new alfa - problem already! - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 7 Old 17-05-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Leicestershire
Posts: 8
new alfa - problem already!

well i have found a lovely 2001 2.0TS 147 which i have put a deposit down on, was due to pick it up today but already there is a problem!

on the test drive i noticed the odometer was flashing, i assumed that this meant a fault code or similar. told the dealer i wanted it sorted before collection, he said fine.

he phoned today to say that the garage (not sure if it was a dealer/specialist or any old garage) were having trouble getting the diagnostic software to talk to the car. i have had similar problems on a lotus, which meant that the ECU was buggered, cost a bit to replace!

can anybody shed any light on why the garage may be struggling? the dealer is happy to get it sorted before i collect it, but i want to make sure i understand as much about how it all works; i want to make sure that the dealer actually fixes the problem properly, i don't want to end up with big bills in a couple of months!
owen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 447

Member car:

a bmw

Re: new alfa - problem already!

couldnt it just be the odomotor lcd thats buggered?
beast is offline  
Status: One foot in, one foot out!
AO Platinum Member
zulu ferret's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wgc
County: herts
Posts: 42,256
Images: 2
Re: new alfa - problem already!

Presume they are not using Examiner diagnostics? need this for comprehensive Alfa Info?:
zulu ferret is offline  
Status: Driving the dream!
AO Member
Aubrey's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Worcestershire
Posts: 906

Member car:


Re: new alfa - problem already!

Check that wing mirrors are the same size! Sounds stupid, but I had the same issue with my 147 2.0TS and it was because the car was originally destined for the Australian market and had therefore had a new speedo fitted. The give away is that the offside wing mirror for that market is larger than the nearside.

Aubrey is offline  
Status: 60% Retired and still Pedantic
AO Member
Ken's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Falkirk
Posts: 896
Images: 32

Member car:

Alfa 159 3.2 Q4

Re: new alfa - problem already!

Try searching the forum. I typed in "147 odometer flashing" and a whole screed of stuff came up.
Ken is online now  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: Derbyshire
Posts: 5,591
Re: new alfa - problem already!

I've had the same problem with my 1999 145. The garage that did the MoT couldn't get their diagnostic equipment (SnapOn, I think) to talk to the car. The local Bosch agent had no problems.
Dave Brand is offline  
(Post Link) post #7 of 7 Old 21-05-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Leicestershire
Posts: 8
Re: new alfa - problem already!

thanks for the advice everyone. spoke to the dealer today, he has taken it to an alfa specialist who reckons the "body computer", whatever that is, needs replacing, which they will do tomorrow. hoping to pick it up on wednesday, hopefully by then everything will be sorted.
owen is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

alfa , problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome