Push Start Button - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 07-03-07 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
hammo's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 186

Member car:

Alfa 156 20. TS

Help Push Start Button

I would like to fit a engine push start button on my 156, just like to know which wires on the ignition barrell I have to tap into, on the end of the barrell are the following wires, Blue/white (thick wire) Brown/Black (thick wire) Yellow/Green (thin wire) Yellow/Black (thin wire).

I assume I have to tap into the two thick wires of the barrell, any help much appricated.

Thanks Hammo.
hammo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: Fixing all your keys !!
AO Silver Member
Chris's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 3,806
Images: 2

Member car:

a very dirty car

Re: Push Start Button

I know the feeling, mate. I did this to an old Ford once and it feels great to have a start button
Chris is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
Pud237's Avatar
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,613
Re: Push Start Button

I wouldn't if I were you, sure it'd be nice to have one but messing round with the electronics on an Alfa isn't a bright idea IMO
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Heathrow, UK
Posts: 1,365
Re: Push Start Button

i agree; just spotted my speakers are wired up wrong, left is right etc.
mo 156 is offline  
Status: Daddy bear
Global Mod Team
bazza's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Congleton - The centre of
Posts: 42,041
Images: 3

Member car:

Alfa 156 GTA SW

Re: Push Start Button

Heheh. That's reminded my, my Fiat Coupe, when I bought it, had the rear speakers the opposite way around to the fronts. Somewhat screwed up the stereo effect.
bazza is offline  
Status: .
AO Silver Member
Rob3rto's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 2,519
Images: 6

Member car:


Re: Push Start Button

Also, you would still have to insert the key and half turn it to activate the electrics and to turn off immobiliser.

Bit of a faff IMO.

Like them if they are built in from the factory though.
Rob3rto is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

button , push , start

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome