What have you done to your Alfa 147/156/GT today? - Page 80 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1173Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Northamptonshire
County: -UK
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by calistic View Post
Well she's still off the road.

Air in the abs unit, tried bleeding it, now had my mate cycle the abs valves with his snap on computer (what an impressive bit of kit) only to find out whoever last bled the brakes stripped the thread on the caliper, so need a caliper (not happy hellicoiling it)....frustrating the hell out of me now....having a 80 mile daily commute and sharing the missus 147 is not ideal.
calistic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: And on the eighth day God made Alfas..!
AO Gold Member
 
pendragonfalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ireland
County: Carlow
Posts: 6,595
Images: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rachelba View Post
Just fitted the MTech short shifter to the GT, very simple job. You don't have to remove the battery or battery box as it says in the instructions so all done in 20 min. Very happy with the improvement,will do the wife's GTA next.

Allan
Which one did you get..? They don't seem to list them for the JTS engine
pendragonfalls is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
gtearl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
County: -
Posts: 80
Need some pics of this shifter fitter ?
gtearl is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
gtearl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
County: -
Posts: 80
Fitted new tyres today got tracking checked it was miles out. And joy of joys found I have a buckled wheel so that's something else I need to replace joys of new cars I suppose
gtearl is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 261
Just get it straightened, cheaper than replacing
dominic2115 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Rachelba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Australia
County: Western Australia
Posts: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendragonfalls View Post
Which one did you get..? They don't seem to list them for the JTS engine
Try this site as it may suit your gearbox. My box is a 6 speed V6.

MTech Short Shifter kit C630-SHift suitable for Alfa romeo, Fiat and Lancia with C530 5 speed and C630 6-speed gearbox - MTech Short Shifters

Allan
pendragonfalls likes this.
Rachelba is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Rachelba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Australia
County: Western Australia
Posts: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtearl View Post
Need some pics of this shifter fitter ?
Here you go.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC_0001.jpg (56.9 KB, 14 views)
Rachelba is offline  
Status: The Rosso twins are here!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
edraven71's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1612
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 3,674
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendragonfalls View Post
Which one did you get..? They don't seem to list them for the JTS engine
Try this http://www.novitec-sportiva.com/en/3...-Shifter?c=147
pendragonfalls likes this.
edraven71 is offline  
(Post Link) post #1984 of 2909 Old 14-02-16 Thread Starter
Status: GT clover 170 Q2 called SOOTY.:-)
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
ALFADOIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,199
Images: 12

Member car:

GT.Clover 170 Q2

Quote:
Originally Posted by edraven71 View Post
How's the GTA Paul? still loving it?

Damien.
ALFADOIT is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
County: -
Posts: 20
Fitted my dash cam & GPS module...(just needs wiring in)

http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/2016...0b7470e986.jpg

I fitted my parking sensors yesterday, but haven't taken a photo...SOO many torx bolts!!
pod_1981 is offline  
Status: The Rosso twins are here!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
edraven71's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1612
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 3,674
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALFADOIT View Post
How's the GTA Paul? still loving it?

Damien.
Err, this is some of it, in the garage
20151127_202357.jpg

The interior is in the spare room and the body is getting stripped down for a full respray, so not driven it much, but am still enjoying it in a way
ALFADOIT likes this.
edraven71 is offline  
(Post Link) post #1987 of 2909 Old 14-02-16 Thread Starter
Status: GT clover 170 Q2 called SOOTY.:-)
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
ALFADOIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,199
Images: 12

Member car:

GT.Clover 170 Q2

Quote:
Originally Posted by edraven71 View Post
Err, this is some of it, in the garage
Attachment 610169

The interior is in the spare room and the body is getting stripped down for a full respray, so not driven it much, but am still enjoying it in a way
Wow..lol.. was not expecting that mind.. Was that all planned Paul?

Damien.
ALFADOIT is offline  
Status: The Rosso twins are here!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
edraven71's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1612
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 3,674
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALFADOIT View Post
Wow..lol.. was not expecting that mind.. Was that all planned Paul?

Damien.
Yeah did buy it as a project to restore/modify and spend all my money on...

Certainly doing the last one.
ALFADOIT likes this.
edraven71 is offline  
Status: still excited(shoudn't be)
AO Gold Member
 
ARnovice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: The land of burning...
County: Berkshire
Posts: 7,874
Images: 3
scrapped the ice of the windows and stated a lovely thing after two weeks of being away. What a great car!
ARnovice is offline  
Status: Alive
AO Silver Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 4,099

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Visited the local tyre centre to have a nail removed from one tyre and a slow puncture fixed. Turns out the slow puncture was down to a bent wheel. I hate the roads around here.
Paddy OPlastic is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 27

Member car:

gt 1.9

Today on my 05 GT 1.9 I cleaned the map sensor (soooo dirty) and did a throttle reset.Sxxt me what a difference, feels like a different car better than when I bought it just over a year ago.Much smoother and quicker acceleration ???
rob6775 is offline  
Status: Flaps? What flaps?
AO Silver Member
 
_The_Editor_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 2,232
Got the good news!

Repairs complete - only spent 19 days in the shop....

Booked in for a 4-wheel alignment on the local Hunter system as a treat.. Also been chatting to Loz about getting in for cambelt/swirl-flap-delete soon... Can't come soon enough!

Still won't be able to collect the car until Saturday though because of awkward opening times... Another 2 days with the bright yellow VW Fox!
ARnovice and Paddy OPlastic like this.
_The_Editor_ is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: South Yorkshire
Posts: 287

Member car:

GT 2.0 JTS

Put some air in a tyre.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paddy OPlastic View Post
Visited the local tyre centre to have a nail removed from one tyre and a slow puncture fixed. Turns out the slow puncture was down to a bent wheel. I hate the roads around here.
Same around here, the local paper ran a cartoon this week about the council putting extra pot-holes in to make the roads safer for children - to make up for sacking most of the school crossing patrols - it soumds about right.
jonb.gt is offline  
Status: now a diesel head..
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 1,566
red dot re-map today...top chap is Paulo.

would like to report good news but it would seem my shiny new hybrid from turbo dynamics has a problem.

I thought the lag and early drop off were down to the old map, but according to Paulo the variable vane geometry is off...needless to say it should kick in earlier than 2500 rpm and hang about longer than 4000ish it begins to drop off at just over 3000 rpm

a broad wide torque band it is not....

the midrange IS lovely but there just is not enough of it.

bear in mind same hybrid spec as Alfadoit, i have been in his car and despite the fact mine has been custom mapped at red dot they are miles apart. in fact it was more drive -able on the 100k old stock turbo with the AL map. and when the new turbo was fitted it had a brand new MAF,MAP all new vac hoses and of course the obligatory oil and filter as well as a spanking new K&N.

it should be MUCH better than it is.


Gutted.


will call with turbo dynamics on monday,will report back when chat has been had. hopefully they will acknowledge the problem and fix it without further expense to me.

having spent so much money I am not a happy bunny...in 3rd at 30 mph you csn put your foot down and then go make a cup of tea before anything meaningful happens, town driving i now an absolute PITA.
joeymannero is offline  
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Oh dear, this is not good. I personally have used Red Dot twice, one of their maps is currently on my GT and performing well - they're good guys. When you say the variable vane geometry is 'off', do you mean the vanes just aren't operating or that they aren't working properly? Presumably all the associated pipework was checked for leaks?

I have turbo power coming in from around 1.5K revs, pushing all the way to 4.5K revs, very driveable - I'm never aware of where the turbo comes in, it's pretty well seamless (which is no doubt what you expected).

I guess Paolo did all the checks he needed to convince him that the turbo is the source of the problem?

Perhaps Alfadoit can shed some light on this?

Last edited by VO2Max; 19-02-16 at 19:37.
 
Status: now a diesel head..
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 1,566
turbo was fitted by autolusso, along with all new vac hoses,MAF,MAP and solenoid..the car is 100% healthy,no leaks from anywhere...and it is not red dot who are at fault here.its the turbo 100%

if there were any problems it wouldn't make peak BHP of 196..its not nearly enough power for how aggressive the map is, but that's not my main concern its the band and the late turbo boost and early drop off...they spent 4 hours and a few dyno runs trying to get it right...it's far from seamless.

bear in mind this is a car with no swirl flaps EGR and a de-cat down pipe that was previously making 180 BHP on a 100k old stock turbo, the turbo was kicking in where it should at 1500 rpm and was VERY driveable in all gears at all speeds.

its now night and day..either turbo on, or turbo off.

spoke to Damien and he is shocked as this is not the way his turbo behaves, and I have been in his car, my turbo is not right end of.


turbo dynamics will have to fix it and cover the cost of removal and re-fitting.

I did a 120 mile round trip to have the turbo fitted and 120 mile round trip yesterday to red dot and back, I am at least 1500 down all things considered, for a car that it worse than when I started bar 2000 usable revs in the middle.

not impressed.
joeymannero is offline  
(Post Link) post #1997 of 2909 Old 20-02-16 Thread Starter
Status: GT clover 170 Q2 called SOOTY.:-)
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
ALFADOIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,199
Images: 12

Member car:

GT.Clover 170 Q2

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeymannero View Post
red dot re-map today...top chap is Paulo.

would like to report good news but it would seem my shiny new hybrid from turbo dynamics has a problem.

I thought the lag and early drop off were down to the old map, but according to Paulo the variable vane geometry is off...needless to say it should kick in earlier than 2500 rpm and hang about longer than 4000ish it begins to drop off at just over 3000 rpm

a broad wide torque band it is not....

the midrange IS lovely but there just is not enough of it.

bear in mind same hybrid spec as Alfadoit, i have been in his car and despite the fact mine has been custom mapped at red dot they are miles apart. in fact it was more drive -able on the 100k old stock turbo with the AL map. and when the new turbo was fitted it had a brand new MAF,MAP all new vac hoses and of course the obligatory oil and filter as well as a spanking new K&N.

it should be MUCH better than it is.


Gutted.


will call with turbo dynamics on monday,will report back when chat has been had. hopefully they will acknowledge the problem and fix it without further expense to me.

having spent so much money I am not a happy bunny...in 3rd at 30 mph you csn put your foot down and then go make a cup of tea before anything meaningful happens, town driving i now an absolute PITA.
Hi Joe

I am gutted for you mate. Does not sound like the same turbo character at all. You have seen my clover in action and how the power is delivered. Its a wave of seamless torque that really kicks in strong at just before 3k and pulls like a freight train to the red line. What baffles me is the on and off nature? It should be steady. Something sounds a miss with the turbo or wastegate, as you know your engine was fine and strong with the oem unit.!. !

Get the dyno print out from red dot up Joe. We can have a look at the nature and character of the cars power delivery.

Damien.

"Who thought diesels could be this bloody fun"

Eibach pro S coilovers. Eibach ARB kit. Autolusso remap. JTD performance high flow downpipe. Bespoke spec Turbo Dynamics hybrid.JTD performance FMIC kit.JTD performance high flow downpipe. Autolusso de swirl flap mod.Autolusso Mocal oil cooler kit. Autolusso smf GTA clutch kit. GTA 330mm big brake kit.JTD perf inlet pipe.Wizard exhaust system. 19x8 OZ superleggera's.
"big thanks to Ned and the lads at Autolusso"
ALFADOIT is offline  
Status: Flaps? What flaps?
AO Silver Member
 
_The_Editor_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 2,232
Well I've got my GT back!

First things first, I've forgotten how to drive it... Clutch feels heavy, gear shifter travel feels non existent, seat feels low and stealthy... Must have gotten used to the Fox whilst I was driving it...

But, the final damage.... Came to 2,083.88!!!!!!

All the broken bits I spotted, plus AC condenser and new radiator... And associated clips, support brackets, support bushes etc...

Now at Protyre getting wheel alignment all done. Fingers crossed nothing's siezed!
ALFADOIT and warniegt like this.
_The_Editor_ is offline  
Status: Flaps? What flaps?
AO Silver Member
 
_The_Editor_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 2,232
Problem already - no engine undertray
_The_Editor_ is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeymannero View Post
turbo was fitted by autolusso, along with all new vac hoses,MAF,MAP and solenoid..the car is 100% healthy,no leaks from anywhere...and it is not red dot who are at fault here.its the turbo 100%

if there were any problems it wouldn't make peak BHP of 196..its not nearly enough power for how aggressive the map is, but that's not my main concern its the band and the late turbo boost and early drop off...they spent 4 hours and a few dyno runs trying to get it right...it's far from seamless.

bear in mind this is a car with no swirl flaps EGR and a de-cat down pipe that was previously making 180 BHP on a 100k old stock turbo, the turbo was kicking in where it should at 1500 rpm and was VERY driveable in all gears at all speeds.

its now night and day..either turbo on, or turbo off.

spoke to Damien and he is shocked as this is not the way his turbo behaves, and I have been in his car, my turbo is not right end of.


turbo dynamics will have to fix it and cover the cost of removal and re-fitting.

I did a 120 mile round trip to have the turbo fitted and 120 mile round trip yesterday to red dot and back, I am at least 1500 down all things considered, for a car that it worse than when I started bar 2000 usable revs in the middle.

not impressed.
The physical VNT mechanism is adjustable - its not meant to be adjusted as its all calibrated, but if the turbo's internals are different, its going to require different VNT, you'd assume TD have checked the VNT is set right on the turbo, or have set it to where they think is best for the type of internals they use. I'd be tempted to use a known good map (Damien's perhaps) and then play around with the VNT position on the turbo to try and improve response. Its just tweaking a screw, but you must know the original position so you can put it back to its calibrated setting in case you get no improvement. But perhaps speak to Turbo Dynamics first and see what they think.
joeymannero likes this.

Autolusso Penrith - UK's leading independent Alfa Romeo specialist with branches in Bedfordshire, Cumbria & Dorset

Wizard Exhaust systems available here

Tel: 01768 879 171
Pud237 is online now  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
156 , alfa , or gt , thread , today

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome