TS turbo questions - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 27 Old 01-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Just wait for it...
AO Member
 
Garakis147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Greece
County: Greece,Crete
Posts: 185
TS turbo questions

I am planning to fit fiat's 20vt turbo and intercooler to my 2.0 ts at 0.5-0.8bar(not sure).I have a couple of questions.
Is this turbo good or i will have huge lag?
Will the stock internals handle the boost?
How many cc will the injectors have to be and which one will fit?
I will use custom exhaust system but not bigger than the stock.
Is it risk to add a light turbo setup without changing the internals?I am actually planning to fit the turbo this summer and fit forged pistons the next.The engine has 90.000km and it has perfect compression and the turbo has 80.000km and doesnt burn oil.

The first Alfa i fall in love was my dad's Spider Duck tail when i was 3 years old.
MY 147 2.0
Garrett 2867,380cc Injectors,Aeromotive fuel pump,76mm custom exhuast,FMC,6paddle clutch,Hks boost gauge,Koni STR.T,Eibach Sportline,GTA ARB,Ultra Racing strut brace,Brembo 288mm drilled

Best 147 in Crete

Once Alfisti,Always Alfisti

Last edited by Garakis147; 01-06-14 at 11:51.
Garakis147 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,242
Hi

i'll try and answer the best i can

Is this turbo good or i will have huge lag? = You wont have huge lag unless you lower the compression ratio

Will the stock internals handle the boost? = It may be ok to run a low boost of 0.5 Bar But i can't guaranty that

How many cc will the injectors have to be and which one will fit? = just use the stock ones and get the car tuned

I will use custom exhaust system but not bigger than the stock. = stock will be fine but bigger will let the car breath better

Is it risk to add a light turbo setup without changing the internals = Its always a risk when changing from original setup's , but many people do with good results. But lowering the compression is a must if you want to run higher boosts or your end up blowing head gaskets at the least. which you can do when you renew the pistons

hope it helps some

All spares parts for 156 and 147 being sold that i will not be using (cheap) nothing too small ask what you want , willing to post world wide Phone 07922123242 Ask for Neil and say Mark said to phone .

Download link for Alfa 156's http://www.filedropper.com/alfaelearn
mirlock is offline  
(Post Link) post #3 of 27 Old 01-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Just wait for it...
AO Member
 
Garakis147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Greece
County: Greece,Crete
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by mirlock View Post
Hi

i'll try and answer the best i can

Is this turbo good or i will have huge lag? = You wont have huge lag unless you lower the compression ratio

Will the stock internals handle the boost? = It may be ok to run a low boost of 0.5 Bar But i can't guaranty that

How many cc will the injectors have to be and which one will fit? = just use the stock ones and get the car tuned

I will use custom exhaust system but not bigger than the stock. = stock will be fine but bigger will let the car breath better

Is it risk to add a light turbo setup without changing the internals = Its always a risk when changing from original setup's , but many people do with good results. But lowering the compression is a must if you want to run higher boosts or your end up blowing head gaskets at the least. which you can do when you renew the pistons

hope it helps some
Thanks a lot mate.
I will lower the compression when i will get forged pistons so i can run in higher boost.
The engine doesnt and wont work in the red lines so i am not worrying about melted pistons.
I also dont care about the hp at the moment,i just want a turbo.
Is there any way to lower the compression without changing pistons?
I dont want to add bigger exhaust because it will be so loud.
Garakis147 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 144

Member car:

gt

Hello , i have question is it possible fit turbo to 2.0 jts engines?
paul2013 is offline  
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garakis147 View Post
Thanks a lot mate.
I will lower the compression when i will get forged pistons so i can run in higher boost.
The engine doesnt and wont work in the red lines so i am not worrying about melted pistons.
I also dont care about the hp at the moment,i just want a turbo.
Is there any way to lower the compression without changing pistons?
I dont want to add bigger exhaust because it will be so loud.

you can lower the compression by an over thick head gasket some people have been known to use 2 but i dont know if it will work on an alfa, and also bore out some metal from the head but staying away from valves.
make sure all combustion chambers are the same size by filling them with water with a syringe and measure the amount of water.
Example before any work is done measure (say 50 cc) then open the combustion chamber until it reaches 55cc or 60cc then do the same for the other 3 chambers
mirlock is offline  
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul2013 View Post
Hello , i have question is it possible fit turbo to 2.0 jts engines?
sorry i dont know but im sure porsche use a similar method of injection it may be known as JTB.
see if any of them turbocharge there models.

Sorry i cant be of more help
mirlock is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,049
There are plenty of turbocharged direct injection engines now.

As for a DIY job on a 2.0JTS, anything is possible.
David C is online now  
Status: OEM++
AO Silver Member
 
Egon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 2,012
Images: 2

Member car:

147ts plus bits

Egon is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 27 Old 02-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Just wait for it...
AO Member
 
Garakis147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Greece
County: Greece,Crete
Posts: 185
I have alread read this thread but i have 2.0,not 1.6.Its not the same.
Garakis147 is offline  
Status: back in an Alfa :)
AO Member
 
Tanis8472's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 791
Same engine, just different bore/stroke.
Same principals apply
Tanis8472 is offline  
(Post Link) post #11 of 27 Old 02-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Just wait for it...
AO Member
 
Garakis147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Greece
County: Greece,Crete
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanis8472 View Post
Same engine, just different bore/stroke.
Same principals apply
If you fit a turbo on 1.6 with 0.5 bar you will reach 170hp
If you fit a turbo on 2.0 with 0.5 bar you will reach 200hp
Its not the same.
Garakis147 is offline  
(Post Link) post #12 of 27 Old 03-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Just wait for it...
AO Member
 
Garakis147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Greece
County: Greece,Crete
Posts: 185
After a research i found that 20vt produces max torque in 2.500rpm :O and 16vt produces max torque in 3.400rpm.
So i though that with 20vt's turbo i will have all the power in low rpm while with 16vt's turbo i will have all the power between the low and the medium rpm(2.000-4500 not sure)
Which turbo you think it will be better to use?
Garakis147 is offline  
Status: Freezing!
AO Silver Member
 
Rockhopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 4,888
Power and torque are not the same. Which do you want and where abouts in the rev range do you want it? Turbos are not known for their ability to deliver low down anything though!

Haven't we been through all this before?
Rockhopper is offline  
Status: back in an Alfa :)
AO Member
 
Tanis8472's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lincolnshire
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garakis147 View Post
If you fit a turbo on 1.6 with 0.5 bar you will reach 170hp
If you fit a turbo on 2.0 with 0.5 bar you will reach 200hp
Its not the same.
Re-read what I said. I said the principals are the same NOT the power outputs etc
Tanis8472 is offline  
Status: OEM++
AO Silver Member
 
Egon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 2,012
Images: 2

Member car:

147ts plus bits

T28 too big for unmodified ar32104.
Egon is offline  
(Post Link) post #16 of 27 Old 04-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Just wait for it...
AO Member
 
Garakis147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Greece
County: Greece,Crete
Posts: 185
16vt has got a Garrett TBO367 t4 turbo,but i couldnt find any map.
You think it is too big for ts and i will have huge lag?
Garakis147 is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
David C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 29,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by Egon View Post
T28 too big for unmodified ar32104.
He has an AR32310
David C is online now  
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,242
Use a t3 or t4 with actuator set for 7-7.5 psi with a dump valve set at 8 psi . if you going to boost higher pressures the CR needs to be 7:1 to 8:1 and best 9:1 for 7-8 psi

the t3/t4 will give you faster spool
mirlock is offline  
(Post Link) post #19 of 27 Old 04-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Just wait for it...
AO Member
 
Garakis147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Greece
County: Greece,Crete
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by mirlock View Post
Use a t3 or t4 with actuator set for 7-7.5 psi with a dump valve set at 8 psi . if you going to boost higher pressures the CR needs to be 7:1 to 8:1 and best 9:1 for 7-8 psi

the t3/t4 will give you faster spool
I will use t4 turbo at 0.5bar pressure.I wil get forged pistons with lower compression next year.
So lets repeat
I need a t4 turbo,intercooler,wastegate,dump valve,oil cooler,custom exhaust and thicker gasket.Thats all,right?
Garakis147 is offline  
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,242
just use the wastegate on the turbo that should be good enough to keep at the correct pressure and if it does go higher the dump valve will correct it .

so yes thats all you need. you dont need to get a bigger gasket if your running .5 bar just save that when you get the pistons , it will save you money unless your taking the head off anyway then you may aswell get one.
mirlock is offline  
(Post Link) post #21 of 27 Old 04-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Just wait for it...
AO Member
 
Garakis147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Greece
County: Greece,Crete
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by mirlock View Post
just use the wastegate on the turbo that should be good enough to keep at the correct pressure and if it does go higher the dump valve will correct it .

so yes thats all you need. you dont need to get a bigger gasket if your running .5 bar just save that when you get the pistons , it will save you money unless your taking the head off anyway then you may aswell get one.
Thank you mate
I really appreciate your helps guys
Does anyone knows which car's pipes will may fit in 147?
Garakis147 is offline  
Status: OEM++
AO Silver Member
 
Egon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 2,012
Images: 2

Member car:

147ts plus bits

Look at the diesel, theyre almost Taylor made!!!
Egon is offline  
(Post Link) post #23 of 27 Old 05-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Just wait for it...
AO Member
 
Garakis147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Greece
County: Greece,Crete
Posts: 185
I talked with my mechanic and he said FORGET IT.Every N/A engine that became turbo broke at the first minutes.I will have problems with temperatures and 0.8bar is a crazy number.Anyone know what to say to change his mind or if its true?
Garakis147 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
scottyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 5,209
Images: 26
Garage

Member car:

Alfa 166

Well it will be difficult but not impossible.
But its a lot of money. Time and messing about.

Alfa are not as popular as other brands. Other brands tend to have off the shelf kits you can virtually just bolt on.
But its always easier to start of with the engine with the power you want. Rather than get the engine to make the power you want.


Its hard becasue the 2.0L is the biggest engine in the 147 bar the V6. But the V6 is a heavy brute.
A 2.0L with 190hp the right setup would be quicker than the V6 in standard form. However getting it to that point costs serious money.

Regards
Scott
Alfa 166 2.0 Twinnie - LPG and a few trick performance parts
scottyf is offline  
(Post Link) post #25 of 27 Old 05-06-14 Thread Starter
Status: Just wait for it...
AO Member
 
Garakis147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Greece
County: Greece,Crete
Posts: 185
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottyf View Post
Well it will be difficult but not impossible.
But its a lot of money. Time and messing about.

Alfa are not as popular as other brands. Other brands tend to have off the shelf kits you can virtually just bolt on.
But its always easier to start of with the engine with the power you want. Rather than get the engine to make the power you want.


Its hard becasue the 2.0L is the biggest engine in the 147 bar the V6. But the V6 is a heavy brute.
A 2.0L with 190hp the right setup would be quicker than the V6 in standard form. However getting it to that point costs serious money.
Without forged pistons,all the turbo components cost 600E.
So its not that expensive.
I just cant convice him to do the job.He says it doesnt worth and it will broke right after i will leave his garage.
Garakis147 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
questions , turbo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome