What have you done to your Alfa 147/156/GT today? - Page 59 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1173Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: 147 jtd 1.9. super car.....
AO Member
 
fala 4 bolts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Stirling
Posts: 220
Images: 10
Garage

Member car:

147 jtd lusso

mot

failed mot one cut on tyre, both bottom suspension arm ball joints, both rear drag links, battery not secure.
two new front arms fitted you cant change the ball joint , two new rear drag links complete arms, one part worn bridgstone tyre, bolt tightened on battery bracket.
front suspension arms 45 each
rear drag links 51 each
part worn tyre 30.
mot fee 30. all fitted by me app 5hrs.
2 advisorys both because of my rust proofing efforts chassis covered with old sump oil mixed with grease
as are brake pipes they cant fail you but best make sure all areas are sound before coating this mix stops
rust but needs re-coating yearly.

fala4bolts
fala 4 bolts is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Simon_GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 78

Member car:

GT 2.0 JTS

A bit of Chipex applied to some stone chips today. Got to keep the elements away from the metal.
Simon_GT is offline  
Status: Alfa 159Ti with bodykit
AO Member
 
Troll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Swindon, United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 870
Images: 2
Garage
Sold it the other day, for 40% more than I paid for it 18 months ago.. Very happy with that !
Troll is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
County: -
Posts: 11

Member car:

alfa gt,

Cleaned engine cover and found traces of coolant leak

I cleaned the engine cover on my GT and put some electrical tape around some pipes and wires that were visibly rubbing against the cover.

I noticed signs of coolant leak under the radiator. The big hose connection at the top of the radiator seems a bit loose - perhaps a leak comes from there. Hard to tell for the moment.

Dismantled and reassembled one of the reversing radar sensors. The plastic is broken and the sensor keeps slipping out. I turned the sensor and forced it back in. Hopefully it will stay put now. Otherwise I will have to look at improvising something by drilling two extra holes and putting a bit of wire to hold the sensor in place.

Cleaned the outside of the car. It's looking well!
Krypton is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
IanEW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 82

Member car:

2006 GT Jtdm

New MOT today...advisory on both nearside tyres, n/s drop link ball joint boot damaged (I ripped it when I changed the clutch last year) and offside upper suspension arm has a little play.
IanEW is offline  
Status: The Rosso twins are here!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
edraven71's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1612
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 3,674
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by edraven71 View Post
Fitted a new Pioneer with Android Auto, pretty impressed with it, all very plug and play which makes a change, can ditch the old TomTom now and make some room in the glovebox.
Pics as promised, none with it running Android Auto cos when you plug the phone in it locks your phone so I cant take pictures
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20150906_175727.jpg (169.9 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg 20150906_175932.jpg (115.6 KB, 18 views)
File Type: jpg 20150906_175650.jpg (212.4 KB, 15 views)
ALFADOIT likes this.
edraven71 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
County: -
Posts: 11

Member car:

alfa gt,

Added a yatour YT-M06 digital music changer adapter to the CDC port of the Connect Nav+ head unit on my GT. Works pretty well although best to not set the volume too loud on the phone otherwise one gets some signal distortion on playback. Music over AUX and bluetooth work well as well as handsfree telephone using the Yatour YT-BTM Bluetooth module. Unfortunately this means the CDC unit at the back of the car is no longer connected. If anyone has a working solution for this I am interested! The Yatour instructions mention an optional CDC switch cable for some cars but I can't find anything about it for the GT Connect Nav+

Last edited by Krypton; 09-09-15 at 20:41.
Krypton is offline  
Status: Howling around Leicestershire
AO Silver Member
 
ferret-ears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 1,143
Images: 77
Continued with sound deadening the interior today. I'm working from the back forwards, and have done the boot.
I did both of the rear side panels, which revealed rust on the inside of both of the cills, bit of a "heads up" to other Gt owners me thinks.
ALFADOIT likes this.
ferret-ears is offline  
Status: 147 jtd 1.9. super car.....
AO Member
 
fala 4 bolts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Stirling
Posts: 220
Images: 10
Garage

Member car:

147 jtd lusso

crank shaft sensor

tried to change my sensor i bought on ebay drat wrong type mine comes straight out and had the wiring plug
built into the top ie has no wire attached so got another on ebay by part No on sensor.waiting deliverance .
fala.
fala 4 bolts is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
t3yls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,813
Images: 4

Member car:

Alfa GT Jtdm

Quote:
Originally Posted by edraven71 View Post
Pics as promised, none with it running Android Auto cos when you plug the phone in it locks your phone so I cant take pictures
you sprayed some bits red? looks good, the silver looks rather dated now.

do the panels come out easy?
t3yls is online now  
Status: The Rosso twins are here!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
edraven71's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1612
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 3,674
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3yls View Post
you sprayed some bits red? looks good, the silver looks rather dated now.

do the panels come out easy?
Most of it is pretty easy, hardest bit is the climate panel as the dials need to come off, they do just pop off but it's one of those 'clench' jobs when all the things that can go wrong go through your head.
t3yls and ALFADOIT like this.
edraven71 is offline  
(Post Link) post #1462 of 2910 Old 09-09-15 Thread Starter
Status: GT clover 170 Q2 called SOOTY.:-)
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
ALFADOIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,199
Images: 12

Member car:

GT.Clover 170 Q2

Quote:
Originally Posted by edraven71 View Post
Pics as promised, none with it running Android Auto cos when you plug the phone in it locks your phone so I cant take pictures
Awesome job Paul.. Did the quality of the sound improve through the bose system?

Damien.
ALFADOIT is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Neddyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
County: Surrey
Posts: 61
I'll have to take pics of the Pioneer SPH-DA120 with Carplay I put in, it's awesome and sound quality amazing with the bose as you can custom the sound with the 13 band graphic equaliser, adjust front, side, rear speakers and subwoofer, so much I can tweak http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/image...es/thumbup.gif
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image_1442178328841.jpg (38.1 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg image_1442178343155.jpg (53.0 KB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg image_1442178359952.jpg (53.3 KB, 3 views)
ALFADOIT likes this.

Last edited by Neddyboy; 13-09-15 at 22:06.
Neddyboy is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Dudley
County: West Midlands
Posts: 7
Garage
Bought it and drove it home, will spend some time over the next few days checking everything out and working out what needs sorting
raglits is offline  
(Post Link) post #1465 of 2910 Old 09-09-15 Thread Starter
Status: GT clover 170 Q2 called SOOTY.:-)
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
ALFADOIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,199
Images: 12

Member car:

GT.Clover 170 Q2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neddyboy View Post
I'll have to take pics of the Pioneer SPH-DA120 with Carplay I put in, it's awesome and sound quality amazing with the bose as you can custom the sound with the 13 band graphic equaliser, adjust front, side, rear speakers and subwoofer, so much I can tweak
Sounds awesome Ned, love the idea of so much adjustability, including subwoofer.look forward to the pics..

Damien.
Neddyboy likes this.
ALFADOIT is offline  
Status: Alive
AO Silver Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 4,103

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Ordered Eibach ARBs.

I'll be mightily upset if it doesn't transform the handling, make me more handsome and establish world peace - as claimed by several board members.
ALFADOIT, BrighouseAlfa and imski like this.
Paddy OPlastic is offline  
(Post Link) post #1467 of 2910 Old 09-09-15 Thread Starter
Status: GT clover 170 Q2 called SOOTY.:-)
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
ALFADOIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,199
Images: 12

Member car:

GT.Clover 170 Q2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paddy OPlastic View Post
Ordered Eibach ARBs.

I'll be mightily upset if it doesn't transform the handling, make me more handsome and establish world peace - as claimed by several board members.
They also reduce wrinkles and prevent hair loss..

Well done about time. They will make a hell of a difference.

Damien.
Paddy OPlastic likes this.
ALFADOIT is offline  
Status: Alive
AO Silver Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 4,103

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by ALFADOIT View Post
They also reduce wrinkles and prevent hair loss..

Well done about time. They will make a hell of a difference.

Damien.
Paddy OPlastic is offline  
Status: The Rosso twins are here!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
edraven71's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1612
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Posts: 3,674
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALFADOIT View Post
Awesome job Paul.. Did the quality of the sound improve through the bose system?

Damien.
Didn't have Bose on mine, but everything is upgraded anyway, only Bose part I have used is the Sub housing in the boot to keep it looking factory.

Sound quality is better than the Pioneer 4400 I had in before with lots more adjustability.
ALFADOIT likes this.
edraven71 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
alfizta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Portugal
County: -
Posts: 2,649
Images: 10
restored my 156 steering wheel with one of those cheap chinese PU leather covers.
http://i1290.photobucket.com/albums/...pszo4a54zm.jpg
http://i1290.photobucket.com/albums/...pshw7yqonq.jpg
http://i1290.photobucket.com/albums/...psgusrmexc.jpg
http://i1290.photobucket.com/albums/...pslbddqpno.jpg
not that bad. would be better if done 2nd time.

EDIT1: If you think of buying something like this, buy extra thread, as the one that comes with this is bad quality and not enough to keep the stitches tight.
EDIT2: I made it all wrong. Thread is long enough, and made the right way will look much better. Will post pics as soon as I have opportunity to fix it again.

Last edited by alfizta; 10-09-15 at 12:20.
alfizta is offline  
Status: Don't. Cut.
AO Member
 
sneaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Romania
County: Timiș
Posts: 117
Images: 1

Member car:

156 8v

Greased all hinges and locks, hope the lithium stuff isn't the most inappropriate. Driver's door still pops though, need to change the bloody check strap it's embarassing to open the door

New bulb in the boot, but still no light and no more "boot open" message in the dash..
sneaker is offline  
Status: just so sexy
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Romford Essex
Posts: 297

Member car:

147 JTDm Lusso

The list goes on, new silver Varta battery today, spins over nicely, bring on the cold !
agenta lusso is offline  
(Post Link) post #1473 of 2910 Old 09-09-15 Thread Starter
Status: GT clover 170 Q2 called SOOTY.:-)
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
ALFADOIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,199
Images: 12

Member car:

GT.Clover 170 Q2

Quote:
Originally Posted by edraven71 View Post
Didn't have Bose on mine, but everything is upgraded anyway, only Bose part I have used is the Sub housing in the boot to keep it looking factory.

Sound quality is better than the Pioneer 4400 I had in before with lots more adjustability.
Oh shoocks, just did some research on the unit, its bloody gorgeous..Another one for the wishlist..

Damien.
ALFADOIT is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
saintetienne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Sussex
Posts: 816
Images: 30
Cleaned some rust off the discs , tidied with hammerite and had my friendly Dent man round to remove some dings - don't you just love Tesco's ?
saintetienne is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
AfroBeanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cornwall
Posts: 219
Images: 6
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by saintetienne View Post
Cleaned some rust off the discs , tidied with hammerite and had my friendly Dent man round to remove some dings - don't you just love Tesco's ?
I dream of a ding free Alfa! How much did your Dent Man cost per ding?
AfroBeanz is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
156 , alfa , or gt , thread , today

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome