147 Ignition Switch - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 06-01-07 Thread Starter
Status: 60% Retired and still Pedantic
AO Member
Ken's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Falkirk
Posts: 893
Images: 32

Member car:

Alfa 159 3.2 Q4

147 Ignition Switch

Has anyone had problems with the ignition switch on the 147?

Mrs. Ken's 2003 147 2.0 Lusso has had two strange episodes where on attempting to start the car absolutely nothing happens i.e. with ignition on (MAR position) we have normal lights on dash, heating fans running etc. but when key is turned to the start position (AVV position) absolutely nothing happens.

Eventually after several goes the car starts normally (so far).
Ken is offline  
Sponsored Links
Status: Generating blue smoke. Lots of it!
Club Member
Membro Premio
Probusterrace's Avatar
Club Member Number: 25
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Shropshire
Posts: 2,701
Images: 14
Re: 147 Ignition Switch

Not had this on my 147. Sorry.

Is this some sort of imobiliser function? I once had this type of thing happen with a Renault Scenic at work.
Probusterrace is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 164
Images: 6
Re: 147 Ignition Switch

Ignition switches do sometimes go wrong on 147/gt/156. If the fault you are saying is that when you turn the key to crank either nothing happens or you need to hold it for a few seconds before it engages the starter the problem is in the contacts of the switch. I experienced this fault with my GTA and after the switch was replaced it never happened again.
kevs gta is offline  
Status: vacuum issue.. help!
AO Member
ShiftyBloke's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 239
Re: 147 Ignition Switch

You could get Mrs Ken to change her key for the 2nd Key see if the problem goes away, that way you'll know if the problem is the car or transponder in the key.. ?

ShiftyBloke is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
stonebanks41's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 34
Re: 147 Ignition Switch

I had an ignition switch replaced on my 52plate 147..was giving similar faults to yours among others.after replacement all is now well with little alfa!! I was told it probably failed due to large bunches of keys hanging from the keyring and putting strain on the switch contacts
stonebanks41 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
robf781's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Leeds
Posts: 820

Member car:

Alfa Spider

Re: 147 Ignition Switch

This happens on the selespeed fairly regularly and if you make sure it's not in gear it starts fine, no idea why though.
robf781 is offline  

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

147 , ignition , switch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome