Retrofit Cruise control - the definative guide - Page 16 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
chc
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 124
I'm next ...

Great thread ... just bought a three stalk pack off ebay for 90ukp inlc postage! Well happy. Hope it works as well as for everyone else

Now - how do I get heated seats for a 156 JTS? Anyone know?
chc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
KvnLyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 18
Strike a lite!
KvnLyle is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
KvnLyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: -
Posts: 18
Sorry Bud.....I just couldn't resist. I think the cheapest way might be to look for some good second hand seats with heated elements already fitted. I'm not sure if you can get the elements to retro fit a car that doesn't already have them.
But there again someone may know the answer to that.. I'm certainly pleased that I have them even with the velour seats. Cosy Hhmmn!
KvnLyle is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
goran1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
County: Zagreb
Posts: 5
Hi all!

I want just to share information with you. I have AR 156 2003 (internal FL), engine 1.6 120HP. Because I don't have cruise control I have study that problem little bit and I have find all necessary information to install it, even I didn't have white connector under steering wheel.

ECU in my car is on engine, so I was put pins in empty space in ECU connector and pull them under steering wheel (4 wires needed). Unfortunately, I didn't be able to bay stalk for AR156 FL, so I have bay today some used for AR147 ... so I need to study how to cat it and feet it in my car.
I have try it with some switches (before I have bay stalk) and works perfect.

So, if you don't have white connector under steering wheel and you have skilled hands, it worth to try it. If I have good information, JTD engines have ECU inside car, on passenger side, so it is may be even easier to pull wires.

Best regards...

Goran ...
goran1980 is offline  
chc
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by KvnLyle View Post
Sorry Bud.....I just couldn't resist. I think the cheapest way might be to look for some good second hand seats with heated elements already fitted.
That was my plan - but it doesn't seem that there were that many cars fitted with them to start with.

Quote:
I'm not sure if you can get the elements to retro fit a car that doesn't already have them.
Waeco do a self fitting kit (about 40 for traditional elements and 130 for modern fast heating carbon elements). There is also a company in the NW which does official fits for both Merc and Audi (by that I mean the companies - not the cars) I believe who will also do other cars too - but they are not cheap, two setting option is 499+VAT or $599+VAT for a three setting option, in both cases these are fitted prices and for carbon heating elements I believe.

I really wanted to know if anyone has any direct experience of using these on Alfas. Might start a new thread.
chc is offline  
Status: raising funds for the GTA...
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Romania
County: Bucuresti
Posts: 537
Images: 14

Member car:

159 2.4/156 GTA

if anyone is interested i am selling 2 cruise control stalks. one is for 147 (including cover) and one for 156 (without cover).

cheers
tzziviielles is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

Quote:
Originally Posted by tzziviielles View Post
if anyone is interested i am selling 2 cruise control stalks. one is for 147 (including cover) and one for 156 (without cover).

cheers
What price are you selling for?
Allthough my DIY LEGO cruise stalk is working fine, I might be interested in the 156 stalk.

I live in the Netherlands so some reduce in price will be nice (shipping and stuff won't be cheap I guess)

Still have an original cover that I will modify myself.
sanscorp is offline  
Status: raising funds for the GTA...
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Romania
County: Bucuresti
Posts: 537
Images: 14

Member car:

159 2.4/156 GTA

sorry but the 156 one was sold. i still have the one for 147 though i anyone wants it.
tzziviielles is offline  
Status: Arggghhhhh
AO Member
 
Alfa 156 JTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Greater London
Posts: 207

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.4 JTD

Anyone got a 156 cruise stalk ?
Alfa 156 JTD is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belarus
County: Horad Minsk
Posts: 4
156 1.9 jtd AR37101 March 2001. Bosch EDC15С7 CF3
Connector under the steering wheel do not. All pedals are tracked.
Threw the lever, filed on ECU wires. In the examiner all the buttons visible / working.

Replaced the brake pedal sensor is a 4 pin. And hooked a 54 contact ECU, as in the diagram.
However, the line is the cruise control is always in the closed position, no matter how I pressed the brake pedal. Cruise control on the move does not work.
MIL cruise is not on the panel, and I did not connect.
During the training cruise on the Examiner pops up a message - found in the eeprom.

Can anybody suggest what else to check / connect?
VirBy is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirBy View Post
156 1.9 jtd AR37101 March 2001. Bosch EDC15С7 CF3
Connector under the steering wheel do not. All pedals are tracked.
Threw the lever, filed on ECU wires. In the examiner all the buttons visible / working.

Replaced the brake pedal sensor is a 4 pin. And hooked a 54 contact ECU, as in the diagram.
However, the line is the cruise control is always in the closed position, no matter how I pressed the brake pedal. Cruise control on the move does not work.
MIL cruise is not on the panel, and I did not connect.
During the training cruise on the Examiner pops up a message - found in the eeprom.

Can anybody suggest what else to check / connect?
Check all wires and switches (also clutch pedal switch) and try resetting the ECU (take battery off for 45 min or short - clamb to + clamb for 5 mins.)

Disconnect the switch and try again: If the switch was really pressed continuesly your break light should be on also..
sanscorp is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belarus
County: Horad Minsk
Posts: 4
Thanks, I'll try.
Just me standing four-pin brake switch. Pins 1 and 2, the default open, and used to stop signals. They work fine.
Pins 3 and 4 are locked by default, and shall operate to open when you press the brake pedal.
Nevertheless, the computer does not see this, although the wire from the pedal all is well. Tester can be seen that the contact opens.
VirBy is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

Try testing on the ECU side (connector pins on the ECU) and see if the signal gets there.
If not, try replacing the wires (re-route first instead of neatly placing the cables.)

It's really hard to diagnose via a forum like this, are there no experts nearby that can help?
sanscorp is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belarus
County: Horad Minsk
Posts: 4
Contact on the side of the ECU is.
Found out that I should Bosch ABS 5.3, which does not have ASR. I think that this is the case. The schemes, 3 and 4 contacts with the brake pedal should have contacts (20 and 23) on the side controls ABS.
Can this system as a fool?
My friends have specialists in the same stupor.
They suggest that it is necessary to flash ECU.
VirBy is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

Alltough it's quite hard to understand what you're saying: flashing the ECU is hard to get right: most files won't work but you can always try it.

I either don't think it's possible with your ECU: You need to add the whole CC code to an ECU and even then you'
re missing the hardware.
sanscorp is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belarus
County: Horad Minsk
Posts: 4
Ok. Thank You.
VirBy is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
morty1961's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 711
Are the 156 cruise stalk and lower cowl still available and are they under the part numbers stated earlier in the post

156047955 control stalk
156034454 Protection cowl

Cheers

Lee
morty1961 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

They are available but you have to search well..
try the German Ebay or lokal demolishers
sanscorp is offline  
Status: GTA facelift + engine rebuild. In progress
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Joss's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 1014
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United Kingdom
County: Dorset
Posts: 18,898
Images: 14
Garage
or you can buy them from teh dealer. I bought mine for 13 for cowel, the stalk is about 84 if I remember when I did mine.Woohaa break the bank brand spankers
Joss is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

dealer won't sell normally..
If they ask 1600 euro's for the aftermarket placement of the CC, they won't easily sell you the stalk for "just" 100 euro's or pounds..

then again: some Dutch demolishers (don't know the right word ) sell the stalks with steeringcolumn cover for arround 50 ~ 80 euro's.

check: Onderdelenzoeker Alfa | Alfa & Transmissie Service van de Wiel B.V.

Again: also check (the German!) Ebay for stalks!
Also: Partnumbers won't change all the sudden morty
sanscorp is offline  
Status: bring back tapatalk
AO Silver Member
 
trashbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 2,518
UK dealers will sell them. I asked Western Perth about this the other day, haven't bought them yet as I'm skint.
trashbat is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

Do you have an url or e-mail address for me?
Might be interested in a new stalk including the lower steeringcolumn cover for 97 pound
sanscorp is offline  
Status: bring back tapatalk
AO Silver Member
 
trashbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 2,518
They post on here so PM them.

http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/membe...ternperth.html

105, I seem to remember.
trashbat is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
TOX1C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amesbury
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,352
Images: 9
I got mine from Donalds, including a 10% discount.
TOX1C is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

for how much if I may ask?
sanscorp is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
control , cruise , definative , guide , retrofit

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome