stage 1 or 2 clutch? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 21 Old 16-01-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
krisrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 216
stage 1 or 2 clutch?

been reading the forum tonight as I need a new clutch for my gt as the slip is getting worse and worse a year on after the remap.

the firm cg motorsports keeps coming up, who can supply different stages.
im thinking either stage 1 or 2 will be fine for me however can anyone comment on either of them?

cheers kris
krisrt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
t3yls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,813
Images: 4

Member car:

Alfa GT Jtdm

funny, I was just saying, the other day, how many threads there are for new clutches post-remap, and now you...

I sat in a fellow GT owners car, who had an uprated clutch. Pretty sure it was a CG mototsports - unbelievably hard to press! not sure if they're all like that, but it felt undrivable to me.
t3yls is online now  
(Post Link) post #3 of 21 Old 16-01-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
krisrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 216
well from the day I got the gt my clutch peddle has been stiff
krisrt is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
t3yls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,813
Images: 4

Member car:

Alfa GT Jtdm

Quote:
Originally Posted by krisrt View Post
well from the day I got the gt my clutch peddle has been stiff
everybody's is ......but this was beyond stiff. If it was just stiff, I wouldn't describe it as undriveable!
t3yls is online now  
(Post Link) post #5 of 21 Old 16-01-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
krisrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 216
think ill go for the stage 1
krisrt is offline  
Status: loving my ALFA
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 860

Member car:

alfa gt jtdm

Just fit a replacement clutch a good quality one no need to uprate it .I did mine ages ago I had to replace the master cylinder a bit later as it started slipping on an odd occasion but since then no bother a all .The pedal now is light as well
300stu is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 21 Old 18-01-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
krisrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 216
hmm something to think about.

what would you consider a good quality clutch manufacturer to be?

cheers
krisrt is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by krisrt View Post
hmm something to think about.

what would you consider a good quality clutch manufacturer to be?

cheers
Get a Valeo one. Go for the 147 Ducati Corse clutch if you don't want a stage 1 clutch as it is slightly uprated from factory.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: GT clover 170 Q2 called SOOTY.:-)
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
ALFADOIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,199
Images: 12

Member car:

GT.Clover 170 Q2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
Get a Valeo one. Go for the 147 Ducati Corse clutch if you don't want a stage 1 clutch as it is slightly uprated from factory.
Pud is that true...That would mean the GT 170 would have the uprated clutch to surely.

Damien.
ALFADOIT is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALFADOIT View Post
Pud is that true...That would mean the GT 170 would have the uprated clutch to surely.

Damien.
Looks like the 170hp model GT uses the same clutch as the 147 Ducati Corse too, I just checked on the catalogue
Pud237 is offline  
Status: GT clover 170 Q2 called SOOTY.:-)
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
ALFADOIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,199
Images: 12

Member car:

GT.Clover 170 Q2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
Looks like the 170hp model GT uses the same clutch as the 147 Ducati Corse too, I just checked on the catalogue
Thanks Pud..

Damien.
ALFADOIT is offline  
Status: VERY TALLMAN
AO Member
 
BIGp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 109
Images: 4

Member car:

156 v6

Cg Motorsport clutch

I have a cg Motorsport six paddle Kevlar sprung fast road clutch in my 156 3.0 v6 and apart from the slight judder from start I have no problems with it. Certainly not with it being stiff?,mine is as light as a standard clutch. Basically you get used to how it bites,once out of first gear it's like a ordinary clutch except there is minimum slip.
BIGp is offline  
Status: dogging
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 1,375

Member car:

156 Sport 2005

stiffness isn't the clutch, it'll be the actuator arm that needs lubrication is all; it's a common fault.

B@
diddums100 is offline  
Status: GT clover 170 Q2 called SOOTY.:-)
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
ALFADOIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,199
Images: 12

Member car:

GT.Clover 170 Q2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
Looks like the 170hp model GT uses the same clutch as the 147 Ducati Corse too, I just checked on the catalogue
Pud just had a message from a guy who checked Eper, and said the ducati corse and GT 170 clutch is the same as the 150 clutch? Could you possibly post the evidence from your catalogue? Many thanks mate.

Damien.
ALFADOIT is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALFADOIT View Post
Pud just had a message from a guy who checked Eper, and said the ducati corse and GT 170 clutch is the same as the 150 clutch? Could you possibly post the evidence from your catalogue? Many thanks mate.

Damien.
Here you go.

Fitment is the same, but the original part number & the Valeo equivalent part number are both different. The 170hp part number is the same as those 147s also fitted with the 170hp engine.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screen.jpg (278.1 KB, 27 views)
Pud237 is offline  
Status: GT clover 170 Q2 called SOOTY.:-)
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
ALFADOIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,199
Images: 12

Member car:

GT.Clover 170 Q2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
Here you go.

Fitment is the same, but the original part number & the Valeo equivalent part number are both different. The 170hp part number is the same as those 147s also fitted with the 170hp engine.
Thanks Pud great stuff..

Damien.
ALFADOIT is offline  
(Post Link) post #17 of 21 Old 31-01-15 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
krisrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 216
anyone know the cheapest place to buy the ducati 147 valeo clutch kit?

cheers
krisrt is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,764
Kris I've sent you a PM.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
County: -
Posts: 12
Pud237 - I wanted to send you a PM but dunno how? Where is the button for it?

Am I correct in saying that Valeo 828063 is a standard clutch for all 8v, 10v and 16v (to include 170ps A6.000 in GTs) and Ducati Corse only (?) uses Valeo 828065 which possibly is uprated/strengthened clutch kit?
Mico is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mico View Post
Pud237 - I wanted to send you a PM but dunno how? Where is the button for it?

Am I correct in saying that Valeo 828063 is a standard clutch for all 8v, 10v and 16v (to include 170ps A6.000 in GTs) and Ducati Corse only (?) uses Valeo 828065 which possibly is uprated/strengthened clutch kit?
Yes, correct.

Although I'm not entirely convinced that if you order an 828065 that the contents of the box are now any different to if you order an 828063. I'd be tempted to order both and compare.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
County: -
Posts: 12
so I am suspecting that they (828063 vs 828065) must differ in one way or another.

What gets me is that 828063 is suitable for 170bhp version in GT (so A6.000) but not for exactly the same engine and gearbox in 170bhp Ducati Corse. Since they are the same in terms of physical dimensions they must differ somehow. Few people actually know how to look at it.

Some even say that clutch for Ducati Corse was only 'OEM original' but when you actually open the box it apparently has 'Made by Valeo' signs on it........so........what's the deal?

Do you know where we can find Ducati's clutches for sale plz?
thx
Mico is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
clutch , stage

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome