Retrofit Cruise control - the definative guide - Page 24 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Zealand
County: -
Posts: 2,270
Yes the button in the end resumes the last set speed if you cancelled it with clutch or brake. If you accelerate it will automatically return to the set speed when you lift off - no need to press the button then.

Not sure what you mean by hard to judge the speed?
sprint_veloce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
simonmoore1986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 36
Now fitted on my 2004 156, nice easy plug and play, cut cowling to match, best £60 i ever spent!
Thanks guys for you help as always
simonmoore1986 is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Vile biped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 7
Images: 4

Member car:

147 jtdm 120

Retro fit cruise control

Just fitted mine to my 147 jtdm had to adjust the clutch micro switch but works fine just unplug the cable twist to remove the give it a firm tug with some long nose pliers and refit(0; works great now total cost 35 pound for arm screws and cowling
Vile biped is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ireland
County: Dublin
Posts: 12

Member car:

156 1.8 TI

Quote:
Originally Posted by craig_m67 View Post
I have a cruise control cowl and stalk from an '03 156 .. Happy to post anywhere, let me know what it's worth.
Do you still have it?
alfaowner88 is offline  
Status: dogging
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 1,375

Member car:

156 Sport 2005

fitted mine today for the princely sum of £40. took a look on ebay and plenty of people selling them from £80-90, but felt i could do better so just searched for "alfa 156 stalks" and came across a complete indicators, wipers and cruise setup for £40. Dremeled a cut out in the steering wheel cowling using pictures off ebay for a guide and bobs your mothers brother.

2k5 156 sport

B@
diddums100 is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
stasius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lithuania
County: Vilnius
Posts: 6
hey guys,
have genuine cruise control stalk from alfa romeo 147, which i used to made a cruise control for alfa romeo 156 (all models from 2002-2005).
alfa 147 stalk is fitted into 156 steering cover. Thus no modification needed – just „plug and play“.
Made it for myself, but got a great deal to purchase a genuine 156 stalk - took it.
So have the good and propertly working CC for alfa 156 models from 2002.
do not know what could be the price for it, but thinking about 50 pounds.
CC is in Lithuania. If you have any interest, let me know, i will find out about posting it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCN9648_1.jpg (86.3 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg DSCN9647_1.jpg (92.0 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg 201407171331.jpg (180.8 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg 201407171333.jpg (198.7 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg DSCN9760.JPG (156.4 KB, 11 views)

AR 156 SW 1.8 TS '03 (TI seats)
Fiat Bravo 1.4 T-jet '08

Last edited by stasius; 15-08-14 at 20:00.
stasius is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Greece
County: Attica
Posts: 1

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 147

Hello from me either ! I have an Alfa Romeo 147 facelift 2006 1.6 TS 120 hp which has the plug. The question is that I cant see the light anywhere in the dashboard ! Does it work even if there is no light for cruise control in the dashboard ? Thanks in advance

Last edited by ronado91; 22-11-14 at 00:20.
ronado91 is offline  
Status: Cold...
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
baxter2308's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 2209
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: North Yorkshire
Posts: 868
Garage

Member car:

147 Sport Q2

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronado91 View Post
Hello from me either ! I have an Alfa Romeo 147 facelift 2006 1.6 TS 120 hp which has the plug. The question is that I cant see the light anywhere in the dashboard ! Does it work even if there is no light for cruise control in the dashboard ? Thanks in advance
I couldn't see the light either until the stalk was installed. Once everythings connected you can start the engine and you'll see the light come on briefly, which I believe is the ECU discovering the new component. Take it for a drive and give it a test. The cruise icon is green and should appear inside the speedo and should stay on for the whole time that it's activated.

baxter2308 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Sooty Si's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lincolnshire
County: UK
Posts: 396
Garage
Just bought a 156 cruise control stalk with proper lower cowling and screws from a chap on eBay for £65 all in. Autolusso want £70 just for the stalk
Sooty Si is offline  
Status: amazed
AO Member
 
neal2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cornwall
Posts: 42
Images: 18

Member car:

alfa 156 sw

hi lee i fitted it to my 156 facelift very easy the wiring is all there you just need the stalk and cowl. once fitted turn the ignition on and off then on again and then it works simple i have one for sale if your intrested as my 156 got wrote off so i removed it
neal2000 is offline  
markw2014
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
fitted it to my 147 JTD. easiest, cheapest useful upgrade i've done. all thanks to this place for the words of advice. got mine off e bay for a tenner, seller thought it was the audio remote control. once i establised it worked, the hardest bit was trimming the slot in the lower cowling. but it's great, i use it very often.
 
Status: poly n moly! Have you?
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 831
I got a 147 stalk for £15 off Fleabay this week, I'm gonna bodge it onto one of my 156s! I don't know which one yet
MULTIVITZ is offline  
Status: it might be ok
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Elvis Presley's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In a rockin good place
County: Memphis
Posts: 73,153
Images: 5
Garage

Member car:

A galleon

Show us how you do that? I've considered a 156 stalk but they're too expensive.
Elvis Presley is offline  
Status: 156 owner
AO Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
County: -
Posts: 31

Member car:

Alfa 156

I've got a 147 cruise control stork available if anyone is interested. Bought it for my 156 before realising it was too old to have the wiring

£15 plus postage just to get my money back.
Slewis is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Sooty Si's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lincolnshire
County: UK
Posts: 396
Garage
The 147 stalks work fine, but you need to cut your lower cowling to fit around it neatly which is awkward because it doesn't sit flush like the 156 one. It also kind of interferes with the indicator stalk a bit, makes it a bit stiffer to operate - you'll see what I mean when you try it. Doesn't stop it working properly, just feels different.
Sooty Si is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
aquamineralli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 216
Can you reuse the self tapping screws guys that hold the stalk and cowling on or do they need replacing?
aquamineralli is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,784
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquamineralli View Post
Can you reuse the self tapping screws guys that hold the stalk and cowling on or do they need replacing?
They can be re-used no problem.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
aquamineralli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 216
Anybody got a 156 cruise control stalk with cowling available for sale?
aquamineralli is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,784
I have one, you can have it for £80 delivered if you want it. 1 x stalk, 1 x cowling and both screws.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: poly n moly! Have you?
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: United Kingdom
County: Essex
Posts: 831
Thumbs Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by steveisfrowning View Post
Show us how you do that? I've considered a 156 stalk but they're too expensive.
It looks like the plugs different, but the spades should come out easily enough and plug into the loom plug ok. Im going to dremel it (bread knife and sand paper for those without!) about a bit to fit the column, but Im thinking about fixing it to the cowl, as long as my knee don't touch it, it doesn't creak the plastics, and I can reach it! When the weather gets better I will get on it and tell how I managed.
MULTIVITZ is offline  
Status: it might be ok
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Elvis Presley's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In a rockin good place
County: Memphis
Posts: 73,153
Images: 5
Garage

Member car:

A galleon

step by step pics
Elvis Presley is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
aquamineralli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Suffolk
Posts: 216
Theres loads of 147 CC stalks on ebay for just £25-£40 but the 156 ones are rare and expensive
aquamineralli is offline  
Status: it might be ok
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Elvis Presley's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In a rockin good place
County: Memphis
Posts: 73,153
Images: 5
Garage

Member car:

A galleon

I know
Elvis Presley is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Sooty Si's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lincolnshire
County: UK
Posts: 396
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by MULTIVITZ View Post
It looks like the plugs different, but the spades should come out easily enough and plug into the loom plug ok. Im going to dremel it (bread knife and sand paper for those without!) about a bit to fit the column, but Im thinking about fixing it to the cowl, as long as my knee don't touch it, it doesn't creak the plastics, and I can reach it! When the weather gets better I will get on it and tell how I managed.
Make sure you connect the spades to the correct wires on the plug.

Green = Purple+Black
Red = Purple
Blue = Yellow+Pink
Orange = Orange
Yellow = Orange+White

Check out this thread for pics and more:

156 / 147 cruise control. - PistonHeads
Sooty Si is offline  
Status: it might be ok
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Elvis Presley's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In a rockin good place
County: Memphis
Posts: 73,153
Images: 5
Garage

Member car:

A galleon

ahhh!
Elvis Presley is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
control , cruise , definative , guide , retrofit

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome