What have you done to your Alfa 147/156/GT today? - Page 42 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1179Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: Powered by coal and steam
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
EVEL's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1382
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: England
County: West Midlands
Posts: 9,809
Images: 7
Garage

Member car:

alph a ramayo

EVEL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Flaps? What flaps?
AO Silver Member
 
_The_Editor_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 2,240
Not sure what to expect on the motorway tomorrow...

Better, because the lumpy tread is now running backwards...

Worse, because the lumpy tread is now running backwards...

Or exactly the same, because backwards or forwards the tread is still lumpy....
_The_Editor_ is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
Wezley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 11,462
Images: 27
Garage

Member car:

159 2.4 JTDm

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muskie View Post
Mine died a death yesterday on the way home from Alfaholics open day. Dash lit up like Christmas tree (vdc, abs errors, airbag light) and complete failure (dash blank, no power). Restarted a while later but went again 5 miles later. New battery so suspect alternator failure. Strange though as the RAC put a multimeter on it when it restarted and was holding 14 volts under load and 12 with ignition off. Intermittent alternator fault? Any other suggestions?
Only "****" . Must be battery or alternator if it all goes dead or maybe a bad earth perhaps?
Wezley is offline  
VO2Max
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by yiorgos View Post
got a quote, 250, for fixing this. Whole roof repainting.

Oh well, the KWs & quaife have to wait a bit ....

most worrysome is how the heck I got rust at the roof at this place

Previous owner used a roof-rack?
 
Status: Breraless :(
AO Platinum Member
 
Squadrone Rosso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Neath Port Talbot
Posts: 29,912
Images: 45
Put our GT up for sale.......
Squadrone Rosso is offline  
Status: Back on the road...
AO Member
 
Muskie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 549

Member car:

GT V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squadrone Rosso View Post
Put our GT up for sale.......
And soon to be (to paraphrase Max Boyce):

Bussoless, and down at heart.....
Muskie is offline  
Status: Powered by coal and steam
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
EVEL's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1382
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: England
County: West Midlands
Posts: 9,809
Images: 7
Garage

Member car:

alph a ramayo

:HB: Thermostat done , oil cooler started leaking





Ordered an Autolusso one
EVEL is offline  
Status: Powered by coal and steam
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
EVEL's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1382
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: England
County: West Midlands
Posts: 9,809
Images: 7
Garage

Member car:

alph a ramayo

In 4 years of ownership I havn't had to replace anything on the GT

This year so far it's had
cambelt, waterpump service
Droplinks
Top & bottom arms
Front discs & pads
Thermostat

Now needs Oil cooler

and 2 tyres to get it thru an MOT next month

Can't grumble tho as I consider that not bad for a 10 year old motor .


Still love it
EVEL is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
rahmanoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ukraine
County: Kyiv
Posts: 35
Garage
Not today, but on saturday.
Washed clean, tires changed, tank is full!
Made with little racoon support. =)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg f8ef460918aa.jpg (139.5 KB, 7 views)
rahmanoff is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
TOX1C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amesbury
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,355
Images: 9
My JTD v20 passed the MoT, with an advisory on low rear pads (just been out and bought Pagid for 16:99 in Eurocarparts) and a bent link to the xenon light adjuster (I explained that I bent the replacement rod to make it fit).

He missed the lack of a pre-CAT
TOX1C is offline  
(Post Link) post #1036 of 2927 Old 14-04-15 Thread Starter
Status: GT clover 170 Q2 called SOOTY.:-)
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
ALFADOIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,199
Images: 12

Member car:

GT.Clover 170 Q2

Managed to finally get hold of some jetfins for a really good price.. Already planning their new refurbishment colour..

Felt with the increase of summer temps i have lost a little power...Need WMI in my life.

Damien.
ALFADOIT is offline  
Status: Back on the road...
AO Member
 
Muskie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 549

Member car:

GT V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by MalcQV View Post
Only "****" . Must be battery or alternator if it all goes dead or maybe a bad earth perhaps?
Confirmed - alternator gone!
Muskie is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Carmarthenshire
Posts: 3,039

Member car:

Alfa 156 Gta

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muskie View Post
Confirmed - alternator gone!
expensive for a new bosch unit . 400.00

think lucus do a recon at 190.00 odd

hope you get it sorted. fitting is a pain
maxiboy wales is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 96
Images: 6

Member car:

147 1.6 Lusso

Fitted drl's

Today I fired a great set of auto dimming DRL, beside the fog lights. The switch across when headlights are active to a dimmer setting so are fully legal and E marked. They also have a 'guide me home' setting that keeps them on for about 3 mins when you leave the car, very handy. Cost 26, all metal as well. Very nice quality
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (71.0 KB, 10 views)
Reekyg is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
Wezley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 11,462
Images: 27
Garage

Member car:

159 2.4 JTDm

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxiboy wales View Post
expensive for a new bosch unit . 400.00

think lucus do a recon at 190.00 odd

hope you get it sorted. fitting is a pain

Recon for sure if it was me.
Wezley is offline  
Status: Back on the road...
AO Member
 
Muskie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: I would rather not say
County: -
Posts: 549

Member car:

GT V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxiboy wales View Post
expensive for a new bosch unit . 400.00

think lucus do a recon at 190.00 odd

hope you get it sorted. fitting is a pain
Quote:
Originally Posted by MalcQV View Post

Recon for sure if it was me.
Thanks both I've asked the question in the GTA lounge to see if anyone can throw anything else up.
Muskie is offline  
Status: Spanner wary
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Spain
County: Malaga
Posts: 303

Member car:

Alfa 147 1.9jtd

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muskie View Post
Thanks both I've asked the question in the GTA lounge to see if anyone can throw anything else up.
What's wrong with it?
I replaced a new voltage regulator module (includes brushes) on my alternator a good while back.
Managed it with the alternator in place, fiddly job but cost only 50 in parts and my time.
imski is offline  
Status: Powered by coal and steam
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
EVEL's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1382
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: England
County: West Midlands
Posts: 9,809
Images: 7
Garage

Member car:

alph a ramayo

Fitted the autolusso oil cooler kit today


Quite an easy job and an excellent kit as a cheaper alternative to an OE one
EVEL is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Bazzabara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sweden
County: Halland
Posts: 66
Images: 2
Garage
Today: gta headlight mod, painted bumper inlets, xenon conversion, exhaus tip, spacers, "modernized" rear bumper, removed all badges and replaced Selespeed badge to giulietta style middle.

Things to do: Coilovers, 17-18" oem alfa wheels(hard to find in swe), retrofit hid projector, window tint, 3.5" auxillary input for smartphone, navi,fix the choppyness of the sele when cold and convert door panel upholstry to leather as the rest of the car because Alfa forgot!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1235.JPG (160.2 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1248.JPG (168.7 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1237.JPG (197.9 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1244.JPG (191.5 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1245.JPG (187.8 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1243.JPG (185.9 KB, 9 views)
Bazzabara is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Bazzabara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Sweden
County: Halland
Posts: 66
Images: 2
Garage
one more from the front..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1247.JPG (157.3 KB, 7 views)
Bazzabara is offline  
Status: 6Music in the car :)
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Conwy
Posts: 359
Plugged laptop into the 156 to see the error codes!
rallybluecelt is offline  
(Post Link) post #1047 of 2927 Old 18-04-15 Thread Starter
Status: GT clover 170 Q2 called SOOTY.:-)
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
ALFADOIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,199
Images: 12

Member car:

GT.Clover 170 Q2

Drove my baby to work for my flight...beautiful day was just enjoying the moment on the m4. Then a small stones appears out of nowhere cracking the bottom of my windscreen..FFS!!!

Anyone used glass doctors and is it a spotless invisible fix? If not its a new screen for me? Plus as its not in the line of vision i am not sure whether the insurance will warrant a screen change?

Fed up..

Damien.
ALFADOIT is offline  
Status: Flaps? What flaps?
AO Silver Member
 
_The_Editor_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 2,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALFADOIT View Post
Drove my baby to work for my flight...beautiful day was just enjoying the moment on the m4. Then a small stones appears out of nowhere cracking the bottom of my windscreen..FFS!!!

Anyone used glass doctors and is it a spotless invisible fix? If not its a new screen for me? Plus as its not in the line of vision i am not sure whether the insurance will warrant a screen change?

Fed up..

Damien.
I believe most decent insurers will cover pretty much any windscreen damage... A small chip/crack can quickly become a totally spiderwebbed screen if left! It's in their interest to fix it whilst it's a small chip rather than letting it spread and ruin the whole screen...

Can't comment on visibility of the repair once done however!
_The_Editor_ is offline  
(Post Link) post #1049 of 2927 Old 18-04-15 Thread Starter
Status: GT clover 170 Q2 called SOOTY.:-)
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
ALFADOIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,199
Images: 12

Member car:

GT.Clover 170 Q2

Quote:
Originally Posted by _The_Editor_ View Post
I believe most decent insurers will cover pretty much any windscreen damage... A small chip/crack can quickly become a totally spiderwebbed screen if left! It's in their interest to fix it whilst it's a small chip rather than letting it spread and ruin the whole screen...

Can't comment on visibility of the repair once done however!


Thanks pal.

Will have to have it done my OCD cannot take it..

On another subject i spent a while lowering my coilovers again a bit, god she sits so nicely now.

Still cannot decide what shade to have my new Jetfins? Or whether to have a contrasting diamond cut outer lip?

Damien.
ALFADOIT is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
tony4hop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 1,029

Member car:

159 & 156 S/W

Sold her, (have to be honest it was about 4 weeks ago but couldn't bring myself to post!).

10 years of absolute trouble free motoring - it was the second car and doing about 2k a year, wife just wanted a change, she had an itch that she had to scratch for a mini

I've sowed the seeds of a master plan though, in a year or so's time when she's fed up the second car will defy be a Brera!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_6351 200k.jpg (87.8 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_6353 200k.jpg (86.4 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_6354 200k.jpg (73.8 KB, 9 views)
tony4hop is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
156 , alfa , or gt , thread , today

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome