Help Required Please - Possible Flood Damage :-( - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 7 Old 23-12-13 Thread Starter
AO Member
County: Cumbria
Help Required Please - Possible Flood Damage :-(

Hi Guys,

I am quite new to the alfa world. I joined the site on purchasing my new car around 6 weeks ago.

It is a alfa 147 lusso 1.9 JTD - Really nice car and it has been a pleasure so far.

The problem - Saturday night i was driving and there was a (Puddle / Flood) In the road. It was not very deep and every car was taking there time going through the middle of the road.

I got through no problem, went to a pub for a meal. Left the pub started the car. Drove home via another town (Had drove around 20 miles) Then suddenly i heard aloud air type noise.

I stopped the car had a look, i was quite sure it was a lower split turbo hose. I could drive the car but did not have acceleration power and didnt want to go over 2000 revs.

I drove the car home. Parked Up.

The next morning i came out and was going to remove the turbo pipe that was damaged and replace but the car would not start.

It sort of attempts to start and then just doesn't.

I am hearing that it may have been a bent conrod, but most people say the car would stop and not be able to drive home.

Where do i start? I am going to try removing the air filter etc.

I would like to keep this car so any help on ways to move forward would be greatly appreciated.

All electrics works.
Sponsored Links
AO Silver Member
County: Nottinghamshire
If you'd bent a rod you'd know about it! Can't help you any more than that I'm afraid!
AO Member
County: Highlands

Member car:

1. Dip the oil. If it's an emulsion and not 'oil' don't bother doing anything more and get it recovered to a garage.
2. If the oil is 'clean' then have a look at all the pipes to/from the turbo, make sure they're dry.