Corrupt ecu...?????? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 15-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ireland
County: Mayo
Posts: 81

Member car:


Corrupt ecu...??????

Eml has been on for approx 2k miles

Finally got chance to take to Alfa specialist but it's miles from where I live

Guy said its egr

So, stripped and minted egr as per threads here, and saw it has a blanking late

Took it to a diesel tuning co that's just round corner, to have egr deleted

He put it on scanner and said it looks like corrupt ecu

Idle speed was showing 3400 revs
And dopant temp was -273 degrees

Waiting for "genius" to come back from wherever he is to break into the software for closer look

What day reckons guys????
carlsworth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: And on the eighth day God made Alfas..!
AO Gold Member
pendragonfalls's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ireland
County: Carlow
Posts: 6,590
Images: 20
Unless they can repair the ECU, you'll need both the ECU and body computer from a donor car.
pendragonfalls is offline  
Status: Optimistic for new season
AO Silver Member
rossogtv's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 2,004
Images: 5
Best check for corroded connections before ecu replacement......
rossogtv is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 6 Old 15-08-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ireland
County: Mayo
Posts: 81

Member car:


So the genius me back and put it on his laptop

Said there's a problem with the low voltage side of ecu and can't do anything with it
And it needs new ecu whereby he will clone the ecu in cr and transfer to new ecu

Soo For secondhand ecu, programming fitting etc he said it I'll be 600 quid
But it didn't fill me with confidence when he couldn't find the ecu to check for corrosion

Ny ides where the ecu is hiding??
carlsworth is offline  
Status: turbo charger assembler
AO Silver Member
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Yorkshire
Posts: 1,928
ok before you take the word of this specialist as fact

what are the codes that trigger the MSCF light to come on??
ever thought it could be that what he is reading in the ecu

you can get a code reader from ebay for less than 15 it plugs into the fuse box under steering wheel
please get the code..or codes and report back

ecu on a gt is left hand side of engine on inner wing... should be same on 147
hdseven is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Zealand
County: -
Posts: 2,240
Try connecting with MultiECUscan rather than a generic scanner. Depending on age of car the std obd scanner may not work properly. Assume the car doesn't start or run?
sprint_veloce is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

corrupt , ecu

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome