156 front drivers side problem - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
(Post Link) post #1 of 6 Old 21-11-05 Thread Starter
AO Member
156 front drivers side problem

Hi again,

I have a late 2002 registered 156 JTS Turismo.

I have been hearing a knocking noise from the front drivers side suspension when the suspension is extended, i.e. when it is going over a dip rather than a bump.

I was told by an approved dealer that it could be the bushes on the ends of the roll bar but when I took it in they couldnt find anything wrong with it and they said the bushes were fine.

This noise seems to have got progressivley worse and more common, it was an intermitant problem before.

Also when I make a fairly sharp turn at a decent speed I often hear a loud knock/bang from the front drivers side near the wheel.

Has anyone had a similar problem, i have some limited experience with cars and it strikes me as a Ball Joint/track rod problem. Any ideas/suggestions would be gratefully recieved.

Sponsored Links
AO Gold Member
County: Aberdeenshire

Member car:

Zender 156 V6

Re: 156 front drivers side problem

It could well be the anti roll bar drop link - this basically links the anti roll bar to the suspension. When one side of the suspension goes up it twists the anti roll bar.

The drop link has a small ball joint at each end and it is these ball joints that fail. Unfortunately it is not easy to test these with them fitted to the car - the easiest method would be to disconnect one end of the drop link and tie it up out of harms way - then drive the car over a speed bump to see if the noise has gone.

These drop links only cost about 15 each so it is cheap to fix. If you are not going to DIY then it might be cheaper / easier just to replace them anyway.