Retrofit Cruise control - the definative guide - Page 14 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevesey View Post
Jan 03 1.8TS
Sorry, can't find anything..

I know the partnumbers (are) is mentioned in (other) CC topics.
Just use the search function and read some

Or else try some scrap/salvation yards, I'm from holland so can't give any advice about that!
sanscorp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
stevesey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 68

Member car:

Alfa

"Paper clip" cruise control worked nicely on the way to work this morning. Just need a switch now - preferably at less than the stealers prices.

Not much on ebay at present (shame the 147 switch doesn't fit - or could it be made to?)
stevesey is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
156Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,881
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevesey View Post
"Paper clip" cruise control worked nicely on the way to work this morning. Just need a switch now - preferably at less than the stealers prices.

Not much on ebay at present (shame the 147 switch doesn't fit - or could it be made to?)
Try giving autolusso a ring, last time I heard they had 3 lying around ...
156Chris is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by 156Chris View Post
Try giving autolusso a ring, last time I heard they had 3 lying around ...
Got plenty of 147 ones, no 156 ones unfortunately. I need one for the SW too..
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

Well I just tested my CC with a DIY board and microswitches, works like a charm!
Fitted my own cables to the ECU as they were not present in my car, soldered them to my printplate with on/off button and 3 microswitches en took it for a spin!

This all makes it sound easy but it took me a LOT of patients and about 2 weeks of work (trying to figure out where my cable was, what pins on the ECU socket I needed, soldering a board, testing, testing and even more testing)

Today I finally succeeded, now only need to hide the cables, fix a Stalk and i'm ready to go!
sanscorp is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
156Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,881
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanscorp View Post
... but it took me a LOT of patients ...

did you have to go down to the hospital to get them??
156Chris is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

Quote:
Originally Posted by 156Chris View Post
did you have to go down to the hospital to get them??
Told you before my English is quite rusty and I'm from the Netherlands.
Think I do rather good compared to other people trying to write English

Besides, isn't that the right word? I know it has two meanings.

Before saying anything else, see the few last posts from this topic:
http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...-new-post.html

sanscorp is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanscorp View Post
Told you before my English is quite rusty and I'm from the Netherlands.
Think I do rather good compared to other people trying to write English

Besides, isn't that the right word? I know it has two meanings.

Before saying anything else, see the few last posts from this topic:
http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...-new-post.html

Your English is very good - the correct word is 'patience', same sound as 'patients' but different meaning, a 'patient' is someone who is in hospital for treatment, 'patients' is the plural.

Much better than my Dutch!
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

Ahh yes, grammer is not my strongest point, rather stupid fault now I see it written correctly.
It has been several years now since my last English lessons at school...
Well, all and all I guess I'm doing okay as I'm writing understandable sentences (most of the time )

Did you also take a look at the other topic?

p.s. Dutch is a very difficult language to learn and not really usefull as not many people in the world speak Dutch
sanscorp is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
TOX1C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amesbury
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,353
Images: 9
The last time I was in Holland, the people I met spoke English better than most of the folks in Romford
TOX1C is offline  
Status: Regrettably my Gtv was written off
AO Silver Member
 
alexGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
County: Waikato
Posts: 2,362
Images: 36

Member car:

Gtv V6

And *writing* in a foreign language is harder than speaking it, in my opinion. For a conversation, you can cobble together all sorts of words that don't quite fit and people may not notice. But the moment you write it down, people like 156Chris (and I) will be inclined to point out the funnies Thanks Pud for the explanation!

As you said, sanscorp, "Think I do rather good compared to other people trying to write English " - yes, but you do rather well

I suggest we get back how we were...

-Alex
alexGS is offline  
Status: faclifting a 156
AO Silver Member
 
biffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 3,199
Images: 9
Cruise Control stick for sale on 147 on ebay...

147 Cruise control stick
biffa is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by biffa View Post
Cruise Control stick for sale on 147 on ebay...

147 Cruise control stick
Its not plug n play on the 147, as the cruise feature is programmed into the body computer. You will likely get the flashing mileage error if it was fitted. Not the same stalk as the 156 either unfortunately
Pud237 is offline  
Status: faclifting a 156
AO Silver Member
 
biffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 3,199
Images: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
Its not plug n play on the 147, as the cruise feature is programmed into the body computer. You will likely get the flashing mileage error if it was fitted. Not the same stalk as the 156 either unfortunately
Yes it's essentially plug and play besides the odo flashing... and no its not the same as the 156 i have done both mods myself in the past and as the odo was already flashing on the 147 i didnt worry about it...

I'm very open to offer the buy it now price is optimistic i know but make an offer and you never know...

Say that i recon it could be modified to fit the 156.
biffa is offline  
Status: faclifting a 156
AO Silver Member
 
biffa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Lancashire
Posts: 3,199
Images: 9
147 Cruise control stalk

Just found this item, ask the seller if he has the lower cowl too hope of intrest to some one.
biffa is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

Quote:
Originally Posted by biffa View Post
147 Cruise control stalk

Just found this item, ask the seller if he has the lower cowl too hope of intrest to some one.
Shame it's a right hand drive stalk and a 147.
Need a LHD stalk..
sanscorp is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 42

Member car:

156 1.8 TS

have a early 2003 Alfa 156 and trying to get the cc retro fitted. Rang Alfa today and according to them the only stalks available are three stalks system costing 208 + the VAT. There are no single cruise control systems available.

Looked on ebay too and again only three stalk systems seem to available

Can anyone give me a pointer to a single stalk

PS: What is winter protection? The Alfa store person asked me if I wanted the CC with winter protection!
mark one is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark one View Post
have a early 2003 Alfa 156 and trying to get the cc retro fitted. Rang Alfa today and according to them the only stalks available are three stalks system costing 208 + the VAT. There are no single cruise control systems available.

Looked on ebay too and again only three stalk systems seem to available

Can anyone give me a pointer to a single stalk

PS: What is winter protection? The Alfa store person asked me if I wanted the CC with winter protection!
Your first mistake was calling a franchised dealer instead of someone that actually knows what they're on about.

I sold our last cruise control stalk & cowling the other day, it came in at roughly 100 inc VAT, we have more on order - give me a ring in the morning to order. If you aren't local I can get it posted out once it comes back in stock. 01525 221 921

Cheers

Dan
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cheshire
Posts: 42

Member car:

156 1.8 TS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
Your first mistake was calling a franchised dealer instead of someone that actually knows what they're on about.

I sold our last cruise control stalk & cowling the other day, it came in at roughly 100 inc VAT, we have more on order - give me a ring in the morning to order. If you aren't local I can get it posted out once it comes back in stock. 01525 221 921

Cheers

Dan
Thanks!

I have tried to get a fairly local alfa specialist to sort it out for me but he is not interested or he not sure how to do it.

I will PM you in a bit and phone you later in the week

In Warrington so not that local
mark one is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Romania
County: Bucuresti
Posts: 34

Member car:

Alfa Romeo 156

I have a JTD 16v 2004. I have the clutch, brake microswitch but I can't find the plug near the steering wheel. Can someone please post a picture of the plug on the ECU (inside the engine compartment)?
IRBaboon is offline  
CJO
Status: Enjoying a nice mug of tea
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 1,752
The plug that you are looking for is white and usually buried in amoungst the other cabling - there was case a little while ago where the cabling was not installed
CJO is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Poland
County: Mazowieckie
Posts: 1
hello all!
I'm Polish, and like you I love AR.
I AR 156, 2005. 1.9 JTD. but unfortunately the factory cruise control is not given, nor is there adequate wiring harness to connect the shifters.
the appropriate switches on the pedals are too have accelerator lever control, E-learn too have.
the problem lies in the fact that they do not quite know where we need to stick to the ECU, and exactly which plug-in (two)

So I turn to you with great colleagues, asking for help in this matter.
I would be very grateful for a description and photos.

greetings!

andrew
andro34 is offline  
Status: Red
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Denbighshire
Posts: 173

Member car:

156

Thanks for the tip everyone - just fitted this to my 2008 147 and can confirm that it does indeed work, using the part numbers mentioned earlier here, it did indeed take 5 mins and I found a suitable screw in my shed. Worth doing - got mine from main dealer for 65 incl vat- cowling was 21 - I have used the cut out method for the timebeing.
7re43d2 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Smudger156SW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Sussex
Posts: 28

Member car:

2004 156

stalk and cowl going spare!

***EDIT - Sorry guys is no longer for sale********



Unfrotunately I'm selling my 156, but I've just put both the cruise control stalk and steering column cowl on flea bay 150501897354. Both under 12 months old and work perfectly!

Easy and simple mod


Chris

Last edited by Smudger156SW; 05-10-10 at 21:11.
Smudger156SW is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ireland
County: -
Posts: 6

Member car:

156

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smudger156SW View Post
Unfrotunately I'm selling my 156, but I've just put both the cruise control stalk and steering column cowl on flea bay 150501897354. Both under 12 months old and work perfectly!

Easy and simple mod


Chris
Just saw this now. would definately have bid on it - or bought it for reasonable price provided you could send to Ireland and its for a 156. If its not been sold stick it back on ebay and I'll buy it!
stupidchief is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
control , cruise , definative , guide , retrofit

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome