Retrofit Cruise control - the definative guide - Page 13 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,767
Give Jason a call in the morning, he will sort you out 01525 221 921
Pud237 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
TOX1C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amesbury
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,352
Images: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by dazmorg1969 View Post
I am wanting to order the parts for cruise control, but i am not sure what to order so i need a little help, my car is a 156 on a 04 plate, 1.9 16v JTD multi jet. can i have cruise control and if so what do i need and the part number?

thanks
Certainly, the prices for the 156 parts are:

Stalk (156047955) 73.36

Cowl (15603354) 12.95

All plus VAT of course.

I ordered mine from Donalds and got their 10% (pre VAT) discount.

Rob
TOX1C is offline  
Status: Regrettably my Gtv was written off
AO Silver Member
 
alexGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
County: Waikato
Posts: 2,362
Images: 36

Member car:

Gtv V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by mo 156 View Post
I forgot to say I mentioned this to SGT as I read this thread when it started all those years ago! They said it shouldn't work on any car 156/147, I explained the basics mentioned here, facelift 156 etc. At the end of the chat he was dead curious.

and I still have no money to do it!I should have done this the moment the thread started!
You could do what I did http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...rol-stalk.html and make a trip back there to show them

Minimal cost and mine is still working perfectly, though the materials used do pre-date the car by about 15 years!

-Alex
alexGS is offline  
Status: Bloody car
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 24
Images: 2

Member car:

156 Sportwagon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Hill View Post
i wish! im building evidence to use to hopefully get a payrise
Hi Jason,
Can you still get the parts needed?
Will it work on my 05 156 JTD TI?

Thanks
Kerry
D5kerry is offline  
Status: alfa gt jtd
AO Member
 
slickdeville's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ireland
County: Clare
Posts: 184

Member car:

GT

Just removed the cowling from my 2004 156 1.8 TI and no white plug

Can this be right????
slickdeville is offline  
Status: Bloody car
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 24
Images: 2

Member car:

156 Sportwagon

Just waiting for the parts now, took the cowling off and found the white plug tucked in out of the way
D5kerry is offline  
Status: All's well this end
AO Silver Member
 
Hazz37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Renfrewshire
Posts: 1,583
Images: 10
Slickdeville, the plug must be there on your car, take a closer look, you will find it tucked away.
Hazz37 is offline  
Status: alfa gt jtd
AO Member
 
slickdeville's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ireland
County: Clare
Posts: 184

Member car:

GT

Well Happy

Found it

Now to source parts,Anyone on here have them for sale?
slickdeville is offline  
CJO
Status: Enjoying a nice mug of tea
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 1,752
They sometimes appear on ebay or you can try one of the brakers, but they are fairly cheap from a dealer (for once) - part numbers listed above.
CJO is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,767
They are fairly cheap from a dealer - but cheaper still at Autolusso.

01525 221 921 - talk to Jason (ex-Donald's Alfa)
Pud237 is offline  
Status: Bloody car
AO Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Somerset
Posts: 24
Images: 2

Member car:

156 Sportwagon

Fitted and working
nice cheap upgrade
D5kerry is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Buzz84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Crawley, Sussex
Posts: 290
I got the parts from the classified section on here, Thanks Ewen0668

All working and fine, nice and easy to install in minutes. best bit of money i've spent on my bella

though it took a little while to work out that the "reset" button it refered to in the manual was the resume function on the speed control.
Buzz84 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

Hi Guys,

I have a lot of trouble finding the loose connector under the steering cap.

Looked EVERYWHERE but just can't locate it..

I have a 156 1.9 JTD from late 2002; a infocenter on my dash (lump), an ESR button next to my foglights, a silver dash with climate control and red dials but NO CC connector to be found...

I would really like to have CC, drive about 600km per week, long trips (+1,5 hour) several times on empty roads, killing my foot in the meantime :P

PLEASE help me locate the wire and connector!
Maybe someone can check the other end of the connector and tell me how it looks (picture would be nice) so I can check that I have the cable.

If I have it i will dismantle my whole dash for it!
But i do have to be sure that it's there.

Thanks!
sanscorp is offline  
CJO
Status: Enjoying a nice mug of tea
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 1,752
It should be on the underside of the steering column - take off the lower cowling and have a search
CJO is offline  
Status: All's well this end
AO Silver Member
 
Hazz37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Renfrewshire
Posts: 1,583
Images: 10
Mine was tied up with other cables, hidden high up, get your head under the wheel and use a torch, you will find it !!!!!!!!!!!
Hazz37 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

Cry Like A Baby

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hazz37 View Post
Mine was tied up with other cables, hidden high up, get your head under the wheel and use a torch, you will find it !!!!!!!!!!!
Trust my, I searched very well.
Stuck my head underneath the dashboard, searched with a torch, searched again, a friend who has fitted it 4 times before (also on his own 156) searched for half an hour... nothing.

There are no connectors seeable --> not wrapped in tape or stuck with other cables.

I just like to know where the other end of the cable goes so I can check wether I have it or not.
sanscorp is offline  
Status: All's well this end
AO Silver Member
 
Hazz37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: East Renfrewshire
Posts: 1,583
Images: 10
All I can say is that I gave up twice looking for mine, but then went back to it, pull out your stereo,(make sure you know the code) and feed your hand thru to the right to loosen any cables. I presume you are looking for a white one.
Hazz37 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hazz37 View Post
All I can say is that I gave up twice looking for mine, but then went back to it, pull out your stereo,(make sure you know the code) and feed your hand thru to the right to loosen any cables. I presume you are looking for a white one.
Allready fitted an aftermarket radio so no worries about codes anymore

I'm from the netherlands and have my steeringcollumn on the left side (UK = right hand drive, NL = Left hand drive)

So fiddling behind my stereo might not work as well as described here.
But I will give it a try (who knows!) as my stereo comes out easily.
I've got nothing to lose, only gain

Be right back
sanscorp is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

Another question, I have a wire diagram but all the colors described in ELearn are in Italian...

If I had whole words it wouldn't be a problem but all I got are colors like: CB or ZG or ZN..
Well Nero = Black, so far so good, but what color starts with C??

Who can translate?
Thnx!
sanscorp is offline  
Status: Regrettably my Gtv was written off
AO Silver Member
 
alexGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Zealand
County: Waikato
Posts: 2,362
Images: 36

Member car:

Gtv V6

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanscorp View Post
Another question, I have a wire diagram but all the colors described in ELearn are in Italian...

If I had whole words it wouldn't be a problem but all I got are colors like: CB or ZG or ZN..
Well Nero = Black, so far so good, but what color starts with C??

Who can translate?
Thnx!
I think C is orange.

I used pin numbers, as I described in my post http://www.alfaowner.com/Forum/alfa-...rol-stalk.html

There are tiny numbers on the outside of the white plug - can be quite hard to see. That's assuming you've found the white plug...

-Alex
alexGS is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexGS View Post
I think C is orange.
That's assuming you've found the white plug...

-Alex
Thxn, now only need to find the freaking white plug...

Any idea's about the other end of the cable, where it plugs in the ECU?
Do you know which pins that are and what colors the wires have?

Would help me a lot.

Thanks again.
sanscorp is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

Quote:
Originally Posted by sanscorp View Post
Thxn, now only need to find the freaking white plug...

Any idea's about the other end of the cable, where it plugs in the ECU?
Do you know which pins that are and what colors the wires have?

Would help me a lot.

Thanks again.
Well, I started searching from the other side of the cable.
I can confirm there IS no cable, the ECU pins are empty.

Can anyone tell me if it's possible to DIY the complete cable and most important: will that work?

As far as I can tell all other components are in place.
Only the cable to the stalk and stalk itself are missing..
sanscorp is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
stevesey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 68

Member car:

Alfa

Found my plug today - paper clip gets the green light on the dash on - have a flying lead to test it tomorrow. Just need to find the switch/stalk then. Anyone know the cheapest place to get one at present?

Steve
stevesey is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Netherlands
County: Flevoland
Posts: 144

Member car:

156 1.9 JTD 2002

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevesey View Post
Found my plug today - paper clip gets the green light on the dash on - have a flying lead to test it tomorrow. Just need to find the switch/stalk then. Anyone know the cheapest place to get one at present?

Steve
Lucky *******

what year and model car are you driving?
Might be able to find you a partnumber in Eper.
sanscorp is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
stevesey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bristol
Posts: 68

Member car:

Alfa

Jan 03 1.8TS
stevesey is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
control , cruise , definative , guide , retrofit

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome