156 2.4 JTD Drive belt change HELP! - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 11 Old 04-01-14 Thread Starter
Status: :D
AO Member
 
benny147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 792
Images: 13
Hmmm 156 2.4 JTD Drive belt change HELP!

Hi,

I have a 156 2.4 JTD 10v. I want to change the auxiliary drive belt. Was following a guide on Alfa Workshop which says "Using a spanner on the bolt in the middle of the auxiliary belt tensioner move the tensioner anti clockwise then slip the belt of the pulley".

Can someone confirm wether this should work like a spring loaded tensioner? It has a 17mm size bolt in the middle of the pulley which just undoes when I try and turn it anti-clock wise, what am I doing wrong?

Here is a photo

Linky Link

Thanks

Last edited by benny147; 04-05-14 at 00:14.
benny147 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
fishy-steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 623
Undo the bolt holding the tensioner. Then turn the tensioner anti-clockwise. The hole in the tensioner that the bolt passes through is not central so when you spin the tensioner anti clockwise it acts like a cam. I used a pin spanner in the two small holes in the tensioner to re-tension.

Hope this helps.
Steve.
fishy-steve is offline  
Status: -
Unregistered
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 223

Member car:

156

In your picture, top center you can see a hex bolt, the large hex on the outide of that, hidden by dirt in that pic, is the one you should be turning, it's a 32mm.
Smellysocks is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Main tensioner on my 02 2.4jtd requires a 32mm spanner from below to slacken, then I hold the spanner tensioner with cable ties till I fit the belt. There is also a pulley which is eccentric higher up which needs to be loosened. 32mm spanner from Halfords was 12.
adswight is offline  
(Post Link) post #5 of 11 Old 05-01-14 Thread Starter
Status: :D
AO Member
 
benny147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 792
Images: 13
Changed the belt today

Cleaned all the dirt off of the 32mm and it was pretty obvious from there. Thanks for the help guys!
benny147 is offline  
(Post Link) post #6 of 11 Old 09-01-14 Thread Starter
Status: :D
AO Member
 
benny147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 792
Images: 13
So, 3 days on the tensioner decides to collapse.

Exciting...
benny147 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
fishy-steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 623
Mmmm.
There is a procedure for setting the correct tension on the auto tensioner.
You use the fixed tensioner that my original post refers to and includes the use of a pin in the auto tensioner.
Very few people fit the auto tensioner correctly.
Steve.
fishy-steve is offline  
(Post Link) post #8 of 11 Old 09-01-14 Thread Starter
Status: :D
AO Member
 
benny147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 792
Images: 13
Found where you put the pin to set the auto tensioner, thanks.

We took the tensioner off this evening to find that the bolt in the middle of the 32mm has clearly been snapped for a number of years. No clean breaks, was very rusty and the previous belt was 5mm shorted, so this must have been holding it all together!

Managed to get the snapped bolt out of the block, luckily there was a good 3-4mm sticking out. Hammered a 9mm spanner onto it and then used a socket Came out with no fuss.
benny147 is offline  
Status: Paternal
AO Silver Member
 
Simon_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,243
Images: 5
Good stuff, you can have the bolt from my old tensioner if you want.
Simon_S is offline  
(Post Link) post #10 of 11 Old 10-01-14 Thread Starter
Status: :D
AO Member
 
benny147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 792
Images: 13
Thanks for the offer Simon. I'm going to get a new one today though.
Was lucky to get it out, don't want it to snap again!
benny147 is offline  
Status: -
AO Member
 
Soldiiier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 361
does anyone have the link for steps to fit/change the auxiliary belt on a 2.4L JTD,

I'm assuming the 2.4's on the 156 are the same engine as the 2.4L 159?

thanks
Soldiiier is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
156 , belt , change , drive , jtd

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome