - Page 2 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Australia
County: Victoria
Posts: 17
Re: Another Selespeed probby! 2000.156.TS

Had A Problem With 2001 147 Selespeed, The Car Was Moving Up And Down Between Gears At Random Even When Stationary
Ie : 3rd - 1st -5th -2nd Ect, Without Me Touching The Selector. Obviously The Electronic Brain Was Confused, 4 Days Later After Checking All Obvious Posibilities And About To Consider A Conversion To Manual Operation, I Discovered That The Selespeed Computer Receives Signals As To The Position Of The Gearbox Selector Shaft From 3 Very Simple Potentiometers That Are Mounted On The Selespeed Actuator Assembly On Top Of The Gearbox. One Of The Pots Tells It Where The Clutch Shaft Is Positioned, Another Tells Where The Gearbox Selector Shaft Is In The 3 Up/down Positions Eg 1st/2nd ,3rd/4th Or 5th/reverse.
The Third Pot Tells Where The Shaft Is Relative To Rotation - Eg : Left/middle/right Middle Being Neutral
These Pots Are Easily Removed And When Off The Car You Will Find They Sweep To A Greater Degree Than When Fitted To The Transmission. Whilst Off I Cleaned Them With Electronics Cleaner And Moved Them Back/forward To Try And Clean The Contact Inside. (all This Against The Advice Of My Local Alfa Stealer I Might Add As They Stated The Pots Were Very Position Sensitive And Only The Right Equipment Could Set Them Up, And Not To Mix Up Which Position They Came From)
I Deliberately Put Them Back To Other Locations From Which They Came And The Problem Was Cured. That Was 6 Months Ago. I Intend To See If I Can Get 3 New Ones As These Components Are Wearing Out (imagine Twisting The Volume Pot On Your Radio All The Time)
As Well When Considering A Manual Conversion I Inspected Both Manual And Selespeed Boxes At A Wreckers And Found Them To Be Much The Same Except For The End Of The Selector Shaft Where The Actuator Mounts. So The Cables And Quadrant From A Manual Could, With A Bit Of Modification, Be Made To Work On A Selespeed Box.
For The Information Of Those In The Future Who Read This Post.
Cheers Howie
HOWIE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: Gold Member
AO Gold Member
rarebear's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 7,021
Re: Another Selespeed probby! 2000.156.TS

a recalibrate with Examiner will do miracles !!! the Sele cpu is now garbled up I reckon...

p.s. I had my share of issues with sele, which was in fact a clutch problem and a piece of a tooth travelling around inside the gearbox and sometimes blocking the pushrod of 4th gear.
rarebear is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

probby , selespeed

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome