Alfa Code - or fast-track to the asylum? - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 4 Old 23-06-06 Thread Starter

Member car:

Alfa 156 2.5 V6

Alfa Code - or fast-track to the asylum?

Hi, My name's Mike and I'm a newbie to this list so apologies in advance if I break any rules inadvertantly.

This is a slightly different Alfa immobiliser code problem to others I've read and for that reason I'm posting it. It all started when I let my battery drain and tried to jump start off another battery. The car (a 2.5 V6 156) had run perfectly before that but now wouldn't start. As the car was declared SORN for the year, I closed the garage door on it assuming the problem was wet plugs or something similar ... oh silly me. About a year later, I thought I'd stick in a fully charged battery and drive off into the sunset but again the blighter wouldn't start, and this time I noticed that pesky little code key light twinkling in my face.

Despite repeated attempts with both keys, it will not go out. Tried pressing the fuel cut-off switch til my thumb's sore, took out every bally fuse I could find in the car, including underbonnet, and checked them on a meter - none blown. (Even tried pressing the brake as suggested by one user!). Have not checked the relays as I don't know how to. Eventually I thought - Mike, you'll have to bite the bullet my boy and buy the immobiliser code which I foolishly thought I'd already paid for in the car price.