Retrofit Cruise control - the definative guide - Page 25 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: -
AO Member
 
Hugh Myles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sligo, Ireland.
Posts: 799

Member car:

156 2.4 JTD SW

Hugh Myles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: it might be ok
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Elvis Presley's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In a rockin good place
County: Memphis
Posts: 73,154
Images: 5
Garage

Member car:

A galleon

aye - the suspension was subject to the same design
Elvis Presley is offline  
Status: The artist formerly known as Roarsbaby
AO Silver Member
 
Mufasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 5,154
Images: 27
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveisfrowning View Post
aye - the suspension was subject to the same design
Are you sure it wasn't cheese?
Mufasa is offline  
Status: it might be ok
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Elvis Presley's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In a rockin good place
County: Memphis
Posts: 73,154
Images: 5
Garage

Member car:

A galleon

Elvis Presley is offline  
markw2014
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
...and i trimmed my lower cowling so the stalk fitted, doesn't fit as well as it did, but it's an Alfa, nobody will notice.
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Poland
County: -
Posts: 12

Member car:

156 GTA

Hi,

do you have any idea if a cowling from Alfa 147 would suit a 156's Cruise Controll fitted?
satal is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by satal View Post
Hi,

do you have any idea if a cowling from Alfa 147 would suit a 156's Cruise Controll fitted?
Nope

Ps for people cutting their cowling. Is it worth it? £22 for a new replacement cowling from Alfa
BezLFC is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: cheshire
County: Cheshire
Posts: 43
will the cruise control retro-fit work on a Selespeed ?
adarlo is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Zealand
County: -
Posts: 2,274
Yes it works perfectly on my JTS sele. Even changes gear for you (switches to City mode when cruise engaged).
sprint_veloce is offline  
Status: Working Hard On 156 Veloce 3.0 Turbo Project
AO Silver Member
 
mirlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 1,242
Hi all

i just tried this for myself and it worked great .

if you are finding it hard to get the parts phone Neil on 07922123242 and say Mark pointed you his way and your get what you need super cheap. he also does all odds and sod for alfa's rovers jags etc a very handy man to know and he is willing too ship world wide.

hope ir helps and thanks to the person who found this out its a great cheap addon
mirlock is offline  
Status: 156 owner
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
County: -
Posts: 31

Member car:

Alfa 156

I'm gonna repeat this, hoping that it might help someone out.

I've got a 147 cruise control stork available if anyone is interested. Bought it for my 156 before realising it was too old to have the wiring

£15 plus postage just to get my money back.
Slewis is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
County: -
Posts: 17

Member car:

147 Selespeed

Hi Slewis,

I'd be happy to buy your Stalk off you for my 147 JTD, if it's still available? I can't PM right now as I've just joined, this is my first post!

Cheers
George
Sinbad is offline  
Status: 156 owner
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
County: -
Posts: 31

Member car:

Alfa 156

Yes it's still available. Not sure if its ok to add email addy so we can communicate but I'll give it a go. Slewis1971 (at) hotmail (dot) com

Cheers
Slewis is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
hammy123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
County: Sarajevo-Romanija or Sokolac
Posts: 8

Member car:

alfa 147 jtd 16v

Hi there just wanted to ask if my alfa 147 is just pug and play for this procedure.
I have a 2004 147 jtd 16v manual.
hammy123 is offline  
Status: Cold...
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
baxter2308's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 2209
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 868
Garage

Member car:

147 Sport Q2

Quote:
Originally Posted by hammy123 View Post
Hi there just wanted to ask if my alfa 147 is just pug and play for this procedure.
I have a 2004 147 jtd 16v manual.
It should be yes, beneath the steering cowling will be a spare connector for the crusie control stalk. Ensure you disconnect the battery first, connect the stalk up and reconnect the battery. The ECU may take a few seconds to find the new stalk but a green symbol should appear inside the speedo on the dash. Have a look at page 22 of this thread, I did this upgrade a couple of years ago and posted some pictures.

Good luck!

baxter2308 is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ireland
County: -
Posts: 6

Member car:

156

Hi I have a cruise control stalk that i took off my 156 (2003). No cowling just the stalk - I cut the cowling myself to fit it.

Anyway £50 quid plus postage (i'm in ireland).
stupidchief is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
hammy123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina
County: Sarajevo-Romanija or Sokolac
Posts: 8

Member car:

alfa 147 jtd 16v

can not find the spare connector seems to be missing or not integrated into the steering column harness ?
hammy123 is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
County: -
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammy123 View Post
can not find the spare connector seems to be missing or not integrated into the steering column harness ?
Hello everyone, I just joined the forum and I'm having the same problem as hammy123, I recently bought the CC stalk and the lower cowl cover, I already mounted the stalk but I can't find the white connector to plug the CC stalk into, my car is a 147 JTDM 8v 2007. I was hoping someone could point out what wire harness should I follow to get to the white connector or post a picture for a general location because I didn't find it to the left, as most people pointed out, after taking off the lower cowl cover. Thanks
Eugen.Baloi is offline  
Status: Don't. Cut.
AO Member
 
sneaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Romania
County: Timiș
Posts: 117
Images: 1

Member car:

156 8v

The white plug is hard to miss so if you can't find it behind the wheel lower left, it's not there. A bit of googling yields lots of pics
sneaker is offline  
Status: AROC 916 Registrar
AO Gold Member
 
Mitch916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 8,813
Images: 8
It can be buried in the foam padding. Have a good root around.

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk
Mitch916 is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
County: -
Posts: 7
Hello again, I looked around really good for the spare connector but I can't seem to locate it. Can anyone here point out where the 147 JTDM's ECU is so I can take a look and see if I have connecters for the Cruise control and if not I'll wire them myself, hopefully I can find a schematic of the pin layout for the ECU and go from there. Thanks
Eugen.Baloi is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
control , cruise , definative , guide , retrofit

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome