Retrofit Cruise control - the definative guide - Page 21 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Heathrow, UK
Posts: 1,365
EH?! how is everyone getting these parts so cheap now...?
when it cost me a fortune...?!
ouch
mo 156 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: it might be ok
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Elvis Presley's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 59
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In a rockin good place
County: Memphis
Posts: 73,153
Images: 5
Garage

Member car:

A galleon

cheapest i've seen a 156 stalk lately was 70-75
Elvis Presley is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
gnandor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Hungary
County: Budapest
Posts: 1

Member car:

147

147 1.6ts

Yesterday I was able to install the cruise control. The parts (stalk + cover) was 100 EUR.

After the install there was no sign on the dashboard. First I thought it's not working, but it's normal. You have to do a test drive to ensure the CC is working properly.
gnandor is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Romania
County: Bucuresti
Posts: 20
Hi

Just trying to find out if the CC will fit my vehicle.

I have an 156 (crosswagon) Q4 19 JTD 16v with

Frame number ZAR 932000 01394268
Code 932BXN20
Engine code 937A5000
and on the cables over the fuse box it says 01/04/2005 932 FL 60690724

i just opened both covers on the steering wheel but i couldn't find any spare fitting.
though there is a slightly visible green - like rev - light on the dashboard. between the rev and the speedometer under the safety belt light and there are some plugs on the pedals. the accelaration is electronic and on the brake there is some switch also on the far top of the clutch.

Could i buy from ebay a 147 stalk for cruise control and fit it on my vehicle ??????

i am stuck here, anyone could help please???

Alfa Romeo Spider 2.0TS (932) 150 hp
Alfa Romeo 156 Q4 Crosswagon 1.9 JTD 16V 150 hp
comodotomi is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 13

Member car:

156

I think from my experience of fitting CC you first need to find the spare connector, it should be a small, square profile, white plastic socket with 4 wires. It should be somewhere in the steering column shroud.

Also from my experience of fitting a 147 stalk to a 156, the plug on the end of the stalk wires and the socket on the car wiring do not match, neither do the colours of the wires.

If it is the same with your car and the stalk you try to fit, you will have to re-wire using the information in the link given earlier in this thread. That is what I had to do but once done you will find it all works just as it should.
SquarePeg is offline  
Status: Arggghhhhh
AO Member
 
Alfa 156 JTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 207

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.4 JTD

Quote:
Originally Posted by comodotomi View Post
Hi

Just trying to find out if the CC will fit my vehicle.

I have an 156 (crosswagon) Q4 19 JTD 16v with

Frame number ZAR 932000 01394268
Code 932BXN20
Engine code 937A5000
and on the cables over the fuse box it says 01/04/2005 932 FL 60690724

i just opened both covers on the steering wheel but i couldn't find any spare fitting.
though there is a slightly visible green - like rev - light on the dashboard. between the rev and the speedometer under the safety belt light and there are some plugs on the pedals. the accelaration is electronic and on the brake there is some switch also on the far top of the clutch.

Could i buy from ebay a 147 stalk for cruise control and fit it on my vehicle ??????

i am stuck here, anyone could help please???

You need to read this thread, http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...ol-thread.html







.

Last edited by Alfa 156 JTD; 28-07-12 at 10:46.
Alfa 156 JTD is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Romania
County: Bucuresti
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfa 156 JTD View Post
Thanks for the reply

so if i get it right i should drive a cable from my ecu (any ideas where about it is on a 156 JTD Q4 ?) directly to the streering wheel and folow the schematics of cable colours.

Hope i will not burn the ecu
comodotomi is offline  
Status: Arggghhhhh
AO Member
 
Alfa 156 JTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 207

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.4 JTD

You really need to read the thread it explains everything.
Alfa 156 JTD is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Romania
County: Bucuresti
Posts: 20
thanks for the reply

i think i got it now how to do it.

anyone have any ideas where might i get a cruise control stalk + cowling.
I found one at autolusso but it's a bit costly.

by the way. is there any way that i could order something through eper or is it just for reference??
comodotomi is offline  
Status: Arggghhhhh
AO Member
 
Alfa 156 JTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 207

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.4 JTD

Cheapest option.

Go to the breakers yard.

Get a 147 cc stalk for 10 quid and hard-wire to the ecu.

Use this guide to fit the stalk but ignore the wiring part as its for converting 156 to 147 cc stalks.

156 / 147 cruise control.




.

Last edited by Alfa 156 JTD; 30-07-12 at 14:59.
Alfa 156 JTD is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Romania
County: Bucuresti
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfa 156 JTD View Post
Cheapest option.

Go to the breakers yard.

Get a 147 cc stalk for 10 quid and hard-wire to the ecu.

Use this guide to fit the stalk but ignore the wiring part as its for converting 156 to 147 cc stalks.

156 / 147 cruise control.



.

thanks for the guidance.

i am truing to find the cheapest option for the spares at the moment.

I will be posting my progress on both threads .......
comodotomi is offline  
Status: Rookie
AO Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Singapore
County: -
Posts: 49
Here are some pictures of how I retrofit the cruise control stalk on my 156 GTA selespeed....

Stalk and lower cowl from Auto lusso.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sel1.jpg (6.0 KB, 453 views)
File Type: jpg sel2.jpg (88.4 KB, 52 views)
File Type: jpg sel3.jpg (49.7 KB, 43 views)
File Type: jpg sel4.jpg (59.7 KB, 45 views)
File Type: jpg sel5.jpg (48.6 KB, 32 views)
maxbg is offline  
Status: Enjoying 159 :)
AO Member
 
gangerlv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 832
Images: 14
The best and easiest way to get cruise control - sell your 156 and buy 159. I did.
gangerlv is offline  
Joe1968
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by gangerlv View Post
The best and easiest way to get cruise control - sell your 156 and buy 159. I did.


But not the most cost effective ...
 
Status: Enjoying 159 :)
AO Member
 
gangerlv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 832
Images: 14
Dont know if thats true - bought my 156 2.4 for 800 3 years ago, and in that time i have spent, just in parts, 3k to keep her running. And i'm not selling her. Must be mad.
gangerlv is offline  
Status: Banded Steelies :D
AO Member
 
chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 87
I`m in the middle of small project now. With my mate we`re going to make adaptor to use mutifunction steering wheel buttons rather than cruse-controll stalk. Adaptor is almost ready and hopefully we will start some tests in 2 weeks time. If anyone would be interested just let me know as I think it will be good alternative. What do you think guys??
chucky is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,779
I like the idea of that, as with an aftermarket head unit I have no need for my multi-function wheel buttons.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
scottyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Posts: 5,198
Images: 26
Garage

Member car:

Alfa 166

I drove a mazda with the controls on the steering wheel. With the speed up and slow down buttons. It was a bit like a control pad then since I was steering and braking using the controls. Wonder if the selespeeds you wouldnt evn have to change gear lol.
scottyf is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Zealand
County: -
Posts: 2,270
Selespeed defaults to City mode (auto) when CC activated, so no you don't need to change gears. Same with the Q-system, oddly enough.
sprint_veloce is online now  
Status: Banded Steelies :D
AO Member
 
chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
I like the idea of that, as with an aftermarket head unit I have no need for my multi-function wheel buttons.
My idea was to make steering wheel really multifunction cos since I changed head unit it became useless. And the other thing is cruise control stalk is in the worst place it could be. To low for me and to short. All the time you need to take off your hand from the wheel to do anything.
chucky is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ireland
County: Cork
Posts: 4

Member car:

saab!!

cruise

this is such a simple fix for adding cruise. i emailed everyone breaking facelift 156 on ebay and waited for cheapest price. got stalk n cowling for 15 in perfect condition. what a bargain for that money. fitted stalk turned car on and off and on again and cruise working perfectly.
calfa male is offline  
Status: And on the eighth day God made Alfas..!
AO Gold Member
 
pendragonfalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ireland
County: Carlow
Posts: 6,595
Images: 20
I have been reading this thread with some interest..!

Just been out to my 2005 1.6 Ti, took the cowling off, but can't find any white spare plug under there at all.
I appear to have switches above the clutch and brake pedals though.

Am I missing something, or would it be that the connector I seek, just isn't there..
pendragonfalls is offline  
Status: 156 aka the money pit
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 159
It literally jumps out at you. If you can't see it within a few seconds its not there
capposteve is offline  
Status: And on the eighth day God made Alfas..!
AO Gold Member
 
pendragonfalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ireland
County: Carlow
Posts: 6,595
Images: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by capposteve View Post
It literally jumps out at you. If you can't see it within a few seconds its not there
Not there then.. Strange though, you'd think it would be there on a Ti..
pendragonfalls is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: Devon
Posts: 40

Member car:

alfa romeo 156

Saw this thread last night. Looked today. One big white plug shining like a beacon!! I know what my next job is now. This will make my life so much easier given the amount of time I spend on the A38 and M5!!
The Crusher is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
control , cruise , definative , guide , retrofit

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome