Advice needed - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 08-07-14 Thread Starter
County: Hampshire
Advice needed

Hi All,

I am a newbie who currently drives a VW Jetta but I've reached the time in my life where I would like something a bit different.

With the Italian style and beautiful design the Alfa is the one for me.

I am thinking of part exchanging my 2008 Jetta 1.9 TDI with 107,000 miles for a 2008 147 1.9 JTD 16V turismo which has just under 90,000 on the clock.

Will the 147 depreciate badly after 100k and also would I be better off spending the extra money for a GT?

The 147 is a good price and works within my budget and would enable me to have my first entry Alfa.

Any views or advice would be greatly appreciated.

FAO the cambelt was replaced on the 147 May last year.
Sponsored Links
AO Member
County: West Yorkshire

Member car:

alfa gt 2.0 jts

Cambelt, water pump and also aux belt, not sure in the JTDs have a variator. Its every 3 years ideally too, it should have been done by the dealer or a specalist, is not a job for any normal garage. Also check the oil when you go look at it, if it's low walk away.

Alfas in general don't hold their value as well as other cars, just bare that in mind, a lot of cars lose value when they go over 100k

Alfa Romeo 147 Buyer's Guide

Buyers guide for you. All the stuff you'd look for with any normal car, still applies. The JTD engine is a GM block, so it has the same pros/cons as the vauxhall cars.
AO Silver Member
County: Lincolnshire
As the Piper says, a cambelt service should really include the timing belt, aux belt, tensioners, idlers and the water pump for it to have had the full works done.

The JTD doesn't have a variator, that's part of the VVT system on the twin spark petrol motors, so you can ignore that.