147 1.6t/s starter motor change - Alfa Romeo Forum
You are currently unregistered, register for more features.    
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
(Post Link) post #1 of 15 Old 10-07-13 Thread Starter
Status: GT
AO Member
 
sterling6969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Images: 16
147 1.6t/s starter motor change

need some advice as to how to approach the removal of the starter motor on my 147 1.6ts please, any advice would be most grateful.
starter motor just spins and will not start, will bump start easy , but need a hill??
sterling6969 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
gibot123
Status: - Update
Guest
 
You need to remove the plenum chamber that is the most difficult bit you cant get to it properly without removing this and the bolts are not easy to get to.
the plenum also has a bracing bracket that is fixed to the back of the engine near the bottom which you need to access from underneath .I'm not sure if there is a thread on here with pics but it would be worth having a look.
You need to remove the air intake pipes and undo the brake fluid resevoir to give you room to take it out of the way.
The starter is the easy bit.
 
Status: Anonima Lombarda Fabbrica Automobili
AO Member
 
keepRolling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: South Africa
County: Gauteng
Garage
Before you go ahead and start removing the starter, first make sure the starter bolts are tight.
I once came across this same problem, the starter was about to fall off and therefore the starter gear wasn't engaging onto the fly wheel, it just sat there spinning.

By chance you might have the same problem.
keepRolling is offline  
(Post Link) post #4 of 15 Old 10-07-13 Thread Starter
Status: GT
AO Member
 
sterling6969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Images: 16
excellent help , big thanks , Thursday midday will attempt to fix,
tried looking for images and for a video , no luck
sterling6969 is offline  
gibot123
Status: - Update
Guest
 
let us know how you get onI'try and find some pics
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Sooty Si's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lincolnshire
County: UK
Garage
Might be worth checking the wires to the solenoid first. If the starter is spinning but not engaging, its most likely the solenoid (which makes the starter engage with the flywheel) that is at fault. I know this sounds old-skool, but also try giving it a few firm (but gentle, if you know what I mean - don't smash the ****** out of it) knocks with a hammer. If its stuck, this usually frees it up. If it works, you've saved a few million quid by not buying a new starter from Alfa.
Sooty Si is offline  
gibot123
Status: - Update
Guest
 
This might help a bit
Diag 1 shows the bracket you need to remove No. 8 on the pic
The round bit on the support is fixed to the chamber in the middle with 2 bolts No. 10 in pic
the bottom is fixed to the plate on the back of the engine one bolt above the other.
There are 2 more bolts on the camber one at each end that bolt to the inlet manifold(they go in pointing slightly up at an angle) if you feel round the back with your hand you can feel the bolt head on the right as you are facing the engine.
If you feel a stud and nut that is the inlet manifold not the plenum bolt .They are just below the bottom inlet manifold bolt.
once you have found the first one the other is in the same place at the opposite end your best bet is to reach through under the chamber as the P.A.S. reservoir stops you getting to it from the other end.( I found this easier than trying to get the Reservoir out as you cant get at the lower allen bolt.
The bolts I mentioned at the start you need to get at from under the car .
Once you have removed all the bolts I found it easier to undo the 2 nuts on the brake fluid reservoir and move it out the way as best you can mind the pipes!
Then undo the retaining bands on the air pipes between the plenum and the inlet manifold.
Push the chamber back then once it is free Ifound tipping the left side of the camber down Approx 45Degrees and pull out to the right.
Make sure you have unpluged all the connectors as they all pass over the chamber.
Also there is a connector under the main intake pipe on the throttle body .
I do have a couple of pics of the wires if you get stuck OK.
Have fun
Attached Images
File Type: png naread.png (11.7 KB, 43 views)
File Type: png naread (1).png (14.0 KB, 23 views)
 
(Post Link) post #8 of 15 Old 10-07-13 Thread Starter
Status: GT
AO Member
 
sterling6969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Images: 16
gibot123 you are a alfa legend . will crack on with the motor @ midday , spanner and a hammer, will update as to which will win ??? , thanks to all
sterling6969 is offline  
gibot123
Status: - Update
Guest
 
No probs took me ages to fathom it out and asked here for a bit of help as I missed the bracket on the back ! totally stumped me
A 13mm socket and extensions should do the trick
 
Status: -
AO Silver Member
 
scottyf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United Kingdom
County: West Midlands
Images: 26
Garage
I reckon you can do it without removing the plenum if you have girl long hands and arms. Like me.
I've managed to do quite a few jobs on that side of the engine without removing the plenum.

Just takes longer doing the nuts back up as you only have a small amount of room with a rachet / socket set.

Good luck!
scottyf is offline  
gibot123
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Yeah possibly but I couldn't get to the wires properly or get any room to do the bolts no room to move the spanners or the ratchet.
 
(Post Link) post #12 of 15 Old 11-07-13 Thread Starter
Status: GT
AO Member
 
sterling6969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United Kingdom
County: Tyne and Wear
Images: 16
the out come, bloody hard word, car on ramps , removed the bracket from bottom, removed the air intake pipe and moved the battery and tray, was able to remove the 2 bolts at the top with out attacking the plenum/manifold , starter off with some tricky skinny , lady like hands, tested and broke. replaced with a used unit from a alfa romeo breaker for a tenner, car runs and goes like it should , tip to all that try this job
if you have big hands and have a short fuse , just leave it alone .
sterling6969 is offline  
gibot123
Status: - Update
Guest
 
Told you would have fun
 
Status: -
AO Member
 
Sooty Si's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lincolnshire
County: UK
Garage
Glad its all sorted now.
Sooty Si is offline  
Status: -
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
County: -
Question

my alfa romeo 147 has an starting problem ,or that is what i think .the solinoid kickes in but then it is where it stop ! please help!

and then my other problem is i changed my airflow sensor because the old one was fualty ,so i put i the new one and the car still dont want to idle ,so i plug it out drive it till the car is warm ,then i can plug it back the he is 100% ,what can be the problem?
johanalfa147 is offline  
Reply

Go Back   Alfa Romeo Forum > Supported Alfa Romeo Models > Technical & Vehicle Assistance > Alfa 147, 156 & GT

Tags
147 , 16t or s , change , motor , starter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome