Coolant Change, hose clips, how to - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 5 Old 02-12-13 Thread Starter
AO Member
County: Surrey
Coolant Change, hose clips, how to

I'm a noobie to the forum, been a memeber just a month or so. I changed the coolant on my 2004 147 2.0 Selespeed and thought I'd write a few notes that might help others. Beginning to end this took me about 1.5hrs. Second time I'd guess around 45mins.

I am not a qualified mechanic but am a bonafide petrolhead of fortysomething years of age and look to get cars back to original condition, preferring to prevent rather than fix broken stuff...

Talking of broken stuff, if, after reading this thread you make a mess of yourself or your car, blame the person holding the tools, OK?

1. Get the front of the car up high enough for you to safley work underneath - lying down is fine, just be more careful as a lot of fluid will leave the car....

1a. Do this job with a cold engine or the coolant won't be, er, cool.

1c. get a bucket to catch the old coolant, and something to stop you splashing your pretty block paving..

2. Using torx and socket, remove the big plastic undertray (if yours is still fitted):-

The Torx bolts are fitted across the underside of the front of the bumber/undertray (5 in all). The standard socket'head bolts are at the rear of the tray, 4 in all.

3. Take off the cap from the expansion tank (located on the upper left of the engine bay as you stand in front of the car).

4. Remove the small black rubber hose from the expansion tank. In the picture you will notice a standard jubilee clip on the tank end of the small rubber hose. These usually have another type of speed clip fitted, which simply prizes open with a carefully judged squeeze of a flat screwdriver. You can re-use these clips but I'd fit a new jubliee clip for sanity/ease, as I have done in the photo.