auxiliary belt change - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 9 Old 06-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 31

Member car:

147 jtd

auxiliary belt change

How difficult Is it to change the aux belt, idler and tensioner?
And does anyone have a guide?

Thanks
din1civ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: loving the sunshine
AO Member
 
james1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 266
yeah its easy enough, get new kit then get a 15mm spanner on the tensioner rotate anticlockwise and the belt will slacken (the whole tensioner moves) then release the belt from the idler pulley remove from around all the pulleys and discard. the idler pulley undoes with a 15mm ring spanner and then swap. the same for tensioner, then replace belt after cleaning pulleys. I found it easiest to wind the tensioner back and to slip the belt over the idle pulley far easiest pulley to do with one hand!
james1950 is offline  
Status: Rupert Gaylord Egger of Eggington Hall
AO Gold Member
 
rugbymike7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6,850
I ground down a 15mm socket to take pulley off . Took roughly 10mm off. I then used the jack from the boot on some wood to jack the spanner on the tensioner when fitting the belt
rugbymike7 is offline  
Status: OEM++
Club Member
 
Egon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,884

Member car:

147ts plus bits

Quote:
Originally Posted by rugbymike7 View Post
I ground down a 15mm socket to take pulley off . Took roughly 10mm off. I then used the jack from the boot on some wood to jack the spanner on the tensioner when fitting the belt
Jees, thats a bit overkill, isnt it?
If you get the belt over most of the pulleys then get the 15 on the tensioner, i found that another spanner interlocked on the 15mm spanner (ring end over the open end of the 15mm spanner) you can get enough leverage to get the belt over.
Egon is offline  
Status: Rupert Gaylord Egger of Eggington Hall
AO Gold Member
 
rugbymike7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6,850
Well I tried it that way couldn't manage it so I used my jack took 10 mins. Obviously I didn't go mental with the jack. Just enough to get belt on. Saved me struggling it just seemed like I need 4 pairs of hands so I did it that way.
rugbymike7 is offline  
Status: Ain't nothin but a thang
AO Gold Member
 
keithyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cambodia
Posts: 8,104
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by rugbymike7 View Post
I ground down a 15mm socket to take pulley off . Took roughly 10mm off. I then used the jack from the boot on some wood to jack the spanner on the tensioner when fitting the belt
I did likewise with the 15mil. I found enough leverage with another spanner hooked over the open end of the one on the tensioner. However, I'm quite fat so most things I lean on tend to move.
keithyboy is online now  
(Post Link) post #7 of 9 Old 08-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 31

Member car:

147 jtd

Thanks everyone for the advice. I'll give it a go tomorrow.

Are the belts the stretch belt kind as a mate of mine has a stretch belt installation tool that supposedly makes installing the new belt easy as pie!
din1civ is offline  
Status: 156TS racer for sale
Club Member
 
Gertie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South Africa
Posts: 4,402
Images: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by din1civ View Post
Thanks everyone for the advice. I'll give it a go tomorrow.

Are the belts the stretch belt kind as a mate of mine has a stretch belt installation tool that supposedly makes installing the new belt easy as pie!
No these DO NOT STRETCH - if they do they are bust - the rotating tensioner does the job

Last edited by Gertie; 10-03-14 at 22:42.
Gertie is offline  
(Post Link) post #9 of 9 Old 10-03-14 Thread Starter
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 31

Member car:

147 jtd

Thanks Gertie,

I didn't think they were the stretch kind but thought I would check.
din1civ is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
auxiliary , belt , change

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome