What have you done to your Alfa 147/156/GT today? - Page 27 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1173Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
Wezley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 11,457
Images: 27
Garage

Member car:

159 2.4 JTDm

Mentioned I fixed my window. All did work I am sure. Anyway that new battery meant disconnecting obviously. I notice the 'auto' up and down no longer works on the either window. Did the 'soft' reset by holding the button down when down for 10s+ and then for good measure on the up. Still not working. I also noticed the windows drop when opening the door a bit more than they normally do. If you open the door (driver's at least) and then close it whilst the window is down it will close. Not tried the auto window close on the key fob.
Anyone any ideas?

Priorities I find, are usually someone else's.
Statements above are all my own opinion and not fact.
Wezley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
t3yls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,813
Images: 4

Member car:

Alfa GT Jtdm

yes ....do the 10 second thing, but use 15s and do it 4 times ....down/up/down/up
t3yls is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
Wezley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 11,457
Images: 27
Garage

Member car:

159 2.4 JTDm

Quote:
Originally Posted by t3yls View Post
yes ....do the 10 second thing, but use 15s and do it 4 times ....down/up/down/up
Will try thanks
Wezley is offline  
Status: Alive
AO Silver Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 4,099

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Did you change the window control unit? The new ones don't have crush detection so they won't make the window auto-up anyway.
Paddy OPlastic is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
County: -
Posts: 26

Member car:

156 JTS

Fixed my sticky fog light button, fitted a new dip beam bulb and adjusted my washer jets so they aim properly.

I only fitted one bulb due to some moron putting the bulb in incorrectly in the passenger side. I can't get the metal catch off one side...feels like it's been bent or hooked over the wrong part but whatever it is it's not coming off using the 'push forward and right' method.
Will have a look again tomorrow with a mirror to see if it can be done...wish me luck.
lifter156 is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
Wezley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 11,457
Images: 27
Garage

Member car:

159 2.4 JTDm

Quote:
Originally Posted by t3yls View Post
yes ....do the 10 second thing, but use 15s and do it 4 times ....down/up/down/up
Thanks that worked just fine and dandy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paddy OPlastic View Post
Did you change the window control unit? The new ones don't have crush detection so they won't make the window auto-up anyway.
How odd. I bought secondhand for 50. It works as the old one did (except it works ).
FWIW I currently have a window switch that will eventually go on eBay if anyone needs one. 100

Quote:
Originally Posted by lifter156 View Post
Fixed my sticky fog light button, fitted a new dip beam bulb and adjusted my washer jets so they aim properly.

I only fitted one bulb due to some moron putting the bulb in incorrectly in the passenger side. I can't get the metal catch off one side...feels like it's been bent or hooked over the wrong part but whatever it is it's not coming off using the 'push forward and right' method.
Will have a look again tomorrow with a mirror to see if it can be done...wish me luck.
They are a right pain to clip back on
Wezley is offline  
Status: Alive
AO Silver Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 4,099

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by MalcQV View Post
FWIW I currently have a window switch that will eventually go on eBay if anyone needs one. 100
Driver's side?
Paddy OPlastic is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
Wezley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 11,457
Images: 27
Garage

Member car:

159 2.4 JTDm

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paddy OPlastic View Post
Driver's side?
Yes.
Wezley is offline  
Status: Alive
AO Silver Member
 
Paddy OPlastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 4,099

Member car:

Alfa GT JTD 2004

Quote:
Originally Posted by MalcQV View Post
Yes.
Hmmm. Mine has gone horribly tacky but I'm not sure it's a 100 quid bother. I'll think about it.
Paddy OPlastic is offline  
Status: OEM++
AO Silver Member
 
Egon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 2,012
Images: 2

Member car:

147ts plus bits

A ton? For the button box? Jees!
Best dig mine out and ebay it quick!
Egon is offline  
Status: TJR Valeting
AO Silver Member
 
Tommywho156's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Leicestershire
Posts: 2,267
100 is cheap, I've seen them go for more.
Tommywho156 is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
ParabolicaRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: New Zealand
County: -
Posts: 2

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 156

Thrashed my stock 156 V6 at the track.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-jwd6i0C-DM
ParabolicaRob is offline  
Status: -
AO Gold Member
 
Wezley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater Manchester
Posts: 11,457
Images: 27
Garage

Member car:

159 2.4 JTDm

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paddy OPlastic View Post
Hmmm. Mine has gone horribly tacky but I'm not sure it's a 100 quid bother. I'll think about it.
I'm using my original switch, which (switch which ) like yours is tacky. It seems to add character as I firmly believe all Italian cars melt inside

Quote:
Originally Posted by Egon View Post
A ton? For the button box? Jees!
Best dig mine out and ebay it quick!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommywho156 View Post
100 is cheap, I've seen them go for more.
I paid 127.50 which was cheap. Going rate is about 140-160 on the bay of E.
Wezley is offline  
Status: Spanner wary
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Spain
County: Malaga
Posts: 303

Member car:

Alfa 147 1.9jtd

Got the old girl through the technical inspection without issues.

Which is convenient as I do have some things I want to sort so I could do without unexpected expenses.
imski is offline  
Status: Lowered!!
AO Rosso Alfa Member
 
Durty dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northampton
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 73,506
Images: 18
Garage
New oil cooler and hoses supplied and fitted by Autolusso, my old hose fittings were corroded and just about ready to give up the ghost. These new fittings are really good and shouldnt corrode.
Durty dog is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
t3yls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,813
Images: 4

Member car:

Alfa GT Jtdm

Quote:
Originally Posted by Durty dog View Post
New oil cooler and hoses supplied and fitted by Autolusso, my old hose fittings were corroded and just about ready to give up the ghost. These new fittings are really good and shouldnt corrode.
never been waxoyl'ed?
t3yls is offline  
Status: Powered by coal and steam
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
EVEL's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1382
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: England
County: West Midlands
Posts: 9,808
Images: 7
Garage

Member car:

alph a ramayo

Got mine filthy durty and I'm not going to clean it.
EVEL is offline  
Status: Lowered!!
AO Rosso Alfa Member
 
Durty dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Northampton
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 73,506
Images: 18
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3yls View Post
never been waxoyl'ed?
The old fittings weren't, by the time i knew they were an issue on GT's mine were already rotting. The new ones don't need anything putting on them they are plated.
Durty dog is offline  
(Post Link) post #669 of 2909 Old 01-02-15 Thread Starter
Status: GT clover 170 Q2 called SOOTY.:-)
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
ALFADOIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,199
Images: 12

Member car:

GT.Clover 170 Q2

Got out into the cold this evening and modified my front arch liners. As at the moment my 19x8.5's on 235/35/19's are catching slightly on full lock. Anyhow succeeded in cutting a very small section to clear the rubbing. No more spokey dokey sound on full lock, pure bliss..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg GT dark cooler.jpg (46.9 KB, 14 views)
ALFADOIT is offline  
Status: Powered by coal and steam
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
EVEL's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1382
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: England
County: West Midlands
Posts: 9,808
Images: 7
Garage

Member car:

alph a ramayo

My mrs has just filled mine up with fuel.
EVEL is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
saintetienne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Sussex
Posts: 816
Images: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALFADOIT View Post
Got out into the cold this evening and modified my front arch liners. As at the moment my 19x8.5's on 235/35/19's are catching slightly on full lock. Anyhow succeeded in cutting a very small section to clear the rubbing. No more spokey dokey sound on full lock, pure bliss..


19's - lovely , feel an upgrade coming up for the 18 Multis , have you got a side on shot ?

My Wife could really have fun with them in the multi-storey !
saintetienne is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: South Yorkshire
Posts: 287

Member car:

GT 2.0 JTS

washed it - now I've got cold hands - must mean I've got a warm heart
jonb.gt is offline  
Status: still here
AO Member
 
rickco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 202
Images: 12

Member car:

GT Cloverleaf SE

New discs and pads all round this morning. My fingers are blue and I cant feel them. Stock rear discs had hair-line cracks so could not wait for better weather.
rickco is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
TOX1C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amesbury
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,352
Images: 9
Removed, cleaned and replaced the crankcase breather pipework. The connection was loose allowing an oil film to cover the left corner of the engine cover and contaminate the aux belt. I hope it works and stops the belt noise.
TOX1C is offline  
Status: And on the eighth day God made Alfas..!
AO Gold Member
 
pendragonfalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ireland
County: Carlow
Posts: 6,595
Images: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by EVEL View Post
My mrs has just filled mine up with fuel.
How the hell did you manage that... I've been trying to teach mine to do that for years
pendragonfalls is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
156 , alfa , or gt , thread , today

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome