Retrofit Cruise control - the definative guide - Page 18 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

who wants to buy a selespeed anyway, all they do is break down

I'm a "lefty" as I live in the Netherlands: I allways have my left hand on the steeringwheel and shift with right.
The CC stalk is located on the left side so every time I want to adjust or resume the CC, I have to take my hand of the wheel.

But to be honest, I didn't take that in to consideration when I posted my reaction just forgot for a moment we're not on the same side of the car
sanscorp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: GTA facelift + engine rebuild. In progress
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Joss's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1014
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 18,898
Images: 14
Garage
indeed they do
Joss is offline  
Status: Banded Steelies :D
AO Member
 
chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanscorp View Post
who wants to buy a selespeed anyway, all they do is break down

I'm a "lefty" as I live in the Netherlands: I allways have my left hand on the steeringwheel and shift with right.
The CC stalk is located on the left side so every time I want to adjust or resume the CC, I have to take my hand of the wheel.

But to be honest, I didn't take that in to consideration when I posted my reaction just forgot for a moment we're not on the same side of the car
I`m thinking to use both sides buttons for same things:

vol+ - speed up - scan +
vol- - slow down - scan -
mute - speed memo - source
chucky is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

to be honest (again) I've never seen a steeringwheel with those buttons up front ;D
It's all a big suprise when I'm picking up the lot hehe.

EDIT: looked it up, I think I will install it like this:
Mute = Resume
Vol. up = increase speed
Vol. down= Decrease speed

The on/off switch will be a "normal" switch on the dashboard near the steeringwheel:
It's on all the time and I only need it when something fails and I can turn of the CC manually.

The other buttons will get another function.. don't know what yet but there are many things I can think of (enable WMI or secondary horns or signal button for foglights or whatever)

http://www.carenthusiast.com/alfa/al...2002_aj_08.jpg

For you it would be exactly opposite offcourse.

Last edited by sanscorp; 21-11-11 at 20:47.
sanscorp is offline  
Status: Banded Steelies :D
AO Member
 
chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 87
LOL... but got bad news for you buttons at steering wheel are not working on/off only :P

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/ice-a...-controls.html
chucky is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

Quote:
Originally Posted by chucky View Post
LOL... but got bad news for you buttons at steering wheel are not working on/off only :P

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/ice-a...-controls.html
How do you mean?
Their regular switches, right?
press = on and release is off, right??

In that case there is nothing to worry about and it will work flawless
I know because I build my own LEGO CC stalk from legoblock (duhh) and a computer mouse (micro switches)

costs me a total of 4 euro's (had to buy a light with on/off switch )
sanscorp is offline  
Status: Banded Steelies :D
AO Member
 
chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanscorp View Post
How do you mean?
Their regular switches, right?
press = on and release is off, right??

No. They`re not... Depends on pressed button you`re getting 1V, 2V or 3V at Line A or Line B wire...
chucky is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

I can't imagine it is a source so the voltage comes from another place.
Pressing the button on the steering wheel will make the current flow so it is a switch.

I know I have to edit the clockspring wires, no problem.

Anyway: I'll have to figure it out then..
Hopefully it works or i'll have a new steer with buttons that don't work...

Last edited by sanscorp; 22-11-11 at 09:38.
sanscorp is offline  
Status: Banded Steelies :D
AO Member
 
chucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 87
And how`s the situation mate??
chucky is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

havn't got the wheel yet there is some delay..
sanscorp is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Aberdeen
Posts: 12
There have been many posts on this thread with people asking if they can fix a 147 stalk to a 156. Although they are different part numbers, it can be done.

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...g-problem.html

This thread helped me to do it as I found a 147 stalk for 30, instead of the 80 that other places at the time were offering.
Here is the wiring -
Green = Purple+Black
Red = Purple
Blue = Yellow+Pink
Orange = Orange
Yellow = Orange+White

The connector is different, but can be connected by pulling out the crimps and fixing the wires to the connector with tape and heatshrink. Also the bracket needs chopping down past the hole where it screws in, but when it is in your hand it is quite obvious which part is not required.

It works great for me (including dashboard light), and pleased I managed to fit it before a london-aberdeen drive in a couple of days!!
jimmyjazz is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
AValfaTi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 231
picked up my control stalk and cowl tonight from alfa bury st edmunds, and before i left the car park i had cruise control fitted,
5 - 10 mins work in the dark
AValfaTi is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

(finally) picked up my new steeringwheel, now waiting on that damned clockspring :

did however had the chance to re-paint the wheel and buttons, looks like new
sanscorp is offline  
Status: got the 159!! and now a GTV V6 :D
AO Member
 
a624v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 496
Quote:
Originally Posted by AValfaTi View Post
picked up my control stalk and cowl tonight from alfa bury st edmunds, and before i left the car park i had cruise control fitted,
5 - 10 mins work in the dark
was that one from a 147? if yes which cowl did you use??
Thanks
a624v6 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
AValfaTi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 231
no mate, i went all out and bought proper 156 stalk and cowl, paid for it though,

i've always said that its one thing i wish my fa had so after seeing how easy it was just done it properly. not sure how different the 147 stalk is but the cowl is only 15 inc vat, so if it mounts in the same location as 156 i'd get the proper cowl,
AValfaTi is offline  
Status: got the 159!! and now a GTV V6 :D
AO Member
 
a624v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 496
ouch bet that was a knock back. was that from the stealer? dont suppose youve got a part number?
a624v6 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
AValfaTi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 231
yeah it was a stealer. 129 in all

stalk 0156047955
cowl 156034454
AValfaTi is offline  
Status: got the 159!! and now a GTV V6 :D
AO Member
 
a624v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 496
not as bad as i thought tbh, considering it was a 300 option, thanks for the part nums i'll order a cowl tomorrow and hope it fits
a624v6 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
goodas40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 44
Sorry but 156 cowl wont fit over 147 stalk as ive just fitted 147 stalk and it exits the cowl differently (wrong angle and sticks out further.) You can make your 156 cowl look reasonable with the right cuts but it will never look factory.
goodas40 is offline  
Status: got the 159!! and now a GTV V6 :D
AO Member
 
a624v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: United Kingdom
County: Kent
Posts: 496
Cheers. Just saved me a couple quid.
a624v6 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
goodas40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Merseyside
Posts: 44
Seriously, just grab a cheapo 147 stalk and use the guide above and you cant go wrong and just modify the original cowling to suit as best as u can. It's easy enough and works perfectly well. Just couldn't justify spending hundred odd quid, mine was 17! Good luck matey.
goodas40 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

the cheapest stalk here is 80 euro (147) should be searching there instead of here in the Netherlands...
sanscorp is offline  
Status: 159 2.4 20007 plate 19,500 DPF/EGR by Adie (AHM)
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 2,273
Images: 16
All, being a bit lazy here but with 18 pages of posts that's a lot to read through. I have just bought a 147 1.6TS for my son on a 51plate. Will this retro fit his car.
PS: wish that I had seen this thread before driving 90 miles each way to Auto Lusso to collect that black leather interior that I won for 62. I suspect that the parts were on the shelf!!
kandlbarrett is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by kandlbarrett View Post
All, being a bit lazy here but with 18 pages of posts that's a lot to read through. I have just bought a 147 1.6TS for my son on a 51plate. Will this retro fit his car.
PS: wish that I had seen this thread before driving 90 miles each way to Auto Lusso to collect that black leather interior that I won for 62. I suspect that the parts were on the shelf!!
You're right - they were!

Good to meet you today
Pud237 is offline  
Status: 159 2.4 20007 plate 19,500 DPF/EGR by Adie (AHM)
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 2,273
Images: 16
Seat stitching repaired for 10, but 2 hours yesterday and 3 hours today driving around looking for a saddler that would do it on the spot.

Still a bargain though!

And does it mean this car will accept the cruise control upgrade?

PS: will it also accept steering wheel upgrade for radio controls?

Last edited by kandlbarrett; 22-12-11 at 18:48.
kandlbarrett is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
control , cruise , definative , guide , retrofit

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome