Retrofit Cruise control - the definative guide - Page 12 - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Status: new account - ask others for info
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 2,805
Images: 13
glad it works
Jason Hill is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
lupos0_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmaxeman View Post
Nice one

Did you have to do anything to get it to work?
Nope - just plug and play.

I think because I use the car so often (1000 miles a week - ) the ECU had not had chance to recognise it.

Last Thursday was the first time I had not used the car for about 12 hours and Friday mornin I started her up and up came the light!

Lovely
lupos0_1 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
lupos0_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Posts: 163
Hello all - me again!

Right then, the cruise control is working (as such) but now I seem to have a problem with the fact it is intermittant?????

Sometimes it comes on when I start the engine and sometimes it doesnt

Could this still be part of a dodgy brake switch?

I am waiting to get AlfaDiag and a cable so i can sort any errors that may be present.....
lupos0_1 is offline  
Status: new account - ask others for info
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 2,805
Images: 13
I can get you a switch if need be just PM your car details etc ...
Jason Hill is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
ExBrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Northamptonshire
Posts: 431
Autolusso have got a 'fair number' of the 156 CC stalks inc screws - 40 quid delivered - no cowls though. I've just plugged mine in, no green light yet. I found the back screw is easier to put in than the front one - just do it lying on your back and get a torch on the situation. The front one was a bast because of the steering wheel getting in the way!

Edit - took it for a drive, cruise control was working fine but still no light. Got home, turned off, turned key to MAR and turned the CC to on position and hey presto - one green light, bottom left in the small panel between the speedo and rev counter. Many thanks to all the contributors on this thread for an easy upgrade!

Last edited by ExBrick; 24-10-09 at 15:08. Reason: It works!
ExBrick is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,788
We've not got many 156 cruise control stalks - got a few left, but not half as many as 147 cruise control stalks. Its a shame they are different and not interchangeable.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: 17"wheels
AO Member
 
WILSON_JTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Hampshire
Posts: 390
Thanks to every one on this thread, I brought the cruise and cowling from my local dealer. Just pluged in and play, ECU recognised it straight away, took me longed to find the right screw driver in the shed. Ace bit of kit. Very impresive with the way it holds the speed up/down hill and the transition between the system and manual take over, very smooth.

WILSON_JTS is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
lupos0_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Berkshire
Posts: 163
Final update,

After getting AlfaDiag and the lead from Rarebear, I have found that it is definitely the brakeswitch that is at fault! If I clear the fault, the CC works perfectly straight away. Unfortunately the problem does come back within 20 minutes of driving.

As the car is still under warranty, I am getting them to replace the brake switch this Friday (along with the thermostat which appears to be open) and sort out a loose exhaust!!!

I will probably have to get a print out from AlfaDiag to prove that is at fault but thats no bother.

If anybody needs any diagnostic help using AlfaDiag in the Berks area, give me a shout and Im sure we can meet up somewhere convenient
lupos0_1 is offline  
Status: Soon to be Busso-less again :(
AO Member
 
losparx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Norfolk
Posts: 384
Images: 3

Member car:

GTV 3.0 V6

I'm seriously thinking about this lil mod for my 156 JTD, my only concern is; if the ECU has to reboot to recognise the cruise control, will it affect my remap?
losparx is offline  
CJO
Status: Enjoying a nice mug of tea
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 1,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by losparx View Post
I'm seriously thinking about this lil mod for my 156 JTD, my only concern is; if the ECU has to reboot to recognise the cruise control, will it affect my remap?

The ECU does not re-boot - just turn on to MAR leave for a few seconds to give the ECU time to see the new equipment, turn off leave for a few seconds, turn on and drive away and the ECU should recognise that it is there - remember that it will only work when the speed is greater than 30 mph and you are in 3rd gear and above
CJO is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by losparx View Post
I'm seriously thinking about this lil mod for my 156 JTD, my only concern is; if the ECU has to reboot to recognise the cruise control, will it affect my remap?
No - remap will be unnaffected.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
TOX1C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amesbury
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,354
Images: 9
For info if anyone is considering taking the leap, the latest prices for the 156 parts are:

Stalk (156047955) 73.36

Cowl (15603354) 12.95

All plus VAT of course.

Just ordered mine from Donalds and got their 10% (pre VAT) discount.
TOX1C is offline  
Status: new account - ask others for info
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Bedfordshire
Posts: 2,805
Images: 13
Jason Hill is offline  
Status: fix it till it's broken
AO Member
 
Black-Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
County: Sachsen
Posts: 562

Member car:

Delta III 1.9 TT

If i get it right the CC does not work on a 2003 pre Faclift (without the Dual Climate and Stuff).
Is this correct?
Black-Sheep is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black-Sheep View Post
If i get it right the CC does not work on a 2003 pre Faclift (without the Dual Climate and Stuff).
Is this correct?
Should work on any 156 from the mid-2002 mini facelift onwards. So as long as you have the 'silver dashboard' type interior, it will work, you don't need the Giugiaro front end.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
TOX1C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amesbury
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,354
Images: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by TOX1C View Post
For info if anyone is considering taking the leap, the latest prices for the 156 parts are:

Stalk (156047955) 73.36

Cowl (15603354) 12.95

All plus VAT of course.

Just ordered mine from Donalds and got their 10% (pre VAT) discount.
Fitted today, all works well. A few dramas when fitting as the screw to fix the control was too small and only sitting in the plastic, a larger screw fixed the problem. Also the cowl did not have any screws holding it together, need to get some self tappers to replace the wood screws!!
TOX1C is offline  
Status: fix it till it's broken
AO Member
 
Black-Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
County: Sachsen
Posts: 562

Member car:

Delta III 1.9 TT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pud237 View Post
Should work on any 156 from the mid-2002 mini facelift onwards. So as long as you have the 'silver dashboard' type interior, it will work, you don't need the Giugiaro front end.
in other words it wont work on mine
i do have an EURO3 Engine, but still have the old interior (without the Bord Computer, dual climate and stuff....)....
Black-Sheep is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Heathrow, UK
Posts: 1,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by TOX1C View Post
For info if anyone is considering taking the leap, the latest prices for the 156 parts are:

Stalk (156047955) 73.36

Cowl (15603354) 12.95

All plus VAT of course.

Just ordered mine from Donalds and got their 10% (pre VAT) discount.
I called SGT in Maidenhead just now for us southerners, their price:

stalk 77.03 +VAT

Cowl 'around 25 +VAT, I forgot to note the price'

ouch for me, more than 100 is a no go
mo 156 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Heathrow, UK
Posts: 1,365
to add, they thought I was mad and strongly advised me buying said parts were a mistake and it would not work!
I told them about the site and success rate, they went "ooh interesting, let me know if it works when you do it!"

Last edited by mo 156; 18-02-10 at 15:38.
mo 156 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
TOX1C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Amesbury
County: Wiltshire
Posts: 4,354
Images: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by mo 156 View Post
to add, they thought I was mad and strongly advised me buying said parts were a mistake and it would not work!
I told them about the site and success rate, they went "ooh interesting, let me know if it works when you do it!"
It's been said many times that the cruise option only works with the face lift interior; so SGT could be correct.

My total cost came to 93 and a few pence including shipping from Donalds - can we still talk to them??
TOX1C is offline  
Status: -
AO Platinum Member
 
156Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: United Kingdom
County: Surrey
Posts: 12,881
Images: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black-Sheep View Post
in other words it wont work on mine
i do have an EURO3 Engine, but still have the old interior (without the Bord Computer, dual climate and stuff....)....

You could double check ... take off the cowling under the steering wheel and on the left hand side see if there is a white plug with nothing plugged in ... if there is get a piece of wire and link pins 3 & 1, the green light on the dash should come on ... if it does then bingo
156Chris is offline  
Status: Busy busy busy!
Club Member
Membro Premio
 
Pud237's Avatar
 
Club Member Number: 71
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United Kingdom
County: Cumbria
Posts: 41,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by TOX1C View Post
It's been said many times that the cruise option only works with the face lift interior; so SGT could be correct.

My total cost came to 93 and a few pence including shipping from Donalds - can we still talk to them??
The prices you've posted add up to 101.41 inc VAT, then I would expect postage on top of that.

I can supply the parts new - I don't have any prices to hand but I will find out for you all.

I have no used stalks or cowls in stock though.
Pud237 is offline  
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Heathrow, UK
Posts: 1,365
Quote:
Originally Posted by TOX1C View Post
It's been said many times that the cruise option only works with the face lift interior; so SGT could be correct.
I forgot to say I mentioned this to SGT as I read this thread when it started all those years ago! They said it shouldn't work on any car 156/147, I explained the basics mentioned here, facelift 156 etc. At the end of the chat he was dead curious.

and I still have no money to do it!I should have done this the moment the thread started!
mo 156 is offline  
Status: fix it till it's broken
AO Member
 
Black-Sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Germany
County: Sachsen
Posts: 562

Member car:

Delta III 1.9 TT

Quote:
Originally Posted by 156Chris View Post
You could double check ... take off the cowling under the steering wheel and on the left hand side see if there is a white plug with nothing plugged in ... if there is get a piece of wire and link pins 3 & 1, the green light on the dash should come on ... if it does then bingo
I'll check that, thank's for the input
Black-Sheep is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: United Kingdom
County: Durham
Posts: 29

Member car:

156

I am wanting to order the parts for cruise control, but i am not sure what to order so i need a little help, my car is a 156 on a 04 plate, 1.9 16v JTD multi jet. can i have cruise control and if so what do i need and the part number?

thanks
dazmorg1969 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
control , cruise , definative , guide , retrofit

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome