"Motor Management System Failure" - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 4 Old 16-06-07 Thread Starter
"Motor Management System Failure"

Hi fellow ALFA fans. A NEWBIE here!! I am Kevin from South Africa and I drive a 2003 156 2.0 TSpark (as it is known here, not sure if the names change around the world). I have been advised to seek assistance with my problem in this forum. I purchased the vehicle in 2004 with 11000 km's. Cam-belt snapped at 40000 odd and was replaced and then the motor was replaced (with a recon unit) at 57000 km's due to a "bearing knock" problem, apparently a spin-off problem from the cam-belt snap, and until now has been performing beautifully. Now, I am in a bit of a dilemma!! This morning, coming back from our local mall, at about 4000 rpm, going through the gears, the 156 gave a sudden jerk and the "motor control system failure" light came on, with the proverbial "beep-beep" on the system monitor. I slowed to about 2000 rpm in top gear, changed down and continued going. The remaining trip home seemed okay. I drove as normal, not noticing any difference in performance and no further jerking, I didn't push it though - but the light remained on. I got home and turned off the engine and again immediately restarted. All seems okay but the "engine light" stays on. I have just read through some of the member posts including the post from "IanBRD", I think his nick is, about his battery problem. My battery was replaced in March this year, so I doubt it be the battery. Is "sudden jerk" not perhaps the magic words here? I should also add that I my 156 is about 15000 km's overdue its 80000km service. I will be most grateful should anyone be able to advise. I have a 400km trip ahead of me tomorrow (Sunday - all Alfa dealers closed) and am not sure if I can take the risk. Thanks guys. Cheers

“Be careful about reading health books. You may die of a misprint” KEVIN SA
Sponsored Links