156 key code - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 16-05-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wantage, Oxfordshire
Posts: 3

Member car:

Alfa 156

Help 156 key code

I have recently had my 156 engine almost entirely rebuilt. New crank shaft, con-rod, big end shells, oil pump, slave cylinder, water pump, cam belt the list goes on. As it happens it all came to a lot more than I was quoted (being done by a 'friend of a friend') and has probably cost me more than it's worth, but you live and learn. The problem I've had is that on two occasions it hasn't fired when starting due to the car not recognising the key. The local main dealer has quoted me approx 150 to supply and re-code a key a code card and for labour. My question is, are there any other ways to go about this? And in the mean time if it happens again is are there any tricks to starting it rather than just contiuously trying to start it until it fires? The last time it happens my girlfriend was driving as wasn't best chuffed, so I need to claw my way out of the dog house. Any help would be appreciated.
Slighty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: vacuum issue.. help!
AO Member
ShiftyBloke's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 239
Re: 156 key code


I can't quite see how an engine rebuild would affect the engine ECU in terms of it being able to start the car.

If the ECU was replaced then the car would never start using any key, and if the car fails to start intermittently with either key, then I think you've also got another problem lurking somewhere.

It should be fairly cut and dry, if the code on the key and car match and both are serviceable it'll start, if you've a dodgy key, then you might have probs just with that key, if both keys seem dodgy then it's something on the car at fault, and no amount of reprogramming the keys and ECU are going to fix the fault.

ShiftyBloke is offline  
Status: Freezing!
AO Silver Member
Rockhopper's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 4,861
Re: 156 key code

Battery flat in the key? Misplaced imobiliser antenna in the ignition switch?
Rockhopper is offline  
Status: -
Club Member
Membro Medio
ALFAPAT's Avatar
Club Member Number: 237
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Moray
Posts: 1,862
Images: 6
Re: 156 key code

Like the problem I had , a loose earth wire on the cylinder head threw up no starting,codekey alert on dash etc.
ALFAPAT is offline  
Status: Fixing all your keys !!
AO Silver Member
Chris's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 3,806
Images: 2

Member car:

a very dirty car

Re: 156 key code

Originally Posted by Rockhopper View Post
Battery flat in the key? Misplaced imobiliser antenna in the ignition switch?
The battery makes no difference as it's the unpowered chip that isn`t being read properly. The antenna being loose or faulty sounds like the likely one, although check in the key that the immobiliser chip isn`t loose and rattling around or you will spend even more money for a certain 'd'oh!' factor
Chris is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
Zoso's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: S E London
Posts: 1,458

Member car:

156 2.5 V6

Re: 156 key code

I had a similar problem and had the ECU replaced and the keys re-coded.

Cost £450.
Zoso is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

156 , code , key

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome